Ratings based on 147 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

not the best choice for female business travelers

Posted Apr 6, 2016 on Hotels
On this site, the hotel claims that the price for roundtrip transportation to Ataturk Airport is 35 EUR. After booking, I contacted the hotel by email to make arrangements, I did not receive a response. I made contact a second time by phone and was told that the roundtrip price was 70 EUR. I was disappointed by the dramatic price difference, but was told that nothing could be done because the price was pre-arranged with the transportation company. I would have appreciated some small gesture as an apology for the mistake. The overnight porter couldn't understand why a woman was traveling alone and asked me many questions. I'm certain that he meant no harm, but it was clear that my presence was strange in this hotel and I felt safer with my door bolted at night. There was a mix-up with my key card and it took several attempts on three different floors to find my room. The TV did not work and when I asked the overnight receptionist to have a look at it, he just told me to remind him later. After a long day, I called him again to order room service, but he informed me that I would need to go up to the restaurant on the terrace to place my order... not really room service. I would not recommend this hotel, particularly for female business travelers. Though the afternoon receptionist was very helpful (made very specific last-minute travel arrangements for myself and some clients), he was the only one who made an effort to make me feel more comfortable during my stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Uk

Perfect for visiting Istanbul

Posted Dec 16, 2015
Although not in the trettiest part of town, its huge rooms, and closeness to everything are great, as is the enourmous selection of breakfast goods.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 3, 2016 by Doroteya Gözüşirin, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for your comment. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Looking forward to have you here again. Sincerely, Doroteya Gözüşirin Sales & Reservations Department Best Western Amber Hotel
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice place to stay

Posted Dec 2, 2015 on Hotels
This was the first to stay at Best Western Amber and definitely it will be my future stay when I visit Istanbul. Everything about the hotel is great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 2, 2016 by Neda Shahsevan, Hotel Management
Dear Happy Guest. :) Thank you for giving us a perfect rating and for recommending our hotel to other travelers. I'm looking forward to having you again as a guest in our hotel. Best regards and wishes from the whole team of Hotel Amber! Sincerely, Doroteya Gözüşirin Sales & Reservations Department Best Western Amber Hotel
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 18, 2015
Staff in hotel make to much noise in night time , they woke me up twice around 3 and 5 in mirning, room was smal but clen.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 3, 2016 by Doroteya Gözüşirin, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, I am sorry for the problems with the noise you have had. We hope that the next time you visit the city you give us another chance to make your stay impeccable. Sincerely, Doroteya Gözüşirin Sales & Reservations Department Best Western Amber Hotel
1 out of 5
by Engin from London

Very noisy hotel.

Posted Oct 2, 2015 on Hotels
To some up briefly, the hotel was very noisy - we had noise coming from reception, communal areas, other rooms until 3am which is completely unacceptable. Worse night of sleep we've ever had in any hotel. Bathroom had a leak. Every time you used the shower, the bathroom floor would flood creating a hazard as well as a major inconvenience. This problem is unlikely to be new since the wooden floor in front bathroom has lifted up. Staff were not particularly friendly or accommodating even with simple procedures like checking in and out.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 2, 2016 by Neda Shahsevan, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, I am are sorry to hear that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. Your feedback is greatly valued, as it is one of the best ways for us to understand how we can enhance your guest experience in the future. We hope that the next time you visit the city you give us another chance to make your stay impeccable. Sincerely, Doroteya Gözüşirin Sales & Reservations Department Best Western Amber Hotel
1 out of 5
by Engin from London

Worst night of sleep!!

Posted Sep 27, 2015 on Hotels
We were advised by the manager on arrival that our room had been given to someone else and that we were to now stay in Best Western Empire Palace instead. We explained to him that we booked the Ambler hotel for its proximity to the Yeni Kapi Ferry Port as we had to catch a ferry at 7am the next morning. He responded by shrugging his shoulders, saying there was nothing else he could do. So we waited in the lounge for 1 hour for their transfer car. The hotel use a taxi driver that charges them slightly less for the journey so made us wait for this guy rather than call us a taxi that would come immediately. At the other hotel we noticed the bathroom had a leak so the floors were completely wet. There is no sound insulation in this hotel. We could hear the reception talking on the phone very loudly to a friend until 3am and general noise seemed to be coming from all directions. It was without doubt the worst night of sleep we've ever had and we were a complete mess the next day. We were promised a pre-packed breakfast as we had to check out earlier than we would have if we wasn't forced to change hotels but this never happened. In fact, the receptionist was very rude when we asked if our breakfast had been pre-packed and said that there would be nothing for at least another hour. When I noticed some buns had just been delivered I asked if I could take some but he sighed and said we could only take one each. So we paid for a room with breakfast but only got to take a bun.
1 out of 5
by Mohamed T.

NOT a 4 Stars

Posted Jun 25, 2015 on Ebookers
This is definitely NOT a 4 Stars hotel. I wonder how the Turkish authorities rank hotels in Istanbul !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Great Place!

Posted May 19, 2015
Pros: Great location!
Location: The location is really close to the tram and the grand bazaar. You can walk to all the main tourist sites. Beware that it is at the bottom of a hill.
This hotel is well looked after. My room was spacious and clean with lots of windows and a great layout. Staff were very helpful and the rooftop deck for breakfast has great views! It is close to all the main tourist attractions and everything is walkable. It is down the hill from the tram and the grand bazaar (if you have trouble with hills, you can take a taxi or select another hotel as it is a long hill but totally walkable for those without mobility issues).
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2015 by Neda Shahsevan, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review of our hotel. I will be sure to pass along to our staff your kind words about your experience with us. We look forward to having you back at the hotel in the near future. Regards, Neda Shahsevan, Guest Relation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from birmingham, al

nice view and clean room!

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Pros: staff, location, clean room etc.
Cons: tobacco smell in the lobby
Location: grand bazar
i recommend this hotel for people who visit istanbul. nice hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 17, 2015 by Neda, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thanks alot for yout review. We are so happy that our service could made you happy, Looking forward to have you here again. Best Regards, Neda Shahsevan, Guest relation Managet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from California

Cozy Hotel for couples

Posted Feb 3, 2015
Pros: Close to Grand Bazaar and Blue Mosque
Cons: Can not think of any major improvements
Location: Good place if you are looking for shoes, bags leather items
A cozy hotel near Grand bazaar and Blue Mosque. The walk way to and from Hotel may be tiring. The hotel offers OK breakfast but lacks vegetarian item. We preferred this hotel for economic and tourist reasons.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2015 by Neda Shahsevan, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Our staff takes pride in delivering the best service to our guests. We hope to have you back at the hotel in the near future. Sincerely, Neda Shahsevan, Guest Relation.