Ratings based on 578 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 15, 2017
amazing staff and perfect location. Everyone is so helpful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful hotel on a fantastic beach

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Ixchel Beach Hotel is a wonderfully maintained property that sits on one of the world's most beautiful beaches, Playa Norte. During our stay, they were making some updates to flooring in some units and common areas, but the work did not disrupt our vacation. Every member of the staff from security, food/drink service and housekeeping will greet you warmly and with a smile. The food and drink offerings at the pool bar/restaurant are delicious and very reasonably priced. Our 1 bedroom suite was spacious and comfortable and the air conditioning worked very well. We had a beautiful ocean view from our large terrace on the fifth floor. Beach loungers and umbrellas are available for guests, just request from Ernesto at the guest service desk on the beach. One tip: the food/drink/massage vendors located directly on the beach are not part of Ixchel Beach Hotel. Due to the proximity, it can be a little confusing. The location of Ixchel Beach Hotel is perfect for exploring the town of Isla Mujeres (el Centro) and all of the different restaurant offerings; from street food to fine dining, it's all within steps of the hotel and very safe. We will most definitely return to Ixchel Beach Hotel. Thank you for your gracious hospitality.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beachfront, good location

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Ixchel was an ideal hotel if you want to be right on the beach with an excellent view. Order frozen drinks, food, get a massage, etc. while lying in a chair right next to the blue ocean. However, be sure to lock ANY and EVERY personal belonging that you have in the safe, or take it with you. If not, be prepared to have those belongings stolen. We had a watch, 2 rings, and 2 pairs of earrings stolen from our room. We had used the safe the entire time, and unfortunately during the hour we stepped out without locking it up, they were gone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Ixchel is a great place to stay

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Staff is excellent and after 3 stays the rooms have always been very clean.
Cons: All the beds need to be improved.
Location: plenty of excellent restaurants within walking distance and the best beach on Isla Mujeres
Only negative is that the beds are hard as a rock.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City, UT

Ready to go back!

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Pros: Everything was very laid back and low key here. We packed lightly, and we didn't need any fancy clothes or shoes, just flip flops and bathing suits.
Cons: Could be some improvement with the street leading in and out of the hotel. We walked through there quite a few times and just needs to be cleaned up.
Location: We swam with the whale sharks one day, did a couple of dives with a local dive shop. Rented a golf cart one day and drove around the island.
Just returned from a five night stay at Ixchel. We had been to Isla Mujeres a couple of times for day trips in the past but had never stayed on the island. My husband always does his research and picked the hotel based on positive reviews and the white sand beach and beautiful turquoise water at Playa Norte. When we arrived we asked for an upgrade to a suite because the standard room did not have a balcony. Eric at the front desk was very accommodating and offered to show us a couple of different rooms that were available. We were happy to pay the additional amount for a condo with full kitchen, dining and living area, bedroom and bath and a beautiful balcony with view of the beach and water. The whole check in process was relaxing and efficient. The staff was great. We ate breakfast most mornings at the little restaurant and had great service from Eloy and Angel and later they took our orders on the beach. They always made sure to ask us about our previous day and gave great suggestions for things to do. It was nice that we could charge everything to our room and even a few local restaurants could be charged to our room. Martha took great care of our room every day. Thanks to everyone at Ixchel for a great week!
4 out of 5
by Ian

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 17, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from rockland county, ny

Beauty by the Shore

Posted Aug 11, 2017
This hotel was everything we had read about it and more. Our room was ready for us when we arrived and the cool air was more than welcomed. So beautifully decorated. Water coolers in two rooms and a besutiful view of the ocean. Hotel staff was so friendly and eager to meet your every need. We will certainly be returning to this resort. Thank you Ixchel for a great family vacation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new orleans

Excellent close to the beach

Posted Aug 6, 2017
The beach is just amazing! The hotel is in excellent condition, very comfortable for a family of 5. It is also close to restaurants and shops. I enjoyed my time there
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from israel

Right on the center of everything.

Posted Aug 2, 2017
The hotel is right on the hidalgo , which is the center of everything. Has the best, beayutifull beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from El Paso, TX

Breathtaking

Posted Jul 29, 2017 on Orbitz
I always stayed in Cancun when visiting, but I was single. Now I have a family and wanted to be away from the partying and nightlife. Ran into this hotel online and saw it was in Isla Mujeres and took a chance. Best thing that I could've of done! Room was sensacional and the beach was beautiful. They offer exclusive lawn chairs and umbrellas to relax at the beach. You have staff waiting on you while you enjoy the Mexican sun. We had a crazy flight that came in at 5:30 am and check in wasn't until 3:00pm. Dilema...not for the hospitality of the hotel! Front desk quickly found us a temporary single "on the house" while our room was ready. They also featured cold lavender towels to help with the long trip and humidity. We also opted out of the all inclusive because our daughter is vegan....2 to 5 star restaurants are withwalking distance from the hotel that feature options for everyone! I could go on and on, but we will defintaley plan our trip around this hotel again.