Ratings based on 44 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely location overlooking the Solent.

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: Nice to read about the history of the hotel and its connection with Royalty, and the superb views.
Cons: room 26 at back of hotel, shabby old upholstery, carpets, towels and linen, mattresses old and uncomfortable. Bedroom and bathroom needs updating.
Location: Perfect location close to Cowes and the ferries. The Needles and Osborne house are nearby and well worth visiting.
Pleasant staff, good location, nice restaurant with pleasing views.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reading

Brilliant location.

Posted May 13, 2017
Although the hotel was full the staff were very helpful. We really enjoyed our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from s Aylesbury, Bucks

Right on the beach front

Posted May 7, 2017
Excellent 5 night stay. Couldn't fault it. All staff were approachable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Sea views

Posted May 1, 2017
Pros: Location, restaurant and staff
Location: Quiet location, 10 minute walk along sea front from Cowes town centre.
Lovely hotel. Friendly staff who went out of their way to oblige. Rooms comfortably furnished and clean. Bottled water in the room a nice addition to standard tea/coffee making facilities. Excellent restaurant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kent

Staff cheerful, helpful hotel clean food lovely

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Cons: Should be a 5*
We stayed for two nights as attending a wedding on the Isle of Wight. The view from the hotel is beautiful , food exceptional, clean throughout the hotel , staff so friendly and always a smile on their faces. Would definitely stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel and close to the beach.

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Comfort and clean but inclosed between walls. Small windows. Terras door with possibility to come outside and have a short way to the sea, positiv. No breakfast included and that was ok. But confusing with the different breakfast possibilities and prices, no god explanation of the staff.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Berkshire

Not a hotel we would go back to

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Pros: The food was deilcious. Could not fault it - hats off to the chef!
Cons: The mattresses need replacing!!! The cleaning in bathrooms needs addressing with regards floor cleaning. Rooms need updating.
Location: We did go to a wonderful restaurant called 'The Yachtsman' on the seafront. Would recommend it as a place to eat. Fabulous seafood dishes.
We booked our stay here as a rest and to get away for 2 days. This hotel is based on the isle of wight in Cowes and once there we parked and went to check in. Receptionist was rather 'odd'. Reminded me of 'Sybil' from Fawlty Towers! Anyway we were given our key and went to find our room. Room was standard with en suite bathroom. Decor very dated and tv too. We ended up using our tablet to view on which was almost the same size! Drinks tray was provided with the usual selection of tea/coffees. Bathroom was not very clean with odd looking brown particles on the floor in corners of bathroom. Sink plug was broken too. When we decided to go to bed it was then that we found that the mattress of definitely past its sellby date. Mine had a large dip in and we could both feel the springs. We made a complaint to night manager after trying to sleep up to 1am. He tried turning our ,mattress round then gave us duvets to cover it with. This made it tolerable to sleep on. However the next day we were very tired indeed.The General Manager approached us the next day to apologise but did not agree with us regarding the mattress being uncomfortable. Said this was their first complain ever - this did annoy me slightly as I then said 'well there is always a first time'. He agreed to try and replace the mattresses and give us 4 duvets to put on top. He also agreed to give us a refund off half of our 1st nights sleep. But we just wanted to have a decent mattress. He tried very hard to make amends.
4 out of 5
by Karen

Lovely hotel with a great view

Posted Mar 11, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent restaurant - evening meal was wonderful.
5 out of 5
by Gilli

Lovely stay in cowes

Posted Jan 11, 2017 on Hotels
Went for a family memorial service in cowes. Hotel was in the perfect spot for us and the staff were so kind and friendly. Dinner and breakfast were lovely. Room was gorgeous and very comfy. Lovely views from the hotel of the Solent. Would recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 8, 2017
I was attending a Memorial Service ar Hoy Trinity Church. The hotel was just a short walk. I was very happy with the hotel and service provided