Ratings based on 46 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by Denc from Ireland

Not a hotel, not even 1* Avoid .

Posted Jun 21, 2014 on Hotels
This property is very neglected and run down. It's grounds are in need of maintenance, it's rooms are spacious, with dated bathrooms, and old furniture. I can not agree with other reviewers. It has a swimming pool, but unless your young and fit you will not access it. It too was dirty. There are two flights of very steep stone steps to get there. There is no shade or umbrellas supplied. It is the most unkept "hotel" I have ever seen. Mosquitos were everywhere in the rooms. We were very uncomfortable, so much so we checked out. Not as described, we Paid to leave! we saw no other tourists, as the hotel was full of armed police personnel , who were working at a nearby emigration centre, some of whom we spotted wandering about the grounds in civilian clothes with guns clipped to their belts. We could have been in an army camp. This "hotel" was the most expensive hotel of our whole trip, and it was a complete disappointment. We booked on the strength of reviews on here and on popular review sites, but we're not provided with what we thought we booked. This place in reality, is nothing like what the description says, on this booking engine and others. Waste of money and two days of our holidays trying to find something else. Whatever you do, avoid paying up front for your accommodation, as if we had done so in this instance, we would have been very out of pocket.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

A wonderful stay

Posted Aug 21, 2013
This delightful tastefully restored 19th century Villa hotel is only minutes away from the charming Ispica, and makes a convenient base for exploring the nearby Ragusa Ibla, Syracusa, Noto and Modica - all worth a visit. The hotel has a beautiful outlook and is multi-tiered; adding to the character, with stone arches, cactus plants, and relaxing areas to enjoy and let the children play. Our room was simply furnished, spacious and clean. We ate dinner at the hotel twice and enjoyed tasty fresh swordfish pasta and king prawns amongst other lovely dishes, prepared by the hard-working, smiling chef! The staff are willing to adapt the menu to the tastes of your children as well when needed! On the first morning of our stay we were treated to a horse and cart ride from the hotel into Ispica, much to the delight of our children and the amusement of the local residents! A great start to our week! The service given by the staff was second to none and helped to make our stay even more memorable. The hotel manager Massimo is mentioned in many of the reviews for good reason. Warm-hearted and generous-spirited with a great sense of humour; nothing was too much trouble for him, including spending a morning at the hospital with our ill daughter. Equally friendly and helpful were Michael and Sara. All of them were great with the children! My son summed up this hotel in the Visitors book, writing "This is the kindest and friendliest hotel I have ever been to! it's like one big family!"
5 out of 5
by Fabrizio Maccallini from Copenhagen - Denmark

Charming arrival in Sicily

Posted Jun 10, 2013 on Hotels
The hotel manager, Massimo, was extremely warm in welcomig us, the staying in the mansion was very relaxing and the brakfast great. Ispica downtown offered an amazingly refined and innovative restaurant, "Il Mercato", that surprsingly is not on the Michelin guide.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel

Posted May 25, 2012 on Hotels
Some of the previous guest reviews have said it was difficult to locate the hotel. My gps could not find the address. I googled the hotel name to find their site which gave pretty exact directions which I was able to use to program my gps using the location on map feature. This worked perfectly and we were easily able to locate it. In addition they now have a sign off the main road to help you find it. The location is a bit remote and we had difficulty finding a place to eat dinner but the hotel is fabulous and the views are terrific. The rooms were very unique and very nicely decorated.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Malta Europe

Villa Principe di Belmonte - Ispica Sicily

Posted Mar 22, 2011 on Hotels
Over all this hotel was a very different to all the others that we have been to , as it is a unique stay. The people working at this place are Very friendly and extremely generous. They make you feel Very wellcome. One thing that we found Very difficult was to find the location as the GPS could not locate the right place. The address must be changed or arranged as the one on the site is not accurate. Maybe it would be vital that signes are placed on the streets in the neighbourhood. This is a place that we will surely visit again as the tranquility and views are to die for!.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from napoli

posizione strategica nel ragusano

Posted Aug 17, 2008 on Hotels
albergo di medio livello, in buona posizione e con buona colazione, peccato che contestualmente si svolgano anche dei matrimoni
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from palermo

Strepitosa villa antica con vista

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: La gentilezza del personale e soprattutto dei proprietari; la bella villa ristrutturata con gusto
Location: A poca distanza da Ispica, paese pieno di tesori, e dal meraviglioso mare di Santa Maria del Focallo
Week end con impegni familiari e bagni a mare. Siamo arrivati il venerdì e ripartiti il sabato. Abbiamo scoperto un territorio ricco di cultura e di natura
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disavventura!

Posted Jul 31, 2016 on Hotels
Avevo prenotato per 2 notti e all'arrivo in botel mi e stato detto che non aveano ne camere disponibili e neanche la prenotazione, ho mostrato la conferma della prenotazione stampata e solo allora mi hanno dato 1 camera solo per una notte,siamo stati costretti ad andare a cercare un'altro hotel , e visto il periodo nn è stato semplice. Deludente e poco professionali. Per non parlare della musica fino alle 3 del mattino Lo sconsiglio.
4 out of 5
by Giuseppe from Busto Arsizio

Posted Mar 30, 2016 on Hotels
Molto cordiale l'accoglienza e la disponibilità di tutto il personale. Ottima la posizione: in zona panoramica, fuori dalla città ma,se si ha la disponibilità di un'auto, si possono raggiungere facilmente tutti i luoghi di interesse del barocco siciliano.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

un penitenziario

Posted Aug 30, 2015
Pros: NIENTE
Cons: TUTTO,forse saremo stati sfortunati noi nella camera,chissa'?
Location: Solo la vista merita
Appena arrivati non abbiamo potuto parcheggiare perche' un cellulare della Polizia ostruiva l'entrata.Dopo avere aspettato che la signorina della reception salutasse gli amici della Polizia abbiamo lasciato lasciato le valigie e ci siamo recati in spiaggia mentre dovevano prepararci la stanza. Questa era situata dietro al complesso principale ,tipo camere a schiera,piena di umidità,armadio inutilizzabile per l'odore di chiuso,sono andato in bagno e nel riaprire la porta la maniglia mi si e' staccata in mano,per cui ho dovuto chiamare mia moglie per farmi uscire.Ad un certo punto volevo chiamare la reception col telefono della camera, ma era staccato senza linea.Fuori dall'ingresso della camera una sedia di paglia sporca faceva da complemento e come panorama il tetto dell'hotel con 2 materassi abbandonati.Siamo usciti a cena e al ns ritorno nel parcheggio oltre al cellulare altre 2 auto della Polizia e una della Finanza,forse c'era una convention?MI sembrava di essere in caserma.Non ho chiuso occhio tutta la notte per il rumore del frigorigero in camera,che conteneva ben 2 bottigliette di acqua minerale,alla faccia del 4 stelle.Alle 7,30 del mattino successivo degli operai hanno iniziato dei lavori di ristrutturazione sul tetto e a quel punto abbiamo deciso di andarcene.