Ratings based on 841 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Barbara

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 18, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

room was dark and dreary

Posted Dec 18, 2015
Pros: ocean close
Cons: update the rooms
Location: nothing to do only 2 shops and 3 resteraunts
our room had no window. very dark and uninviting but because we paid through expedia we could not get a refund. We had to spend another 54 dollars to get an acceptable room. Still elevator was broken down and no pool since it was under construction. Terrible experience
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 16, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed in the off season and there was a lot of construction going on in the hotel. We didn't know beforehand and it was annoying because we stayed on the top floor and the elevator wasn't in service.
4 out of 5
by Timothy from Norway

Posted Dec 12, 2015 on Hotels
In and out
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 14, 2015 by The Palms Management, Hotel Management
Greetings Timothy, Thank you for taking the time to share your 4 star review with us! We hope you enjoyed your visit, and hope to see you again soon!
5 out of 5
by Tonda from Chapin, SC.

Wonderful Get Away

Posted Dec 9, 2015 on Hotels
Was a great place to take my cousin, who has never seen the ocean. Had a wonderful stay and will be back. A+++
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 13, 2016 by The Palms Management, Hotel Management
Greetings Tonda, Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. I am so pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope that your cousin had a blast on his first beach vacation! We hope to see you again soon.
1 out of 5
by Not Provided from Maryland

Very tired hotel.

Posted Dec 5, 2015 on Hotels
This poor hotel is VERY tired. Unkept and struggling to please. To add even another disappointment, check in was at 4. Who has a 4 o'clock check in? After driving 9 hours I thought for sure, they'd accommodate, but they added yet another disappointment, an early check in was not possible. The elevator was being worked on at the time, so guest's were left to climb the stairs, which wasn't a problem. We only had a few bags. But a gentleman staff member said he'd help us up in a moment, and I accepted since I was quite stiff from my 9 hour drive. Then the lady that checked us in quickly decided, she'd take our bags up instead. It was nice of her, but it left me feeling like a wimp because she was smaller than me! Their continental breakfast would have been a bit of a redeemer, but like the grey, misty and cold weather we awoke to, the breakfast was also a disappointment. The muffins were stale/dry? Not sure which. The one and only redeeming quality was the bed. It was the best sleep. But like another reviewer mentioned, the fitted sheet on my bed was stained, too. Big time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2015 by The Palms Management, Hotel Management
Greetings, We appreciate you taking the time to share your review with us, and I am saddened to learn that we fell short of your expectations. I apologize for not being able to check you in to your room early, as we always try to make sure that is possible for every guest. You will be happy to know that the elevator replacement is completely finished, and the elevator is up and running! I am glad to see that our staff was able to assist you in getting settled upstairs, and also pleased that you got a good nights rest, our beds are the best! I hope that you will give us another shot if you are ever back in the area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kingsland georgia

Dated, but good beach access

Posted Dec 4, 2015
Hotel needs a lot of upkeep. Never did get the TV to work.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2015 by The Palms Management, Hotel Management
Greetings Dave S, Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. I want to apologize for the issues that you faced with the TV, and hope that you were still able to enjoy your stay. As you may have noticed, we are in the process of completely replacing our elevator, and doing a complete renovation on the pool area, which we hope will enhance our guest's experience. We hope that you give us another chance if you are ever back in the area.
4 out of 5
by Larry

Posted Dec 3, 2015 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 13, 2015 by The Palms Management, Hotel Management
Greeting Larry, Thank you for taking the time give us a 4 star rating! We hope you enjoyed your stay with us!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Greenville, Sc

Close to the beach..

Posted Nov 30, 2015
We had a wonderful trip, All in all we were happy. Just the working zone e.g. The elevator, parking lot and pool were under construction and that was the reason for a noisy athmosphere. Bute hotel is directly located at the beach amd has an own sidewalk to it. Hotel staff was friendly. Breakfast was ok, but we've expected more for the money.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2015 by Josh - Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Good Morning Lea, Thank you for taking the time to share you feedback with us. I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, even with the renovations. You will be happy to know that the elevator is completely finished, and the pool/sun deck area only has a few more weeks! As regards to breakfast, we are currently working with our distributor to try and find alternative options for our guests. We hope to see you again soon!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Upgrade was a downgrade

Posted Nov 28, 2015
Reserved a king bed. Got 2 full beds. This was considered an upgrade. Hotel would not switch us back to the king.