Ratings based on 79 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice

Posted Mar 1, 2017
Nice clean hotel, good location,, room was very cold though even with heater on full blast. Paid extra for four poster bed, got the cheapest rickety looking thing ever. Breakfast was very nice. Couldn't get other the half spa treatments as it was fully booked, it was the only reason I booked that hotel in the first place so check if anything available before booking if your planning on using the spa.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 10, 2017 by Hotel management team, Hotel Management
thank you for leaving a review for us. I'm glad that you appear to have enjoyed your stay with us, despite a few issues. The spa is often very busy and it is sound advice for other prospective guests to check spa availibility before booking a room if treatments are a priority. I hope you will consider a return visit.
2 out of 5
by Patrick

Isle of Fright

Posted Feb 17, 2017 on Hotels
Disappointing. All of the communal areas of this hotel had been recently carpeted and decorated to a good standard and were consistent with the 47 pictures that advertise the Melville. However, when I entered my room on the second floor it was like going into a different cheap and shabby hotel. Poor décor, faded curtains that were too small for the window, peeling wall paper in the bathroom, old TV and DVB box that many people probably wouldn't have been able to operate, cheap uncomfortable bed. Not one piece of furniture I would want in my house and my stuff isn't new. As I travel extensively throughout the UK and Ireland I can only compare to other stays that I make for similar prices. This was toward my preferred upper limit and was the worst room I have experienced in my price range for a long time. Also, the walls are very thin. I could hear peoples normal conversations! In the night it was like the Frogs Chorus with snoring in surround sound. The only saving grace, is I must compliment the person(s) who serviced the room as it was very clean and tidy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 10, 2017
Thank you for your comments. The hotel is in the midst of a refurbishment programme. As it is impractical for us to close the hotel while all the rooms are updated, we are making our way through the rooms gradually. It is possible to request a refurbished room and had we been aware of your disappointment, we may have been able to show you an alternative.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Essex

Close to the station and bus stops, not too far fr

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Pros: Mainly it's situation, but also its facilities
Cons: I think it would have been nice to have the spa open an extra hour, but maybe that happens in the summer.
Location: Ideal to use public transport, if possible try The Taverners in Godshill for a meal. The Ocean Deck on the front was welcoming too. Osbourne House too
Room and public areas clean & tidy, staff friendly and welcoming. Plenty to eat at breakfast, only ate once in the hotel in the evening, which was very good too. Good to come back and have the spa to help you unwind, and to have drink in the bar later on.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 18, 2017 by Melville Hall team, Hotel Management
many thanks for leaving a review for us. It's great to see that you enjoyed your stay and were able to take advantage of the hotel's location to get out and about. We look forward to welcoming you back at the next time you are on the island.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Outdated hotel with very basic facilities

Posted Jan 26, 2017
Pros: The gardens/grounds & location
Cons: EVERYTHING IN THIS HOTEL CAN BE IMPROVED - RENOVATE IT!
Location: Was only here 1 night (thankfully) but It is very close to the town & sea.
Arrived here in Jan 2017 & was expecting a great spa experience. The hotel is set in beautiful grounds, but the inside is so outdated & run down. The hallway that our bedroom was in had no heating at all & it was -3 outside! Our room was stuck in 1980's. The room was so cold we had extra blankets on the bed & slept in our clothes. The small heater in the room was ridiculous & didn't heat the room at all, and went off at night. Was not impressed with the restaurant food - although the staff were great. The indoor spa was shocking! The grout around the pool area & spa was covered in mould. They charge you £5 for a locker key - & half of the lockers didn't even have locks & were rusty! The shower/changing room needed completely updating & was also mouldy. If I paid to go on a spa weekend here I would be extremely disappointed! Do not be fooled by the PR photos. I would rate this hotel a 2.5* - 3* at very best. I would not recommend this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 7, 2017 by Melville Hall Team, Hotel Management
Many thanks for leaving your review. We always welcome feedback even negative. I'm surprised that it escaped your notice that we are currently renovating the hotel. The renovations have started with the public areas which are almost complete. We have now started a complete renovation of the guest rooms. As you can imagine, this does take time to complete. You are correct in your assessment of the hotel, we have a visit england rating of three stars and do not advertise as anything else. We charge a £5 fully refundable deposit for locker keys, but I'm sorry you didn't find the lockers or the spa facilities up to your standard. Comments have been passed on to the relevant departments.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Lovely staff, lovely hotel

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Pros: The friendliness, the location, the spa.
Cons: The room decor, but all that is hand. Wifi but not a problem for me.
I booked last minute and wasn't expecting much for what I paid, what a lovely surprise. I arrived late and went to hunt down the barman who was minding reception as well, a lovely warm welcome and showed me to my room, on the 3rd floor. The room was a little tired but perfectly adequate and plenty of tea and coffee plus hot chocolate, warm with a huge bathroom, I slept very well in my room. The view was over the lovely garden. Breakfast was served in the restaurant which was very nicely done, with a view over the outdoor pool and patio area, breakfast itself far from just adequate was lovely, fresh fruit, cereal, toast and a freshly cooked hot breakfast with quality sausage and bacon. The fact that it was an adult only hotel was a bonus for me as a mother of 4, I used the small but perfectly formed swimming pool and a little time in the jacuzzi. There was a slight smell of paint over the hotel as they are decorating, not a major problem and the work has to be done. Would I stay again, most definitely.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 7, 2017 by Melville Hall Team, Hotel Management
Thanks for your kind words. It's good to see you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice night away

Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
The staff were happy and helpful, would stay again
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable and friendly hotel

Posted Nov 27, 2016 on Hotels
Just a quick overnight stay but staff were very friendly and helpful and breakfast was super.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 7, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stevenage

Pleasant Hotel with easy access to the beach

Posted Sep 2, 2016
Pros: The location and ease of access. Also friendly and helpful staff
Cons: The dinner menu options were limited and not very appealing. This can be expanded
Location: Close to Sandown beach, 10 min leisurely walk
Nice hotel however room much smaller than expected for the price paid. Breakfast was nice, cooked to order. Pools are small however Jacuzzi is a bonus in both the indoor and outdoor pools
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 1, 2016 on Hotels