Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Co Durham,

Warm, welcoming, very friendly B&B/ Guesthouse

Posted Sep 14, 2015
Pros: Friendly, welcoming, very clean, close to Shanklin old village, the Chine and Shanklin beach
Location: close to Shanklin old village, the Chine and Shanklin beach
We've just returned from a lovely holiday on the Isle of Wight where we stayed at The Heatherleigh, which is a wonderfully friendly, comfortable, ideally situated guesthouse just 8 minutes walk from Shanklin Old Village and a 5 minute stroll from the lovely beach and seafront at Shanklin. The hosts, Mary, Kim and Cam..... and their fabulously friendly dog, Daisy May, were the loveliest, most helpful and welcoming hosts you could hope for in a guesthouse. Nothing was too much trouble for them, they were full of enthusiasm and information on places to visit and things to do and see. The breakfasts were delicious and plentiful, with lots of choices and many offerings of extras or top-ups! The rooms were beautifully clean and spacious with linen/towel changes every couple of days. They all took great delight in chatting to their guests and making us all feel extremely "at home", making us all able to chat together within minutes of meeting up over breakfast, which was usually a relaxed and drawn out meal, rather than a hastily "eat and be gone" one. I would (and have done) recommend this delightful B & B, and encourage anybody to book there for a lovely relaxing break on this charming Isle!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Pros: closeness to the beach
Nice friendly owners - good closeness to beach and high street
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Robert from Milton Keynes

Old fashioned B&B

Posted Aug 23, 2015 on Hotels
Really good breakfast and friendly staff at the hotel. The room was quite small and very old fashioned decor. Shower is tiny but good water pressure and heating. Very typical old style English B&B. Good for a one night stay but wouldn't be suitable for much longer
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A nice B&B close to the beach

Posted Jul 22, 2015
Pros: Beach two minutes walk from hotel and bus station was also nearby.
Cons: The springs in the mattress were low on one side of the bed.
Location: In a quiet location with two beaches behind. Not much to do in the town itself but it does have all essential shops.
I stayed from last Monday to Saturday. A wonderful experience. Mary and Kim were both very welcoming from the word go and were more than happy to assist me with anything I needed. It felt like home from home and if I were to visit Isle of Wight in the future, I would definitely stay round again. Plus it was a treat seeing the dog after my breakfast each morning :-)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

B&B in good location on Isle of Wight

Posted May 8, 2015 on Hotels
Friendly and quiet B&B in Shanklin. Good accommodation and breakfast. Not a great choice for eating out in the town, but good location for exploring the west of the Isle of Wight. Booked for 2 nights but could only stay for one but no flexibility in reducing payment.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Excellent stay on weekend, very friendly staff, delicious breakfast
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Stay away from this B & B

Posted Feb 18, 2015 on Hotels
The heating was off after 11pm at night.The lady who owned the B & B was very rude because I asked her why the heating would not be on all night. She kept saying that we paid cheap money to stay in her B & B. I do not think paying 60£ per night in Shanklin in off season month like February is not cheap.We woke up to a very cold room. The room and the shower room did not look anything like the pictures on Hotels.com. The shower was dirty with hair everywhere. I dont think it was cleaned before we went to stay there. I would not recommend this B & B to anyone. I think Hotels.com should do their due diligence about the facilities before they are listed in the website.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Evesham

Nice hotel exactly as described

Posted Feb 10, 2015
Pros: Very friendly staff - very well looked after
Quite cold when we were there but the heating was put on immediately - nothing was to much trouble. Really enjoyed our stay - would definitely recommend
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Lesley from Hampshire

Very friendly people

Posted Nov 11, 2014 on Hotels
The owners were very friendly and welcoming when we arrived on a rainy and windy November evening, having got wet on our walk during the afternoon. The rooms were lovely and warm and cosy and we easily managed to get our wet clothes dry. They recommended a great pub for us to eat that evening. The breakfast menu was excellent, with plenty of choice, and the quality of the food was good. I would certainly recommend this B & B.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 3, 2014 on Hotels