Ratings based on 264 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Our Best Wester stay in Douglas, Isle of Man.

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Location: Douglas has a number of things to attract all age groups, from pubs, clubs, restraunts , shops, cafes, horse drawn carriages, steam train (in season).
Double room with a small balcony over looking the Bay of Douglas. The room consisted of a double bed freshly made each day, a comfy seat and occasional table. A dressing table/desk which had a tv. Tea , coffee , hot chocolate, milk and sugar and a pack of two biscuits were left daily. Two draws and a double wardrobe with coat hangers. An ironing board and iron also a fan provided. A large mirror and hairdryer. The bathroom was a shower over the bath, toilet and wash bowl. Shampoo conditioner and body wash was provided daily with clean towels. There was a restraunt and bar, the staff were very well presented,professional and pleasant. The food was exceptional. The gym, pool and steam room were a good addition.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SG8 7ES

First reaction.

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: See above.
Cons: See above.
Location: Location good, enjoyable location.
First reaction hotel very dated, carpets need a good clean or replacement.Receptionist one of the best (Sunday evening 2016/09/11) should go to a up marked hotel. Room clean however compact. Fine for sleeping but no A/C so window open throughout night. Wi Fi seldom worked, Poor coverage. Room TV cannot believe no international channels. Restaurant good food, good service cost about right.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Aberdeen Scotland

Douglas resort run down and poor beach

Posted Aug 6, 2016
Pros: Overall the best thing about the hotel is the position overlooking the beach
Cons: The worst thing is that the hotel is very dated and needs updating urgently.
Location: Although the location across from beach was ok, I would probably book a hotel nearer the centre if I return.
Wifi did not work very well in my room on the 4th floor, and although the staff were lovely often reception took a while to reply to telephone and to reception desk. Breakfast was good but again service re my poached eggs took a long while and I had to request it be done at least three times Nice pool
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from salford

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Pleasent stay, very quiet considering it's a casino too
5 out of 5
by Susan from Tonbridge

Lovely hotel, shame about the parking

Posted Jul 19, 2016 on Hotels
Fabulous island, but we had to pay £4 a day for parking behind the hotel - surely the hotel owners could negotiate something with the car park owners? - they've done it with the adjacent swimming pool which is free to hotel guests. Free parking for up to 2 hours a time, all over the island, is available with an IOM parking disc - so why didn't the hotel provide one with our room key when we arrived?
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Good all round hotel

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Good all round hotel. Handy location midway between the Electric and steam railway terminals with horse trams passing outside !!. Everything is walkable anyhow, so very convenient all in all. Hotel decor is a little past it's best, but the room was comfortable enough so would still recommend. The Isle of Man is a great place to visit, so have fun...
2 out of 5
by Matthew

Close it and refurb it ASAP!

Posted Jul 16, 2016 on Hotels
Close it and refurb it ASAP! The building and the immediate area are hideous. Ok, at £65/night, it serves a purpose. First impressions are not good from the outside. Reception is really dated and staff are ok but look a bit shabby themselves. Service is minimal. The rooms are really small, although the bed was comfortable. The shower is hard to get to a decent temperature and the curtain is hung to close into the bath which means every time you move it wraps around you. Not great if you think that happens to every one! We stayed for a seminar and to get to the conference room you have to walk through this bar and your feet stick to the carpet and it stinks of beer. It's absolutely gross and they really should refurb this place. Breakfast was expensive for what you get, compared to a Premier Inn breakfast. This was £10 for continental and Premier Inn is £9 for everything. Not great value at all. Buy some better yogurts please! Cheap, cheap, cheap! There were lots of staff around at breakfast and they were pretty efficient. Wouldn't stay here out of choice.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 12, 2016
Great views and good location, but dated hotel, which needs some modernisation.
4 out of 5
by ann

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 5, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 3, 2016 on Hotels