Ratings based on 854 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best location on the island

Posted Nov 19, 2017
Stayed here numerous times over the last 5 years.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location

Posted Oct 27, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Paint. plaster
Motel needs some work. Paint and plaster pealing Mold in some areas.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Richmond, KY

Wonderful surprise!

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Pros: The staff, the clean pool with plenty of loungers, the strong WiFi connection. I liked the old school keys and lock-box safe. (Key cards deactivate.)
Cons: I wish I could have traded in my pool towel daily.
Location: Closer to the beach than many of the beach-front all-inclusives, even though you have to reach it via crosswalk. Lovely pool view.
This hotel was far better than either the reviews or photos led me to believe it would be. I don't see myself ever returning to Privilege Aluxes--Posada del Mar was a third of the price and featured plenty of luxury! I was traveling with my son (who has many sensory issues due to an autism spectrum disorder). The bed linens were so much better than they looked in the pictures--layers of soft cotton batting instead of cheap polyester. The towels were thick and soft and were replaced daily. We ate in all three hotel restaurants, and they were top notch. Significantly better food and drink than the nearby all-inclusives without having to wear the dreaded plastic bracelet. (That thing would have driven my son crazy!) But it was the staff who really took our experience to the next level. Always helpful and smiling. The housekeeper made lovely towel sculptures and arranged my son's stuffed animals in displays with fresh flowers. Romi, the pool bartender, always greeted my son by name. Thank you, Hotel Posada del Mar for making my son's tenth birthday so fabulous! We hope to return with the whole family next October.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 6, 2017 by PAULINA, Hotel Management
thanks for share with us your greatfull experiences we wil working hard to have more to offer tou our clients, Romy's say thanks and waiting for your soon next time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 17, 2017
enjoyed my holiday in mexico the hotel was comfortable and clean
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Old linens, room could have been cleaner. Air conditioning issues...
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Arecibo, Puerto Rico

Excelente location, but hotel is a flop

Posted Sep 12, 2017 on CheapTickets
We where looking for a good hotel, just to chill out, be close to the beach and enjoy basic features. Location is great, cross the street and you are at one of the best beaches of Isla de las Mujeres. The hotel is horrible, far away from what is shown on the booking page. Unused rooms are kept close without A/C so all smells like mildew. Doors are easy to break open, you do not feel safe at all. No breakfast service, no restaurant and the place looks like not being upgraded for 20 years. Staff has absolutely no desire to make your stay comfortable. Maybe if you look for a cheap place to crash, get drunk at the beach and do not care for a clean bed you are in the right place. In all cases, look for something different.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pensacola

Varies between a 2 and a 4 rating!

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Don't get me wrong, this is a nice hotel. There are however two sides to it. The old and the new! We ended up in the old side. A dead roach greeted us upon entering. The bell hop didn't notice or bother. Tiles missing in bathroom. Two old towels, floor had sand on it. Bed was clean and comfortable. Pool is great and so is restaurant. Stayed at the new side before and should have spent the extra 200 pesos this time!
5 out of 5
by Johann

Great location

Posted Aug 31, 2017 on Hotels
We enjoyed our stay, it's close to everything.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Detroit

Hotel with pool near the beach

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Pros: Location and pool.
Cons: Kindness of front desk staff. Older sections of hotel differ greatly from newer ones. And eliminate pigeons from balconies.
I paid $25 extra to upgrade from the oldest part of the hotel, but it still wasn't where I stayed before. Rooms can differ greatly. I had to pay 200 pesos to check out at 2 pm.
5 out of 5
by Shawleen

In front of the beach

Posted Aug 23, 2017 on Hotels
I am a return visitor will have no problem booking again