Ratings based on 67 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Yorkshire

Not a pleasant experience

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Pros: The fridge was a useful and thoughtful edition. Room was nicely decorated
Cons: Scruffy external appearance + see review
Location: Sandown has one of the best beaches however it feels run down and neglected. Lots of great events on the Island but Sandown is losing out
Greeted by the owner who was wearing tracksuit bottoms and dirty tee shirt which did not give a very good first impression. Booked ground floor room as I find stairs difficult. Room was up 2 flights. Told bed in gf room was broken but they would change it. I told him we would manage. He said the exercise would do me good, which I felt was inappropriate Room small and cramped but clean and fridge was useful. Told they no longer provided a cooked breakfast and we said continental was OK. Except it was not. Croissants were stale, undercooked and cold. Muesli also tasted stale. Whilst bringing a jug of milk owner accidentally spilt it over the breakfast table. He tried to be friendly and talked all through the meal. Some privacy would have been nice. We had been told the room would be cleaned daily and towels would be replaced if we left the used ones in the shower tray. Returning to our room at 3.30pm the wet towels were as we left them and had not been replaced. Also room had not been refreshed at all. I debated a confrontation with the owner but just did not have the stamina to address these issues head on. We had booked and paid for two nights but in the end cut our losses and went to The Stag Inn in Newport for our second night, which was superb. I am bewildered that our experience is so far removed from the rating given by other people. We had relied on that rating to book this hotel in the first place. Seems to be a very different story out of season.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 10, 2016 on Hotels
Hosts were very welcoming, room was amazing and best breakfast on the island for sure. Highly recommended
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portsmouth

Excellent stay in Sandown

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Location: We took a bus to Osborn House in Cowes and had a great day. Could have done with more seating around the estate for weary legs!
Had 2 day stay at The Westfield after being let down by another hotel! Very glad that we did as had a lovely stay with an excellent freshly cooked breakfast. Clean and comfortable en suite room with tea/coffee making facilities. Fresh milk in fridge and bottled water was a nice touch plus complimentary sweet and savoury biscuits. Games room is available if you want something to do in evening (we were worn out after a lot of walking during the day)! Close to Sandown station and 5/10min walk to beach. Would definitely stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

5 minute walk from the station

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Received a very warm welcome from the owner. Delighted that the room had a small fridge in the wardrobe (no noise from it) and a well stocked hospitality tray with as many biscuits as you require. If you want more you only have to ask. They serve an excellent breakfast but not until 8.30am (that's where the biscuits come in handy if you're an early riser like me!) Would definitely stay again.
3 out of 5
by Ray from Gosport

B&B Stay

Posted Aug 20, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel was ok for a B&B, breakfast was good although sometimes you like to be left to get on and eat it. Location is quiet but close to all amenities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Happy to stay again

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Hotel room was nice, clean, quiet and comfortable and the owner is very friendly. Also the Breakfast was very nice with full English breakfast, berries&yougurt and more. Sandown beach was walking distance from the hotel. Highly recommended.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Friendly hotel.

Posted Jul 2, 2016
The hosts were welcoming and created a friendly atmosphere at breakfast each day. The cooked breakfast was done exactly as people requested.
5 out of 5
by Mate

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 15, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lincoln

Nice hotel within walking distance to all amenitie

Posted Apr 21, 2016
Pros: The cleanness and the welcome
Location: Very near the High Street the beach and a lovely local pub called The Castle
Very nice friendly family who run the hotel We were made very welcome The breakfast was amazing We would recommend the hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North of England

Good stay

Posted Sep 16, 2015
Pros: No noise from traffic or people walking past. Help with where to eat and what to do.
Cons: Creaky floorboards.
Location: Shanklin is a good base for exploring the island. Don't forget the donkey sanctuary near Wooton - great place.
Welcoming and attentive hosts. Handy position for car drivers on the main road to Shanklin and Ryde. On the other hand, I did four days entirely by bus round the island and the service was excellent. Just a five minute walk to the bus stops. The proprietor had kindly put breakfast out for me on the final day when I had a very early start - nice touch.