Ratings based on 187 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from 33401

PERFECTO

Posted Aug 23, 2017
It was a perfect stay. Close to the restaurants and 6 minute walk to where lots of the whale shark tours leave from which is also next to the the ferry that goes to Cancun
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NYC

pool was the hughlight

Posted Jun 23, 2017 on CheapTickets
the staff customer service left allot to be desired. The weather was not cooperative however, the staff simply said , yes there is no tv signal.or wifi, no apologetic remark, comp water, etc. the tv remote didn't work, nor did toilet flush, stains in shower stall floor, in rooms 7, 15 and room on 1st floor all need regrouting.... Day 1 Poor wifi, wrong wifi password posted detail in room, only lobby wifi worked sparingly. No TV signal due to weather....Day2 I wrote to the email they recommended, still no reply.. Again the pool was the highlight! Forced to take showers with sandals,and flush 3 time due to low water pressure, I was in room 7 on the second floor!!! No one available at night at desk... Day 3 no remote available to test. Last day Wednesday, upon check out very rude female front desk agent was told my brother was making transportation arrangements, claims she confirmed with me the number of cars she called, she may have assumed due to the number of people at the lobby 2 cars were needed, however the rest of our party was staying next door at Secretos. We only needed 1 car for the ones actually leaving. Followed us out to car insisting us to pay for the other car that was not ordered by my brother, claiming she would out of pocket the fee, ranting and raving as we left. That was the icing on top! Again, I hoped to return, loved the location, but the staff service is key! At check in lady did show interest and empathy, check out Wed morning was awful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Romantic hideaway

Posted Jun 4, 2017
My wife and I stayed for a week in this hotel in a room advertised as the "Honeymoon Suite" (featuring an ocean view, a sitting area, a king-size bed, a balcony, and a Jacuzzi). We liked it very much. The hotel is at a quiet isolated spot with its own clean little beach (although one where you can't swim)... a few minutes walking from some of the best swimming beaches on the island. It is a great spot for a romantic getaway if you are looking for a quiet spot, where you can see expanses of sand, rocks, water, and sky but no people in sight. The view is marvelous. The hotel is facing east, so you can see the sun rise over the ocean from your balcony. There is a small rocky cove right in front of the hotel, which makes the scenery even more fascinating. The hotel is a short walk away from many eating choices, so the location is very convenient. You have to be a bit careful with the staff, though. When we first checked in, they gave us a different room (also king size bed, Jacuzzi and ocean front, but smaller and simpler). When we complained that the room does not look like the pictures on Expedia, they moved us to a different one that was much bigger and better furnished (room 16), and did indeed match the pictures. Another caution is that the hotel has very limited parking so if you rent a car, rent a small one if you want to park it at the hotel. Other than that, it is a nice place.
5 out of 5
by susan

Posted Jun 2, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is older and maybe could use a little fixing but it is all about the location, location, location. The pool is beautiful and you see the sea from it. Each cabana has it's own small patio with chairs and hammock. A very nice breakfast was also served. I would stay here again in a heartbeat. The views are amazing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Dallas TX

Beach with a nice breeze!

Posted May 5, 2017
Pros: Great view close to town.
Cons: A hotel bar/restaurant would be nice. There was a bar set up by the pool 1 of 7 days and a guy that came over from the hotel next door occasionally.
Location: Sleepy hotel with 25+ restaurants within a 10 min walk.
Great but bring a soft sided cooler/bag for cold drinks when you hang out by the pool or beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte

Posted May 5, 2017 on Orbitz
Quaint hotel on a quiet corner of the island (but still good location). Beautiful views. The mattress was probably due to be replaced and the breakfast was a bit paltry, but still a great value for the price. Staff were very nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from England

Great location, good hotel.

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Pros: Location, nice pool, small, but good, staff..
Cons: A bar and restaurant at the hotel.
Location: Beautiful location, short walk to bars, shops and main beaches.
Great hotel and staff, big and very clean rooms, best room would be 16. Our room 28, should have had a garden view, but instead we were looking at a wall with animals painted on it, well painted though, never stayed in the room only to sleep, so not really a problem for us, but could be misleading. Lovely little beach right outside to the rear of the hotel, the sea is to rough to swim in at this location, but it is beautiful and okay for paddling in. Great beaches within five minutes walk of the hotel, as are shops, bars and restaurants. Its a fantastic location for a great holiday. We had lovely weather in April, little rain, but nothing really, hot, around 30 degrees most days. Although the hotel does have a small bar by the pool during the day, there isn't a bar in the hotel during the evening. You can get snacks and meals ordered and delivered to you whilst by the pool during the day, we had lunch there a few times and the food was very good, well presented and hot, everything cleared away and picked up for you afterwards, I think the service is provided by the adjacent hotel. The staff were very helpful and extremely friendly. I would definitely go back and recommend this excellent hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Fantastic location. Beautiful beach. Clean hotel and grounds.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alberta Canada

Nice place to stay.

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Pros: Very friendly staff and helpful. Comfortable beds. Pool was clean and well kept. Quiet at night.
Cons: Employee by the pool bar at all times when it is opened. If you can't do stairs get ground level.
Location: 5 minute walk to beach, hot dog stand on corner;yum was very good, the market with fresh squeezed juice was near by. Location was great!!
Had a great time! It was a 5 minute walk to beach.The beach at Playa Norte was one of the most beautiful beaches I have been to. There was a hot dog stand on corner that served hotdogs stuffed with cheese and wrapped in bacon; yum was very good.Stopped there almost every night on are way back to our room.Ther was a local market with fresh squeezed juice and fresh fruit etc. that was cheep. We rented a golf cart and toured all the island, that took less than half a day. Location, location, location was awesome!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wisconsin

Quiet oasis

Posted Mar 31, 2017
We enjoyed the beautiful view, nice pool, very nice large clean room. It's a small hotel away from the busy part of downtown, and usually quiet and low key. Our only complaint is parts of the breakfast. It never changes much, and while the coffee and variety of fruits are always good, the cereals and breads are low quality and boring. Had peanut butter for awhile which was a nice addition, but that disappeared. No real tea offered, only herbals. I've learned to bring my own tea bags, but shouldn't have to.