Ratings based on 413 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Posted Oct 3, 2015
Cons: Make light available for table, and increase outside lighting near the stairs.
Location: It is about 20 miles to the west entrance of Yellowstone National Park.
We planned our trip to Yellowstone at the last minute and there weren't any hotel rooms left near or in the park in our price range, so we decided that we could drive the 20 miles in each day from Island Park. The Sawtelle Mountain Resort is a reasonably priced motel and the road to the park is very good, but the 20 miles meant that we had to get up earlier and drive farther in the dark if we wanted to be in Hayden or Lamar valley at first light to spot bears or wolves. The motel is older, but clean. The room was good, but had a tiny sink right next to the outside door. The beds were comfortable. The table was in a dark corner, so that you could hardly see to write unless it was daytime and the curtain was open. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The location is in a wooded area which made the whole outdoor experience nice. Island Park is about 30 miles long and consists of 5 small communities which made the motel a little difficult to find. Be sure to get good directions for the location, or plan to call when you get close.
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ca

OK not great

Posted Sep 30, 2015
The water was out when we got there at 5 Pm. They said it would be fixed in 45 minutes. We kept checking and it did not come on until after ten Pm. Could not flush toilet or shower. Very bad. After that was just O K oh and when maintainance was trying to fix an electrical problem the screwed up an the power went out for three hours a few days later.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Akron, Ohio

Quiet hotel near Yellowstone

Posted Sep 27, 2015
Pros: It was quiet and comfy.
Location: Not far from Yellowstone... Henry's Lake is close but because of the rain we really couldn't explore the area.
We stayed here for three nights. Our room was clean & comfy with a microwave and a small fridge. They do have an indoor pool and hot tub but we never used them. It rained and snowed while we were there so all we did was go from the car to the room. There aren't alot of restaurants close...Subway and Connies which is only open certain days.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Odense,DK

Fin placering for besøg i Yellowstone.

Posted Sep 26, 2015
Dejligt beliggende hotel lidt væk fra vejen. Både køleskab,microovn og kaffemaskine på superrent værelse. Kun 30 minutter fra West entrence Yellowstone. Ville gerne bo her igen.
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hailey ID

Those with dogs beware

Posted Sep 21, 2015
I called the hotel directly to ensure that I could have a ground floor room because my dog is 13 years old and weighs 65 pounds. I arrived to find I was on the top floor and that they only have 2 " dog rooms". To make matters worse the stairs were constructed of metal grating. . The type to allow snow to pass thru. . Which completely freaked out my dog. Getting him up and down by myself was epic.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Parachute, Colorado

Dump In The Dirt

Posted Sep 20, 2015
Pros: I am sorry to say NOTHING!
Cons: My God, to have decent maid service, above all! I even went in and requested four stamps for post cards, thinking they would afford me that courtesy!
Location: Yellowstone was 22 miles. Springs were 12 miles. Mesa Falls was 25 miles and the Lake was 15 miles.
We couldn't believe they called our room their Deluxe Suite. It was the size of a normal bathroom. One person had to be sitting when the other was walking. When we arrived at our room on the second day of our stay, the trash had not been removed, nor the used linen and fresh towels left to be used. There was no water. I had to remove the used trash sack and take the waste paper can some goodly distance, down a flight of steps and into the building that housed the pool and hot tub, fill the waste paper can with water, retrace my steps and empty it into the toilet. I repeated this action, two more times. Towels were still not brought to our room, so I stopped and got towels, wash cloths, shampoo, conditioner, toilet paper and coffee. We came back to our room on our final night and we could not believe it! The same thing! There was water, however. No trash was removed, The towels were not removed and fresh ones hung in their place, no new bottles of shampoo and conditioner, no coffee packets and condiments and the bed, as the night before, was not made. I had discussed with the receptionist, the fact that I had Lymphedema, due to Cancer and needed to be able to launder my compression sleeve nightly, and of course with no water, wasn't able to. This is, bar none, the worst place, I am sad to say, we have ever stayed!
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from marseille


Posted Sep 17, 2015
L hotel etait pas loin des parcs tres bien a recommander
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from las vegas,NV

나쁘지 않았어요

Posted Sep 15, 2015
Pros: 수영장?
Cons: 주변환경
Location: 없다.
그런데 단지 위치가 조금 그래요. 주변에 아무것도 없고 식당도 바로앞에있는 식당은 진짜 별로고요. 어딜가나 항상 차를 타고 다녀야되요 엘로우스톤에선 30km 떨어져있으니 참고하세요.
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Older hotel

Posted Sep 5, 2015
Pros: The price for this hotel was very reasonable. There was a pool and a hot tub and a washer ,dryer and WiFi for people staying at the hotel.
Cons: The bed was a little soft like Grandma's feather bed.
Location: A Subway a very close . We had easy access to the hwy.
Sawtelle hotel was 20 miles from the West entrance to Yellowstone park. The price of the rooms very reasonable. We were very pleased with the desk staff they were very knowledgeable and helpful. We were gone early in the morning and returned before dark. The was a micro wave ,a little fridge and a real coffee pot. We enjoyed our visit to Yellowstone.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Sawtelle Mountain Resort

Posted Sep 1, 2015
Pros: Nice location
Cons: Vending machines fixed,more restaurants available.
Location: Located about 30 miles outside of west entrance to Yellowstone National Park.There is also a lake nearby.
"Resort" is a very loose use of the word when describing this "hotel".More of a glorified motel than a resort.