Ratings based on 93 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

cheap but not so cheerful

Posted Jan 6, 2017
Pros: Location Semi friendly staff
Cons: Cleanliness
Location: Hagia Sophia Blue Mosque Shops Places to eat Tram statsion
We booked this placing after reading the reviews online. We have stayed at other budget hotels in the past and had really positive experiences. This place was not so great. The location was the best thing about this place. Minutes away from the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia and lots of shops. When we arrived the place has changed its name and confused our taxi driver about where to drop us. The place is quite old and worn out. The pictures online were very deceiving of what the hotel actually looks like. The rooms were very small and grotty. The walls of the rooms were really thin so you could hear people all night. The people in the room next door were smoking and we could smell the smoke in our room. The hotel is called a boutique hotel but I would say its far from that. The breakfast was cold every morning as there no heated trays for the food. The Turkish breakfast was very basic. We were really looking forward to the infamous Turkish breakfast. We ended up eating breakfast outside of the hotel most days. I think this place may have been nicer when it first open but I wouldn't say it is anymore. Having been to Istanbul before I think you can get other budget hotels that are of a much better standard and quality and I would not stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 1, 2015
great location, clean, has everything you need to stay 2-3 days.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tbilisi, Georgia

Stay in February

Posted Feb 28, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: I'd like the hotel to improve breakfast buffee
Pros: location, in the very center, two minutes walk from Sultanakhmet station. Cons: Not well aerated rooms, especially on the first floor, short beds, monotone assortment of the breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice little hotel, great location

Posted Nov 6, 2014
Great location, walking distance to the main historical attractions and many restaurants
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire

Great location for exploring Sultanahmet.

Posted Oct 9, 2014
Pros: Location to everything in the old town, transport links, value for money, free tea and coffee, free Wifi in rooms.
Location: It took a few minutes to walk to the Grand Bazaar, the Blue Mosque, Sophia Haggia Mosque, Topkapi Palace and Basillica Cistern.
This hotel was satisfactory for everything my friend and I required during our stay. 5minute walk to the main sights in the old town, close to many nice restaurants and bars, quiet as on a side street, great rooftop view, plentiful breakfast choice and very central for heading out in different directions for other sights. Staff were helpful - Shine - the evening receptionist was friendly and offered some great advice. Only negative was that taxi drivers could not find it. I suggest arranging transport in advance from the airport. We thoroughly enjoyed our time in Istanbul but certainly preferred Sultanahmet to the newer side (Taksim, Beyoglu). We are 2 Western girls and felt more at ease during the evening in the old (touristy) part of the city. It was very beautiful but be prepared for queue's at the major sights. Take a boat trip on the Bosphorous - I bartered a 2 hour journey for 10TL each. Well worth it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Australia

Excellent position in Sultanate.

Posted Sep 28, 2014
Pros: The style of hotel is definitely kitschy... I loved it.
Cons: I this k the style of the hotel means it is tiny but its very charming.
Location: Blue mosque, grand bazaar, lots of restaurants and shops.
A gorgeous little boutique hotel right in the eating and shopping district. Very small rooms, but comfortable, clean and functional. Staff were excellent.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Leeds

Avoid

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Demolition and rebuild.
Location: Plenty to do and see nearby.
Dingy room. Terrible plumbing. Only just enough room to get around the bed. Poor breakfast, not domestic toaster for all who wanted toast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne Australia

Perfect positioned for sightseeing

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pros: Clean, quiet,helpful staff
Location: Central for sightseeing like the blue mosque, Haji Sofia, Topakapi palace, close to no. of good eating place
Right in the city center, nice and quiet, very comfortable, friendly staff, felt like home away from home, will definitely go again and recommend to all, walking distance to all sightseeing places
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rockville

Nice hotel in a prime location

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: Clean, nice decor, comfortable bed, central A/C (very quiet). Helpful and friendly staff, good food.
Cons: A functioning light bulb over the sink would be very useful. Also, at least 1 towel ring for the hand towel near the sink is a must.
Location: The hotel is located very close to both Hagia Sofia and the Blue Mosque (5 min walk), nice restaurants and a Hafiz Mustafa cafe is nearby as well.
This was the second time we stayed at the Alaaddin hotel.The location is superb, the hotel itself nice and clean, and staff very friendly and helpful. The rooms are rather small, so if you pack more than 1 suitcase for your trip, look for something else. The only downside was the absense of a light bulb in the bathroom above the sink. The overhead light was quite dim, and it was difficult for my husband to shave (and impossible for me to apply makeup). We asked to put the lightbulb in, but for some reason it was never done. The breakfasts were simple but good -- cheese, tomatoes, olives and pastries. Very pleasant experience overall. We'll be back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and friendly staff

Posted Jun 4, 2014
Pros: Location
The room is small but adequate and clean. Friendly staff and great location.