Ratings based on 60 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
61% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Best Kept Secret

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Pros: This was a last minute reservation and once I arrived I was pleased that I made the right choice. The Arawak Beach Inn is quaint and unique in its own right. At check in I was greeted by the manager, Maria who provided me with valuable information to truly enjoy the island. The camaraderie amongst the other guests felt more like just “hanging out with a few friends” on a tropical island! My room was spacious, comfortable and a top floor unit with a broad view of the sea. Dinner at the hotel was delicious and the nightcap was fun, especially the bartender (that would be me) since the Arawak has a “serve yourself” bar policy. I had regrets having to leave the next day, but will return for a much longer stay.
Cons: I wish I could have stayed longer. More items on the menu.
Location: Close to bars and restaurants.
4 out of 5
by Stephan from St.Martin

Another excellent stay at Arawak Beach Inn

Posted Aug 3, 2016 on Hotels
Great stay in a great room, with great service, excellent restaurant and an awesome view.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Would go again

Posted May 24, 2016 on Hotels
The staff is wonderful!
Comment from Hotel Management
by Arawak Beach Inn, Hotel Management
Thank you! We want you to feel like the Arawak Beach Inn is your home away from home...except on a tropical island!
5 out of 5
by JOSE from Puerto Rico

A good place to stay

Posted May 22, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed overnight, friendly staff, very nice room
Comment from Hotel Management
by Arawak Beach Inn, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you in the future for a longer stay!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great view but needs a renovation

Posted Jan 1, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful view but old rooms with bathrooms that need a renovation
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Posted Dec 22, 2015
Not fancy but overall a great place to stay...very affordable, easy location to Shoal Bay. Maria took care of all of our needs and she and her staff was GREAT! Highly recommend the Arawak Beach Inn!!! We will definitely return.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely staff but worst night of my life!

Posted Oct 6, 2015 on Hotels
Nice rooms, amazing staff, relaxed atmosphere, great view and a short drive to shoal bay beach! I wanted to love this hotel but there were so many things that made this one of the worst stays ever. I wouldn't consider myself high maintenance and I'm usually easy to please so I was quite disappointed. The room does not have a/c unless you pay more, which I believe is $20/night. It seemed silly that the room, at the rates they charge, didn't have air conditioning included. We were advised that the rooms are quite comfortable without ac as there is a ceiling fan and a nice breeze at night...WRONG it was unbearably hot, worst sleep of my life, if I even slept at all! Even with absolutely no blankets, no clothes, all the windows open and even the door, we were dripping sweat. The showers were another issue... the water smelled awful- I wouldn't use it to brush my teeth or drink! There was zero water pressure, literally drops at a time from the rain shower head...and only one temperature, hot...which doesn't feel nice on a sunburn or on a day where it's 95 degrees out. The pool is also run down, which I didn't mind as the beaches in Anguilla are amazing!! Wifi is also and additional $20 or so a night. So in my opinion after all the add ons of wifi and ac you may as well stay at a fancier resort for the same price of ~ $200/night.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 12, 2014 on Hotels
The room was nice though lacked hot water. The service was great as the operators are very accommodating and friendly. The grounds are very unkept though, Major room for improvement there.
5 out of 5
by MJ Wehrle from New Jersey

Homey and relaxing

Posted Apr 1, 2014 on Hotels
We had an awesome time here----not luxurious but clean and had everything we needed. Loved Maria (the innkeeper) and her daughter Natalie--very gracious and accommodating, willing to drive guests to nearby beaches and make meals according to their guests' needs. By the time we left we felt like friends of the family. Would definitely return. Just be prepared for a more rustic, relaxed experience a bit off the beaten path, which has its pluses and minuses.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2014 by Arawak Beach Inn, Hotel Management
Thank you for your wonderful review. We're pleased you enjoyed your "home away from home". We hope we can continue to welcome you back!
1 out of 5
by Dr.Valerie from Portland,Oregon

Worst Hotel Experience That We Have Ever Had!

Posted Jan 22, 2014
Pros: Nothing.... The manager was not even agreeable or understanding to our complaints
Cons: The fact that it was so dirty, moldy and unkept
Location: There is not much there except Shoal Bay beach and a nice little restaurant called "On D'a Rocks' which had good grilled lobster
Upon arrival we were appalled to realize that this hotel looked so different than the internet photos and description! We wonder if the photos were taken many years ago as apparently the Inn has now fallen into disrepair and is no longer cleaned and maintained. The surroundings were cluttered with junk, the paint was peeling on all boards and fences, everything was rusty and boards were falling off and missing. Due to a recent rain, the young man that help us with our bags had to sweep water from in front of our room door, but nevertheless deep water still settled there because the balcony floor was sinking down, so we had to drag our suitcases through water. Upon inspection of the room's interior, we noted thick amounts of hair on the bathroom floor, mold behind the sink back-splash, rust and corrosion on the bath lights and toilet paper holder, dirty shower floor and curtain. There were distinct stains on the pillowcases and linens, mold and thick dust on the rattan headboard, ceiling fan with layers of material peeling off (we were afraid to use it as material was falling down on us), two view windows that you could hardly see out of due to heavy stains and thick mold, (hadn't been cleaned for quite some time). The toilet almost overflowed twice and the shower wouldn't drain well. Since the place was not sanitary and the internet did not represent it accurately, we asked the manager for a refund. She refused.. and so we had no choice but to leave anyway. We were very unhappy with Arawak Beach Inn and not comfortable staying there because of all the dirt, mold and disrepair. It is a shame to see such a place falling apart.