Ratings based on 494 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort McMurray, AB

Great Hotel, Perfect location

Posted Dec 1, 2017
A short 3 minute walk from the ferry dock this small motel is literally a few feet from the sea wall. The view is what you would find in $300 hotels rooms and this balcony has a hammock! You are only minutes from shops, restaurants, golf cart rentals or you can walk on the sea wall. The staff are excellent. As a matter of fact I mistakenly left an envelope with $$ in the room and when I called 2 days later they had found it and were waiting for me to call!! No honest review is without its ‘things to work on’ but the only thing I can think of is the bathroom has glass walls, yup glass walls... but there is a curtain you can pull for privacy. Just think of it as part of the fun. Basic motel at a great price with an even better view and location.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 26, 2017
SCAMMERS! Especially to the Mexican tourists. If I could I would give them a ZERO I would! so those plastic cards they give for towels, DO NOT leave them in your room at ANY time. We went out to have dinner and all of a sudden they're not in the room? So we told them that legally, if they can't find these towels in Our belongins, they cannot charge us. Towels were OBVIOUSLY NOT in Our belonging but they STILL refused to allow us to check-out until we paid the ridiculous $100 US. We immediately contact our bank and SURPRISE SURPRISE, Rocamar made 2, YES! 2 transactions for $100 US. Way to go Rocamar, it's for scammers like you, that the beautiful country of Mexico is In its economical state. For the owner, treat your employees fairly, this is probably why they did this to us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Direct ocean front like cruise ship

Posted Nov 26, 2017
Clear open ocean views from all, bedroom bathroom balcony. Air con, fridge, TV, WiFi, bed work all fine. Classy pool and pool area, within 3 meters of the ocean water. Small, very comfortable hotel in handy location. Step of the ferry and walk straight 180m and you are at ROCAMAR
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

As close as you can get to ocean & not get wet

Posted Nov 18, 2017
Pros: The view & location; quiet atmosphere.
Cons: The bathroom
Location: Close to ferry dock, on east side of island. Close to beach, shops, restaurants. Small, authentic cafes owned by locals.
Basic, serviceable, clean, bathroom is funky; killer view of ocean, convenient walking distance to shops, restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Worth, TX

overlooks the ocean. great location

Posted Nov 7, 2017
Family vacation Very good location located downtown and very convenient for eating and shopping. Easy walk to the beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY, NY

The sound!!!! Amazing!

Posted Nov 7, 2017
The hotel is very well located. I have been close to the ocean but never that close!! I mean closet than that and you’re wet! The sound of the waves crashing right underneath the room balcony all night was mind blowing. Truly the best experience I’ve ever had in Mexico. The restaurants around are amazing everyone is nice. The energy on that island is hard to describe its paridise I guess!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pensacola, FL

Basic room in a perfect location.

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Pros: Great air conditioning.
Location: Beautiful views of the sunrise every morning. Close to the grocery store at the square,
Rocamar is a moderately priced hotel that is clean and in a perfect location. The mattress is very comfortable. The waiter pressure is very low in the shower and takes a while to warm up. The hotel staff was very friendly. Victor at the front desk helped us with a picture of ice most mornings. The pool was always clean and most times we had it to ourselves. They had renovations going on but most times we were gone from the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Location location location

Posted Sep 24, 2017
Pros: Unobstructed terrace view of the sea.
Cons: Some of the rooms' fixtures need some TLC. Hotel is undergoing renovation.
Location: Isla Mujeres is a place to do very little. Read, swim, relax, eat fresh fish, repeat.
This is an old hotel that is currently undergoing renovation. It's time. I've stayed here many times over the years. There is no sweeter spot for those independent travelers who seek a quiet and beautiful spot to relax. Jesse at the desk took great care of me. Gracias!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Covina, California

The view from your room is like a cruise ship!

Posted Aug 30, 2017
This is not a complete luxury hotel but my goodness… You cannot get any more central to everything you need visiting that wonderful Isla! We were steps away from the local church where the clerk a dancing was going on. We were only a very short walk from the pier. The check in process is a joke because we got there at 6 AM and did not get a check until 3 PM as per their policy. Nonetheless they were cool about letting us hang out at the pool and even held our luggage for us while we wandered around the town for a few hours. Our refrigerator didn't work but we really didn't need it at all. Air-conditioning was just wonderful and Wi-Fi… Really? Is that your concern? OK, it is spotty but still exists! LOL we look for to returning and yes, staying again at Rocomar!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 27, 2017 on Orbitz
This is not a 5 star hotel. It's not at all fancy so don't expect top of the line commodities. The beds were kind of hard but the view and comfort made up for everything else. The hammock was such a treat! I saw the sunrise right from the balcony. I would stay here again if under a budget.