Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
43% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from amsterdam

Overpriced and short sighted

Posted Aug 9, 2015
The hotel is in a beautiful setting. There were very few guests and it would have been nice to get a bit better room. I mentioned my Expedia Gold status without any response. Breakfast was very disappointing, should have been included in the room price, but certainly not worth €16 per person - it was expensive, they ran out of eggs. For the total price of the stay for the two of us, there are much better options in the area. We won't return. It's a shame as the place had great potential.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from laguna beach, ca

authentic country stay

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Pros: country location, personal service, old-school feeling
Cons: while the bathroom was re-modeled the bedroom felt a bit dated [um, duh] and could have been more comfortable.
Location: hotel centrally located between vezelay and avallon - both great to visit!
Picked this location as easy to get to on arrival to France [vs having to navigate a village]. The hotel is incredibly peaceful ... joked about having our own chateau! That said, it's not for everyone. Don't expect too much, just accept what is and you'll enjoy it.
4 out of 5
by james from new york

It's a castle in the country

Posted Jul 1, 2014 on Hotels
We were literally the only ones in the Chateau. The grounds are nice. Not perfect, in a bit of decay, but in a charming way. There is a nice small little garden next to the hotel, but the main grounds are not landscaped very well. We stayed here because it was a good spot between Lyon and Paris. Breakfast was great. The salon is very pretty. Our room was underwhelming, but it looked like there were some nice rooms.
5 out of 5
by John-Lewis from Williamsburg, VA, USA

Like stepping back in time

Posted Oct 4, 2013 on Hotels
My wife and I stayed here for one night as our half way point across France. We had a wonderful stay. It was like stepping back to the Baroque. NOTE: Learning some French will benefit you greatly as one of the owner (the husband) is the only English speaking representative at the estate.
3 out of 5
by Serj

Good idea with bad room condition

Posted Aug 25, 2012 on Hotels
NO conditioning, bad smell makes this hotel disatractive for staying. No lift, no near shops and no any attraction on place. The beautiful nature surrounding, gentle service, very testy breakfast, good parking.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

very disappointing

Posted May 22, 2012 on Hotels
a very disappointing stay - a 2 star experience for a 5 star price.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Posted Apr 6, 2012 on Hotels
The hotel is located in a very beautiful country area of France. The staff has limited English but were consistently polite. We had a problem with our credit card but the manager was more than helpful with working out the problem.
3 out of 5
by carmen

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 14, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bruxelles

Comment rater une belle opportunité

Posted Aug 5, 2016
L'endroit est sublime, vraiment. Et après tout est décevant. L'accueil pour commencer: nous n'avons vu le premier jour qu'un brave réceptionniste-serveur tout en un mais qui n'était pas à la hauteur. Le lendemain au petit déjeuner nous n'avons vu personn, il y avait juste une table dressée avec tout dessus. La chambre n'etait pas mieux: propre mais malodorante. En plus le château était vide et nous avons été relégués dans une dépendance ...
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 9, 2016 on Hotels