Ratings based on 1,795 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rooms were immaculate.

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Our rooms were so clean, however, I had requested adjoining rooms for my sister and her husband and us and we did not get it. We were on different floors. I asked for ocean front for our rooms and my sister and husband and did not get that either. I thought when one asks for ocean front, it doesnt mean 1 1/2 blocks away. I thought we would be getting right on the beach. I just feel we were not accommodated in what we wanted.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, PA

Housekeeping A+++

Posted Oct 10, 2017
The absolute best thing about my stay was the housekeepers on the 2nd Floor at The Boardwalk. A+++ ladies!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Greenville, SC

Nice hotel close to beach

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Pros: Close to pool, beach, restaurants. Very clean.
Cons: Comfort of beds/pillows
Location: Barrier Island Eco Tours is wonderful!
The hotel was very clean and nicely decorated. Pool and restaurants nearby is nice. My only complaint is the beds- very hard and uncomfortable, same with pillows. An upgrade in this area would help a lot.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great spot to stay for a few days

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Nice hotel, great amenities and lots of options for food and beverages. A good place to stay to unwind yet still close to town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful beach and pools!

Posted Sep 26, 2017
Do not judge the final experience based on company that oversees the front gate. Totallly rude!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Girl's weekend

Posted Sep 26, 2017
I've stayed at the Boardwalk Inn numerous times and always have a wonderful stay. This times was no exception. The food, view, room and staff are wonderful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from High Point, NC

Best beach option near Charleston

Posted Sep 24, 2017
Pros: Pools, beach, rooms
Cons: Need a few more restaurant options.
Location: Not a lot on Isle of Palms. Charleston is the place to eat. Resort does have nice things like bike rentals, tennis and golf.
This hotel is really beautiful. Boardwalk Inn is a small part of the overall condos and homes on the resort. A few restaurants that are over priced like you'd assume at any hotel. The Dunes Deli spot for a casual breakfast was always a winner over the cost of Coastal Provisions breakfast. Room, staff and pool facilities were all fantastic. Room was very large and extremely quite. The only negative is this being a little far from Charleston. 25-30 min drive to eat each night was a bit much. Not really any restaurants on the Isle of Palms, or at least near the resort. Overall excellent. Its an atmosphere that feels very much like the old south. Love it!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NC

Hurricane GREED

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Pros: It was clean.
Cons: Develop a hurricane cancellation policy that keeps the customer's goodwill in focus, rather than the profit margin.
For a business that sells customer experience, this was a major disappointment. Hurricane Irma was forecast to hit the area of Wild Dunes.....YET, cancellation was not permitted without penalty. Since evacuation of the island was not mandatory, you were still expected to show up or pay a night's fee. I asked if I could reschedule my reservation by that, too, was denied without a fee. So, I went to the resort. The normal 4.5 hour drive was 8.5 hours due to driving in the remnants of the hurricane and its consequential traffic. Upon arrival, the vast majority of amenities were closed. The next day I attempted to go to the beach, but since the Grand Pavilion had suffered hurricane damage, it was roped off. The area near the Pavilion was also blocked with debris. Wild Dunes does NOT put the interest of the customer's experience first. Instead, the maximization of profit is the goal. Expedia offered no assistance expect to call the resort. As a long time customer of Expedia, they should have stood by MY needs and concerns and allowed the reservation to be rescheduled without penalty. If Wild Dunes had simply been closed for 2-4 days, this would have all been kept out of the guests' experience. Will I return to Wild Dunes? NEVER. Would I suggest this resort to others? NEVER. SHAME ON WILD DUNES> SHAME ON EXPEDIA.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Hurricane Irma

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Pros: Clean Room.
Cons: A cancellation policy that puts the customer's well being and happiness first.
Hurricane Irma was scheduled to hit the area near this hotel. The hotel would not allow you to cancel a reservation without penalty (one night's fee). Expedia would not doing anything to assist the customer either. I attempted to "reschedule" my reservation, but my request was denied without penalty... Irma hit nearby Charleston putting much of the historic district under water. The location of this hotel also suffered damage. For example: the steps were ripped off the Grand Pavilion as well as several nearby homes were standing in water. Because there was not a demanded "evacuation" of the island, the hotel's rules concerning cancellation stood. Thus, I traveled to the hotel.... Because of the increased hurricane traffic, it took 8.5 hours to travel what normally takes 4.5 hours. When I finally arrived, the vast majority of Wild Dunes' amenities were closed. The next day, the beach was blocked to allow machinery to clear the damaged areas. If the property had simply been closed for the week, NONE of this mayhem would have been experienced by the guests. Instead, the priority was keeping the profit margin in place. What kind of a "first experience" could a person possibly have in this situation? Will I return? NO. Will I suggest this resort to others? NO. SHAME on Wild Dunes for forgetting about the customer. SHAME on Expedia for not supporting its customers either. Enough said.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ohio

Excellent place

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Amazing customer service! Clean room, good food and worth the money. It is the type of place you want to keep coming back to.