Ratings based on 535 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Great walkable location.

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Wonderful roof top panoramic views of city. I stayed in a larger delux room with sweeping views on the fourth floor. Breakfast was very good. Good happy hour spot. Not a Hyatt, but the price and location make up for that. Staff very helpful and can book tours.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa Canada

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Pros: Location/breakfast/rooftop view/staff
Room clean/staff great/breakfast excellent/rooftop view spectacular/location fantastic
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sheffield, England

Very good hotel in perfect position for sites

Posted Sep 22, 2016
The Adamar is in the best position to visit the Ayasofya, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace, Basilica cistern. All very interesting and not to be missed. It is in the old town so very busy with lots of restaurants and tourist shops. Although the food in the Adamar restaurant is not remarkable and is quite expensive, it is more than made up for with the view in the evening. It is absolutely unforgetable. The best rooms are the deluxe rooms on the 5th floor. They are a much better size and have marvellous views and are quieter so if you can stretch to it I would recommend them. The staff are very helpful. If we come to Istanbul again we would choose the Adamar.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Literally a life saver!!

Posted Jul 23, 2016
My family stayed at the Adamar during the military coup attempt. We needed to catch a flight and cruise leaving from Athens. The front desk helped me all night to try to get me a flight out. The following morning all the staff were present to serve us breakfast and did the utmost to present an air of calm. This is while that night we heard gun fire, fighter aircraft and tanks. They managed to arrange transport to the airport and we miraculously got out. When this region stabilizes, if you want to stay at an intimate, small boutique hotel. This is the place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from McAllen, Texas

Nice hotel, excellent location

Posted Jun 23, 2016
Pros: I liked the location and the staff.
Cons: Can't think of anything at the moment.
Location: The hotel is in the Sultanahmet area near the Hagia Sofia, the Blue Mosque, and the Grand Bazaar.
I enjoyed staying in this hotel! The staff was very helpful and courteous. The hotel is in a very good location near the Hagia Sophia. They offer free breakfast with a great view of the city! The room was small, but comfortable, and had a good air conditioner.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, Canada

Posted Apr 6, 2016
The hotel is very clean, the staff is very friendly and the location is perfect. The view from the roof was amazing
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Excellent hotel - gorgeous view and superb staff!

Posted Nov 22, 2015
Adamar hotel is close to the Hagia Sophia and Blue Mosque and offers a breathtaking view from the rooftop restaurant. Staff is friendly and airport shuttle was convenient and decently priced. Would highly recommend it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Redhill, Surrey, UK

Good little hotel close to the main attractions

Posted Sep 28, 2015
Pros: The staff. The location. The view from the restaurant on the roof.
Cons: The room was very small. The air conditioning didn't work - in the end we abandoned it and opened both windows instead.
Location: This hotel is excellently situated - one block from Hagia Sophia and the Basilica Cisterns.
We have a fabulous two night stay in Istanbul. Our hotel was one block from Hagia Sophia, so excellently situated. On the first day, we sailed up the Bosphorous almost to the Black Sea on the local ferry (TL25 rather than 30 euros with a tour company. On the second day, we did a walking tour of the main sights with Ali from Daily Instanbul Tours - it was absolutely excellent in every way and to be recommended for a first visit to Istanbul. One of the world's most beautiful cities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 21, 2015
We chose this hotel for price and location and were not disappointed. Whilst they have tried to jazz up the décor it is still an old hotel with bedrooms a bit tired and small. Roof top breakfast area and restaurant have magic views over the city and well worth staying at the Adamar just for that. I would stay here again and have no hesitation in recommending it to others provided their expectations are realistic.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cairo

Nice hotel right in the heart of Sultanahmet

Posted Aug 29, 2015
Pros: Room cleanliness, beautiful views from rooftop restaurant, very courteous staff, wifi worked well, tons of choice on cable tv, good breakfast
Cons: Rooms are not particularly large and this is a well-kept, but older hotel.
Location: It's near just about anything worth seeing in Sultanahmet - and that's a heck of lot - and no more than 30 minutes walk to Galata Bridge/waterfront
The Ademar is blocks from just about anyplace you would want to visit in Sultanahmet. It's just down the street from the cisterns, Aya Sofya, the Blue Mosque, and a ten-minute walk to the Grand Bazaar or Topkapi Palace. You are surrounded by tens if not hundreds of restaurants and shops and the tram line stop is also no more than ten minutes walk. Beautiful rooftop view of the city and Bosphorus from the restaurant on top of the hotel. Staff were very pleasant.