Ratings based on 90 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very good hotel near the town

Posted Feb 6, 2017
The hotel is easy to find, parking is very good and because the hotel is near the centre of town its easy to. leave the car an walk to bars, restaurants etc. The room looked newly decorated and the was spotless, we had room 19 which as on the top floor and has a sea view. We had a very comfortable nights sleep and despite the wedding reception going on down stairs had a very quiet night. Breakfast was well cooked and we felt that that the staff were attentive whilst not being over fussy. Altogether a very good stay and we will be returning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ryde Castle Hotel. Boom. Lol

Posted Dec 19, 2016
What can I say..fogbound cold. But the warm reception, manager Sean.and lovely welcome made up for the winter weather. Breakfast was tops and well presented. The service we received from our waitress loz,couldn't have been any better,and as newcomers and ov Jamaican parentage we could not have felt more welcomed by staff n guests at ryde castle, many thanks to all, we shall definitely visit again in new year, merry Xmas to all. D. London.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from 1

Great location and great staff

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff, good breakfast and right on the seafront
Cons: Rooms a little unclean, while the staff were great sometimes they weren't around
Location: Freshwater bay, Godshill village, tapnell farm and Olivos restaurant for food
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good hotel with parking

Posted Oct 5, 2016 on Hotels
Great hotel with a lovely view. Plenty of parking available. Nice breakfast with a good variety. We also had an excellent dinner in the restaurant. The room and ensuite were both a decent size and the shower was one of the best we hsd in the UK. Staff were friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay again
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

More like a good 3 star hotel

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Nice room but no air conditioning and very hot. Food was over priced and very poor. Staff in restaurants very casual to their approach. Expedia have this as a 5 star hotel. Very far from being 5 star
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poorly run hotel, on a busy junction

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: See above
Location: The Isle of Wight is absolutely gorgeous, lots to do and all within easy reach
Managerial staff need to smarten appearance: jeans, unshaven, generally scruffy, wouldn't be able to pick them out from other staff Bar area: first night one person on duty, bar area dirty & untidy, outside area - rubbish on floor dirty tables, full ashtrays. Next morning- outside area hadn't been tidied the night before, napkins, food on ground full ashtrays dirty tables. In fact this area didn't improve during our stay. On our final morning came downstairs, piled up against dining room door was a takeaway food delivery (obviously from the night before), no one on reception so it stayed there a while In summary- generally scruffy and dirty, uncared for. A more professional approach needed in every aspect.
3 out of 5
by Kayleigh from London

Definitely not 5 stars!

Posted Aug 2, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed here with my niece for the weekend & was let down from what I was expecting. With 5* I would expect 5* service & unfortunately we were left extremely disappointed. No one at check in upon arrival (15min wait). I would of expected help with my bags but no...had to struggle with a heavy case (along with all the lovely stuff a 7 year old brings away) The view I must say was superb & the room was comfortable. Tiniest bottle of shampoo & body wash I've seen (and as a minimum would like to of seen conditioner & shower cap) The shower did break but the staff were quick to fix this. With a 5* hotel I would expect some sort of greeting from staff, however they just walk past you without a second glance. The restaurant staff seemed lovely but completely incompetent. 40min wait for breakfast with the fattest bacon I've ever seen on a plate. Toast completely forgotten about too. No room in the restaurant on the second night & on the last night had to wait 20mins to be seated even though only 3 tables in use. Ordered the roast that night (after trying to order the lamb first, to be told that was the only roast sold out, so tried to order chicken, to then be told...oh no that's sold out too) Roast potatoes were obviously cooked 10hrs before, warmed up in the microwave & completely rank. These things I would of maybe expected in a 3* hotel but not 5...I would expect the best of the best & that is certainly not what we received! For a 3 night stay of £370...I won't be returning!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Could be so much better

Posted Jul 29, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed here for a long weekend to celebrate my husbands birthday. The room we were given was small and very very warm. The windows did not open fully so could not get any breeze into the room. Didn't sleep at all well, because it was so warm we had to have the windows open and all we could hear was the noise from what sounded like the kitchen extractor fans all night. We decided on the first night to eat at the hotel. Never again. On trying to order I was told that everything we wanted was off as they had been busy that day. Ended up ordering steaks, couldn't both have the same cut of meat though as there were not enough. Ordered one steak medium rare, it was medium well at the very least, the other steak was ordered as medium and it was well done. Breakfast was really lovely on the first morning once the waitresses appeared from their hiding place, we waited about 15 minutes for them to arrive. The second morning the full english was missing items and was swimming in fat. The waitress, though very nice and helpful, was forgetful and missing for most of the time we were in the restaurant. This was not a problem for me as I had a pot of tea but because the coffee drinkers are not given individual pots they have to ask the waitress for refills. A couple of final points that would have made a difference, there was no safe in the room and no bottle of water. Whilst minor these are standard in most five star hotels.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Old English Inn in Ryde

Posted Jul 2, 2016
Pros: The location and adequate and easy parking
Cons: Public areas need some attention
Location: 5 minutes walk into Ryde. Loads of restaurants, bars and shops. Good base for seeing the rest of the Island
Hotel is located on the Esplanade overlooking the sea. It is a 5 minute walk into Ryde which has many good restaurants and bars. Hotel room was good and appeared to have been recently refurbished. Public areas of the hotel were ok but needed some attention in the near future. Reception was very good. Bar staff were not friendly and seemed upset about something. Breakfast was excellent with friendly efficient service. We would go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel on the Beach

Posted Jun 8, 2016
Pros: Location, friendly staff, clean room and quiet.
Cons: More staff in the pub and better food selection.
The hotel is in an excellent location right off the sandy beaches. On low tide it was a pleasure to walk on the hard sand and leisurely stroll the beach. Staff were friendly and the breakfast was good. The pub was understaffed so it was difficult to get a drink. The restaurant had run out of most items by 7:00 PM and the fare offered was less than desirable. The elevator was out of order which would obviously be a problem for a disabled person