Ratings based on 143 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by Alan from bristol

excellent place to stay for a short break

Posted Aug 26, 2016 on Hotels
very clean, well furnished, good location and superb breakfast
5 out of 5
by Andreas from Kingston

Best B&B ever

Posted Aug 9, 2016 on Hotels
We were delighted to find this B&B. Jacky and Bill welcomed us to their accommodation and made us feel special. Upon arrival we were offered tea and coffee and given some discount vouchers for restaurants and attractions. The room was clean and tidy. The shared lounge and breakfast rooms were also top. The owners definitely look after their guesthouse and spend time and money on the upkeep and appearance. When my partner didn't find anything he wanted for Breakfast, they even organised some Salami and Cheese just for us. I can recommend this place to everyone without hesitation, there was not a single negative or even neutral thing to say.
5 out of 5
by David from York

Great place in the heart of the old village.

Posted Aug 8, 2016 on Hotels
A lovely hotel, clean, friendry, great breakfast. Faultless, great value for money.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Great B&B

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Pros: We liked everything about this place
Location: Very conveniently situated to reach places of interest on the Isle of Wight
Very comfortable B&B. The owners are lovely and really helpful. Close to Old Shanklin so very convenient position. Our bed was very comfortable so we slept well and then enjoyed a breakfast freshly cooked and as good and varied as any top hotel
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 5, 2016
Lovely Guest House with lovely hoteliers! They are always happy to help and we had a really great stay at their guest house. Thanks for that!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 25, 2016 on Hotels
great price, great breakfast, really lovely room
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kent

Great Location

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Pros: The friendliness, cleanliness and comfort
Cons: Can't think of anything
Location: At least 16 local restaurants within walking distance. Local Theatre close by with regular entertainment Lots of walking opportunity if you want to.
We arrived early (around 12.30) with booking in time being 3pm. We asked whether we could leave the car in a parking space and would browse around Shanklin until time to book in. Jackie said our room was ready and was happy to book us in now and show us to our room. This was very helpful as was the help with vouchers and info regarding the Island's attractions. Throughout our stay there was nothing too much trouble. Everywhere was very clean and our room was spacious. The shower was great with good water flow, lovely for those aches and pains after all the walking!. If you are looking for a clean, friendly bed and breakfast close to amenities and with numerous restaurants within walking distance then don't hesitate to book a room at The Birkdale Hotel. Bill and Jackie were great hosts and our breakfasts certainly set us up for the day ahead.
5 out of 5
by mark from coventry

recomended

Posted Jul 10, 2016 on Hotels
the Birkdale was a pleasure to stay in , room was extremely clean, the hosts were friendly and couldn't do enough for you whilst at the same time respecting your privacy, the breakfasts were first class. The location was great. We will definitely be returning again.
5 out of 5
by Robert

Very friendly

Posted Jun 15, 2016 on Hotels
Very friendly owners. A nice clean room and good value.
5 out of 5
by Philip

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 2, 2016 on Hotels