Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Best Kept Secret

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Pros: This was a last minute reservation and once I arrived I was pleased that I made the right choice. The Arawak Beach Inn is quaint and unique in its own right. At check in I was greeted by the manager, Maria who provided me with valuable information to truly enjoy the island. The camaraderie amongst the other guests felt more like just “hanging out with a few friends” on a tropical island! My room was spacious, comfortable and a top floor unit with a broad view of the sea. Dinner at the hotel was delicious and the nightcap was fun, especially the bartender (that would be me) since the Arawak has a “serve yourself” bar policy. I had regrets having to leave the next day, but will return for a much longer stay.
Cons: I wish I could have stayed longer. More items on the menu.
Location: Close to bars and restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Posted Dec 22, 2015
Not fancy but overall a great place to stay...very affordable, easy location to Shoal Bay. Maria took care of all of our needs and she and her staff was GREAT! Highly recommend the Arawak Beach Inn!!! We will definitely return.
1 out of 5
by Dr.Valerie from US

Worst Hotel Experience That We Have Ever Had!

Posted Jan 22, 2014
Pros: Nothing.... The manager was not even agreeable or understanding to our complaints
Cons: The fact that it was so dirty, moldy and unkept
Location: There is not much there except Shoal Bay beach and a nice little restaurant called "On D'a Rocks' which had good grilled lobster
Upon arrival we were appalled to realize that this hotel looked so different than the internet photos and description! We wonder if the photos were taken many years ago as apparently the Inn has now fallen into disrepair and is no longer cleaned and maintained. The surroundings were cluttered with junk, the paint was peeling on all boards and fences, everything was rusty and boards were falling off and missing. Due to a recent rain, the young man that help us with our bags had to sweep water from in front of our room door, but nevertheless deep water still settled there because the balcony floor was sinking down, so we had to drag our suitcases through water. Upon inspection of the room's interior, we noted thick amounts of hair on the bathroom floor, mold behind the sink back-splash, rust and corrosion on the bath lights and toilet paper holder, dirty shower floor and curtain. There were distinct stains on the pillowcases and linens, mold and thick dust on the rattan headboard, ceiling fan with layers of material peeling off (we were afraid to use it as material was falling down on us), two view windows that you could hardly see out of due to heavy stains and thick mold, (hadn't been cleaned for quite some time). The toilet almost overflowed twice and the shower wouldn't drain well. Since the place was not sanitary and the internet did not represent it accurately, we asked the manager for a refund. She refused.. and so we had no choice but to leave anyway. We were very unhappy with Arawak Beach Inn and not comfortable staying there because of all the dirt, mold and disrepair. It is a shame to see such a place falling apart.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Max from Minneapolis, MN, USA

Fun stay, staff is great!

Posted Jan 16, 2014
Pros: Simply style, great staff.
Cons: I wouldn't change anything.
Location: Shoal Bay Easy...duh!!
My girlfriend and I stayed there for a couple of nights as a little prelude to our St. Martin vacation and we were both very happy. I would recommend this to any of my friends. Overall, we felt very safe and well taken care of. The style is very beachy and simple with all of the necessary amenities including a bar and restaurant. For the price bracket this place is in, I think they do a great job. Everything is as advertised. We had an Oceanside room and it was right by the ocean and we could hear the waves all night just like we wanted. Keep in mind, this isn't beachside; you're only 20 feet from the ocean, but the terrain is rocky. Although in our room they weren't in "like new" condition, the room had all of the amenities you would expect in working order. There are other rooms with nicer amenities; we were in one of the more economy rooms. Maria (manager) and her staff are very polite, knowledgeable, and more than willing to go out of their way to help you. They were extremely nice and were able to provide us with great suggestions of places to visit on the island. No matter what price range, style you prefer, or region of the island, they knew what they were talking about.
1 out of 5
by Gemmie from US Virgin Islands

Quaint yet very Disappointing. Misled by photos.

Posted Nov 16, 2013
Pros: Monica, a hostess, was very gracious. She did her very best to accommodate us.
Cons: Needs major rehabilitation but in the short-term, cleanliness is cheap and goes a long way.
Location: No beach, it is rock but Scilly Cay nearby.
The photos are misleading. They mostly represent the two newly renovated rooms that were not occupied and were not given to us. I think it is a grave injustice to misrepresent what is actually being offered as that constitutes false advertisement. Not only did we get two rundown rooms but the bathrooms were not clean. They were actually filled with mold on grout and caulking. We had to ask for cleaning agents before we could even set foot in the shower. Do not be misled by the photos. The renovated units are not the ones being offered on Expedia.
1 out of 5
by sue from US

I can't name that place a hotel.

Posted Aug 31, 2013
Pros: The ocean
Cons: good
Location: More Security
It was hot and no water to drink. The place is creepy
2 out of 5
by Robin from Connecticut, USA

Bad Time in Anguilla

Posted May 13, 2012
Pros: The pool was clean and refreshing
Cons: The food and the noise
Location: No beach front as you are led to believe in the pics
We arrived - to find a pleasing pool. The pics on the internet are misleading - there is NO beach ! Our room was on the 2nd floor - and the unit below was being renovated ALL DAY and into the night - we had to complain twice to get it to stop finally at 9pm. The food was bad - they had a seafood stirfry one night - the seafood was microwaved ! NASTY. and the prices are very high. I would have expected some sort of concesssion by the manager for the noise we had to endure - but none was given.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Arawak is wonderful

Posted Feb 23, 2012
Fantastic place to stay in Anguilla- Maude's food is excellent, and Maria was welcoming and friendly. Overall, a wonderful experience we would recommend to all.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Byron from Guatemala, Central America

Trip to Anguilla

Posted Feb 1, 2012
My experience was wonderful. But I had to work all the days and my permanense in the hotel was only a few hours.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia pa

Awful

Posted Nov 21, 2011
The room was dirty ...pool seemed to be an above ground connected to house..rocky beach..but the safety was the major problem. The security guard showed a phone to pick up and it dials him direct but it's about a ten minute walk from your room and he's at his house wherever that is. He said since he's hired it's much safer. But he leaves at 830pm. I couldn't sleep I just had such an awful gut feeling..very scary there to me. I met another person at shoals bay who stayed there years ago and other guests actually cried seeing the place. The locals laugh when you say your staying there but no one speaks up...I'm American and this would be similar to a hostel..at best..beware!! I think these other reviews are made up people.