Ratings based on 61 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from brighton

Easy to access the train station

Posted Jun 18, 2016
Pros: Excellent location and facilities
Cons: Siting of tv in bedroom
Location: Easy to visit other places on the Island and peaceful location
Everything as described ,restaurant offered a good choice catering for meat and vegetarian eaters.. Staff were very helpful in any requests. A very good experience
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from england

Lovely hotel Staff very helpful. Had a great time

Posted Jun 10, 2016
No problems with this hotel enjoyed every minute of our stay. Staff are excellent and so helpfully. Would definitely recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good Hotel, Great Location

Posted May 9, 2016
Lovely staff, only 5 minute walk from the beach and pier
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 7, 2016
Nice hotel shame the outside pool wasn't in use Disappointed room service finished at 20.00 Food was perfect
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Don't book if you have children

Posted Mar 19, 2016
After a 4hour trip with a young child I arrived at the hotel to a packed reception one guest was complaining about the tv not working for days. Reception staff told me it was a adults only hotel but this was not stated on my booking we was tired and wanted lunch , we was put up in there sister hotel but I wanted to stay there as I have before but it seems to have gone downhill and I would not stay again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 14, 2016
Pros: Good location for beach, eating and shopping. Helpful staff
Cons: Decor updating and 2 chairs per double room
Location: Lovely walk along the beach to Shanklin also a cliff top path if you prefer a view. We did both.
Generally pleasing, met expectations. Did not eat dinner thete but breakfast was good.
4 out of 5
by Dr Philip from Witlshire

A night at the Melville Hotel

Posted Dec 13, 2015 on Hotels
One night on business (short stay 9pm till the morning) . Hotel a little understaffed though it was a pretty quiet night. The room was decent, comfortable bed etc... (interesting 1969 IW festival memorablia on the bar walls... worth a look) and the Breakfast (and service) was fantastic, even offered a 7:30 start for that. Well worth the money (at this time of year) and I love supporting smaller IW businesses as it must be so difficult at quiet times of year to be profitable so would say this is a really decent honest IW hotel well worth supporting and I will stay there again. (Didn't try the Spa etc though am sure they are very well worth a visit if you have time... ) PS, Bit tricky to find in the dark if you arrive at that time so worth researching directions in advance as postcode (via sat-nav) does not exactly get you there.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Andover Hants.

Nice budget hotel and the best in the area methink

Posted Nov 30, 2015
Pros: STAFF, FOOD, GOOD SLEEP
Cons: Refurb to modern standards but that is and will be in process.
Location: No time to look
Staff were brilliant. What the hotel lacks the long term staff make up for it. The best sleep I've had for weeks. The food was lovely and full breakfast was cooked to order which in this day and age is unusual!! Only criticism was no shower curtain and water goes everywhere!! Sure! It aint The Burj Al Arab but then irt wasnt Burj prices!! But!! They gotta get that outside pool tiled with blue tiles and not black!!! STRANGE AND BIZZARE thing to do!!!! Inside pool was warm and comfy.
4 out of 5
by Konstantin from London

Relaxing trip

Posted Nov 13, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel is a bit old but in good condition. Spa is great plus and people were very helpful.
4 out of 5
by Laura from Richmond

Wonderful stay

Posted Jun 26, 2015 on Hotels
I had a great stay at the hotel and treatment in the spa. All the staff was friendly and eager to help. The Isle of Wight is a beautiful place to visit. I will definitely be back!