Ratings based on 221 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Las Rocas rocks!

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: Las Rocas is clean, quiet, with a friendly bi-lingual staff, an excellent PADI diving center and a simple restaurant and bar right on the beach.
Cons: Breakfast pastries and fruit were provided on a buffet bar. A different hot plate was offered each day but with no options.
Location: Enjoy the reef and relax.
Las Rocas is a comfortable hotel and diving resort. It is quiet and just steps away from the much louder West Bay Beach. I stayed with my two boys for 8 days to explore the reef. We completed the Open Water diving course under Laura's expert instruction and my older son continued to complete the Advanced Open Water diving course. The diving took us to various nearby points on the reef. The prices seemed reasonable. We enjoyed snorkeling from the resort and from points along West Bay beach. We ate most of our meals at the hotel which offered simple, typical island food. There are many places to eat and drink nearby, no need for a car. The water taxis stop at the hotel and can take you to West End. The room was cleaned daily. We had a great time. I first visited the island 22 years ago when it was fairly primitive. Today the West End and West Bay are developed and the extensive reef is maybe 30% bleached. Much of the soft coral and all of the anemone are gone. It is still beautiful. You need to see it while you can.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Albuquerque, NM

Excellent value, perfect location!

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Pros: Location, location, location and FOOD! Best in West Bay.
Cons: I would suggest the addition of a water cooler or two. So we could reuse and refill water bottles. Water was not drinkable in room.
Location: Perfectly situated between West End and West Bay. Walking distance to both popular tourist areas.
We just visited Roatan for the first time and I hope we'll go back again very soon. Las Rocas was the perfectly-located, quiet, destination we were looking for. You can easily walk to both West Bay and West End (no water taxi fares). You can swim out from the private beach and snorkel to your heart's content (my husband also took two snorkel trips with the divers, but honestly, the snorkeling 100 yards from the beach is fantastic). Now, let's move on to the most important part of the trip: the food. Trattoria de Piero (Las Rocas' restaurant) has the freshest food in West Bay. My husband and I did our due diligence and visited several of the other restaurants (all within a 10 minute walk from our room) and HANDS-DOWN, Las Rocas is the best. We had the Lobster Burritos, Fish Tacos, Cheeseburger, Pizza, french fries - and they even made chips and salsa from scratch as a special request. EVERYTHING was cooked to order and served HOT. (If you've never experienced 'island time'...trust me when I say hot food is a rare find on Roatan). Breakfast every morning (included in our room rate) was the most exciting part. Fresh fruit salad, baked goods, coffee and a freshly prepared hot plate that differed every day. We were surprised and delighted each and every morning. When we go back, we won't waste our time at any of the other restaurants. About our room: a perfect little bungalow with a hammock on the front porch. Bed was very comfortable, a/c and fan worked great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salmon Arm, BC

well situated hotel

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Quaint, quiet, cozy bungalows well situated between West Bay and Westend without the crowds. Caters to divers with excellent staff all around. No immediate beach but great beaches on both sides. Close to multiple restaurants with great breakfast included in room price.
5 out of 5
by Matthieu

Killer Spot for Diving

Posted Mar 9, 2017 on Hotels
The best spot -- in-house dive shop made going out a breeze, and they handled reservations for ziplining entirely in-house as well (they have connections with most of the local attraction providers).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rockwall TX

Perfect little room for easy access to everything

Posted Mar 8, 2017
This is the perfect little room on the water with walking access to al that west bay has to offer. Our room was 50 feet from the water. Awesome little restaurant and bar on the water right by the rooms. Then, a boardwalk that takes you to west bay's huge beach. From las Rocas, you have access to 10+ bars, 10+ restaurants, shops, boat and beach activities, diving and incredible snorkeling. You'd be crazy to stay anywhere else. The price is too good to be true. Won't last long.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet beach next door. Private layout of rooms.

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Pros: The location being at the end of the hotel tourist section was a bonus as well as having a private balcony.
Cons: The only issue is that we had to pay for water which can add up after 2 weeks. The first room we were in the toilet handle was partially broken.Not re
The island is amazing and the people are friendly and very approachable. The snorkeling is beautiful and the vendors were fun and there was a mutual respect for space and time. Good energy overall.
5 out of 5
by Victor Aponte from Columbia SC

Great Stay!!

Posted Feb 2, 2017 on Hotels
We had a blast.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from VA

A dive trip

Posted Jan 26, 2017
Pros: It was small and friendly, had a good location. The food was excellent and plentiful and staff was friendly and most helpful.
Cons: The rooms could stand a little updating along with the bedding, although clean and adequate. Some comfortable seating would be nice.
Location: Was on the beach, had the Monkey experience close by, activities available, restaurant on site. Dive Shop on site.
Hotel staff was excellent, made every effort to make sure you were taken care of and were happy to do so. The diving was great and staff professional and friendly, catered to divers in any way they could.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Great little botique hotel.

Posted Jan 25, 2017
Pros: The smallness and the location away from the cruise ship crowds.
Cons: One suggestion: put the 5 gallon bottles of water in each room.
Location: A short walk to West Bay and a leisurely stroll to West end. Whatever water sport you want is near.
The staff at the hotel are great. They are helpful in every way. The dive shop next to the hotel was good. The dive master Alex does a nice relaxing dive--the kind where you can enjoy the "scenery". The hotel is old but has been kept in good condition-it is not a fancy resort if that is what you are looking for. We liked the quaintness of it. The restaurant puts out tasty meals!!
4 out of 5
by Lisa

Staff was great!

Posted Jan 13, 2017 on Hotels
Nice place for a short stay. Had a pay for Internet and it was not very good. Food and drink were great!