Ratings based on 259 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Steps away from Playa Norte beach.

Posted Nov 19, 2017
Easy walk to amenities, live music, shops, bars and good restaurants in centre or on the beach. Diving, sea fishing, snorkeling and swimming in amazing turquoise, warm water. Abundant sea life. Easy to hire taxi or golf buggy to get around island.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing location on the lagoon

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Gracious staff and an easy check in. We were taken to our room and shown how to work the safety deposit box, A/C and where we could get purified water. Both Playa Norte and the lagoon are steps away and it’s a quick walk into town. The area was quiet and peaceful, unlike a couple reviews that mentioned an “all night nightclub next door” We were very happy and will be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Milwaukee, WI

Great Family Owned Hotel at the Tip of North Beach

Posted Oct 24, 2017
I have had family members stay at Hotel Villa Kiin in the past so I had some positive expectations coming into this visit- I was not disappointed! The hotel is positioned in a perfect place at the Tip of North Beach on Isla Mujeres. All rooms are extremely close to the beach and have a magnificent view. Our room was on the 2nd floor of the newer section of the hotel and we had an ocean front view- despite only being told we would have an ocean view. The grounds are meticulously cared for and the staff are very pleasant to work with. Keep in mind this is a small hotel, they do not have all-inclusive options, etc. ; however, you are so close to many excellent bars and restaurants and stores that it does not matter. In the past I have stayed at some of the mega all-inclusive hotels in Cancun and it was a longer walk just to get across those behemoth’s grounds than it was to simply walk across the street to restaurants, shopping, nightlife and more. The rooms are adequately sized and have a huge balcony. The beds are comfortable and the bathrooms were adequate. My only advice to the hotel would be to extend WI-FI throughout the whole complex vs. currently only offering it near a common indoor/outdoor lounge and in the lobby. I would pay a few bucks a day to have the WI-FI access in my room. Overall my 10 night stay was exceptional and I would/will be returning to Hotel Villa Kiin for my next trip to Cancun/Isla Mujeres area!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Savannah GA

Love the beach location.

Posted Oct 21, 2017
We could not get our A/C to stay at a comfortable temperature. It was too cold most of the time. But that fluctuated when one temp felt OK, it did not stay that way. It was unfortunate the the direct hotel beach access gates were always locked & you had to go back thru the office, outside and around to get to the beach right in front. I guess they had trouble with non-guests wandering in?
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 5, 2017 on Hotels
No idea how this place had a 4/5 rating. It's 2 stars at best. No WIFI in the rooms, you have to go to the main lobby to get access. 15-20min walk from the ferry and not much around that area as far as restaurants or nightlife. The lagoon behind the hotel is nice and shallow enough for kids to enjoy, but all the gates leading to the beach were locked. Rooms are basic, and floors were sandy. $35 fee if your TV remote goes missing and $50 fee if you lose the key to the safe. "Free breakfast" was two slices of toast, a small coffee and an orange juice at a restaurant that's a 5min walk down the street.
3 out of 5
by Bonita

Super location, but poor receptionist

Posted Aug 31, 2017 on Hotels
Stayed in room 36 on the third floor, there was no view because of the trees. The room was large with a baloney with rocking chairs, fridge and air conditioner. The hotel is in a perfect location and great snorkeling in front of the hotel, but the reception is lacking. My credit card was charged $150 right away and they didn't understand that I had paid in full for the hotel room through hotels.com. The person working the front desk did not speak English that well. At checkout someone was suppose to be there at 7am, but no one was there so luckily I was checking out at 7:30am and was told I would get the $150 refund back on my card in 2 days, which I never knew why I was charged. There was bottled water and you could make coffee in the community room. Wifi was only available in the small lobby.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from arizona

Very clean comfortable room.

Posted Aug 25, 2017 on Orbitz
Beautiful views hammocks outside. Mini fridge in room walk to beach also has tidepools
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bare necessities

Posted Aug 22, 2017 on Orbitz
Unaccpmating staff . I had several mosquito bites every morning after sleeping in the room. I asked for ice in the am- they didn't have it. No spray no solutions. It wasnt till i asked another employee at 4 am that was sweeping the grounds and commented about the conditions of hotel, he brought me a brick of ice. That was a pleasant surprise when he knocked on my door. Although initially he said he had no ice. No coffee, no phone The towels were changed the 3rd dayof our stsy.
3 out of 5
by Roxy B. from Anaheim, CA

Very relaxing stay in Isla Mujeres

Posted Aug 19, 2017 on Hotels
location -- perfect location on the North side of the island, nice beach club across the street, hotel was basic but oceanfront, clean , quiet, very relaxing. If you're looking for a luxurious resort, this is not it.
5 out of 5
by Miriam

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 12, 2017 on Hotels