Ratings based on 80 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 5, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location and breakfast!

Posted Aug 29, 2016 on Hotels
Layout of B&B was strange as we were 2 doors down from actual restaurant for breakfast. The room was clean and comfortable, could have done with electric points close to mirrors. We were on the top floor, not ideal for elderly or those with disabilities, would have liked hotel to check this with us prior to stay as my Mum is 71 and it was a strain for her getting up to the top, there is alternative accommodation in the main building that has an elevator, but we were not given this option. Our neighbours were particularly noisy in the early hours of the morning. The breakfast was great with plenty of choice. The location was great being a short walk to all of the amenities in Douglas. I would stay here again, but would request the main building to stay in. Car parking on the road nearby wasn't a problem.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Check your booking.

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Pros: Good staqff andnice rooms
Cons: Booking system and provisiion of toiletries kept up.
On arrival at Mereside to check in, one of us was given a room as requested with lift access and walk in shower, the other was given a room in Rosslyn, at the top of a flight of stairs - when this was queried we were told that the request was oinly for the one room, later refuted by the manager. After seeing the manager the next morning to ask why this was so, he then managed to find a room in Mereside as requested. We have booked in the HQ group 4 times now and on 2 occasions there was a problem with the reservation. The first time resulting in us staying in another hotel entirely, at their expense!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ontario

Awesome hotel excellent staff

Posted Jun 13, 2016
Pros: Clean friendly place
Cons: Nothing
Location: Central location close to the sea,shopping,grandstand for TT race
Had a great time renting a motorcycle and traveling the Isle of Man,eating fresh kippers,drinking beer
3 out of 5
by Darel Gene from Sacramento, CA

Posted Jun 9, 2016 on Hotels
Was assigned room in adjoining Rosslyn Hotel. Room had wash basin, but private toilet and private shower were down the hall. I couldn't take shower in morning as no window or working overhead light in shower room, which was about size of a telephone booth. Can't , in good conscious, recommend this hotel unless you are guaranteed ensuite toilet and shower.
4 out of 5
by Astrid

Posted May 7, 2016 on Hotels
Very good home cooked food.
4 out of 5
by Robert from Red Lodge, Bury St Edmunds

a look see for a further visit

Posted Apr 18, 2016 on Hotels
my stay was good even the weather was good
3 out of 5
by Helen from Warwickshire

Nice room helpful staff

Posted Apr 10, 2016 on Hotels
On arrival I was put in there sister hotel when booking I did not realize the toilet and shower would be out in the corridor down a few steps not a good idea as I get up in the night I could have fell or woke the rest or the hotel up opening and closing the toilet door this door had a lock but the shower door did not so anybody could have use it and having to take clothes and wash things back and forth so I asked to be moved which was sorted out at a extra charge but at least I had toilet and shower in room
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Felt like I was staying in a bed sit not a hotel.

Posted Oct 27, 2015
Pros: Nothing much.
Cons: Don't go to the aisle of Man I guess is a huge improvement.
Location: Not much a huge disappointment and horrible place.
Didn't like the Isle of Man at all found it a shocking horrible place. Hotel staff lovely but it wasn't like a hotel I ever been to. And I been to loads. Had a shower and sink in the room but the toilet was one floor down despite paying for an en suite. Room was 7 flights of stairs up no lift. Hated the whole weekend wouldn't ever go there again. But sandy in the hotel staff was amazingly lovely.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Mereside Hotel, Empire Terrace, Isle of Man

Posted Sep 29, 2015
Pros: It was clean. Staff friendly. Noted and acted on the fact that one guest has coeliac disease without a drama.
Location: Near to sea front but not on it. Close to shops, bars and restaurants as well as bus stops and electric and steam rail stations not too far away.
Excellent stay had by all. Greeted and shown to a fantastic, clean room. Lovely to have a bar and restaurant with a varied menu on site. Food great. Catered well without a fuss for coeliac guest. Fab location, just of the sea front and not far from bus and train stops.