Ratings based on 333 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Jonathan from London

Good choice in Sultanahmet

Posted Oct 5, 2015 on Hotels
A good location, five minutes' walk to the Hippodrome and not much longer to all the main sights in Sultanahmet. Arena is a small, family-run hotel with friendly and very helpful management and staff. My corner room,103, was reasonably sized but not exceptional. The only drawback was street noise. The room rate includes a buffet breakfast and free wi-fi. There was a number of cafes and restaurants close by.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Superb hospitality excellent location

Posted Oct 4, 2015
Pros: Was warm, friendly and interment. Staff were very helpful and accommodating.
Location: Location is great. Very close - walking distance - to most main attractions.
Our experience was positive and faultless. Live music on Thursday surpassed expectations and enhanced the stay.
5 out of 5
by Melanie from London

Lovely hotel, good food, great location

Posted Sep 25, 2015 on Hotels
This is a really lovely hotel and the staff are excellent. The breakfast was great, the location is perfect - a very easy walk to the blue mosque, grand bazaar, spice market etc, and the hotel was clean and pleasant. Our room was a little small but nothing terrible. The hotel manager came to chat to us for a while and told us all about the history of the place (without going on for too long!). A really personal experience.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location!

Posted Sep 22, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel is located in a great location. Close to all the main attractions. Staff was very friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Nice and convenient hotel. Closer to attractions

Posted Sep 17, 2015
Pros: Proximity to attractions and very nice and English speaking front desk staff who are available 24/7.
Cons: If they could charge for their services in local currency it will be a good addition.
Location: Everything in Sultanahmet (Blue mosque, Ayasofya, Monuments, Churches, Topkapi Place, Grand Bazaar.
Arena hotel is a nice, clean and safer hotel to stay. Everything (in Sultanahmet) is in walking distance. You can walk to Metro station which was easy to ride and go to airport. Hotel front desk and other staff were very nice and accommadative. They took extra efforts to take care of our requests and needs. The only thing that was surprising was that they do not charge in Turkish Lira but charge in Euros for Laundry service, etc. That sounded high. Other than that I would encourage visitors to consider and stay in this hotel. You will not regret your choice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very close to Sultan Ahmet

Posted Aug 23, 2015
Very close to Sultan Ahmet, a quiet area and we had a very good triple room. Would come back again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sagar, India

Nice Hotel, Easy Transport & Great Location

Posted Aug 20, 2015
Pros: Staff support, Comfort & Location.
I have recently stayed here for 4 nights with my wife & 2 Yr old Kid. I was searching a hotel in Sultanahmet area and after looking its previous reviews we choose this hotel. I didn't regret after being in the hotel as its staff was very helpful & we got warm welcome. It was our first visit to Istanbul and we got adequate guidance & support from hotel staff. Its location is excellent and walk-able distance to major sights. Breakfast is also good. Room was very comfortable but bit smaller than we expected after watching its photos on sites. Hotel Arena is a good option for a budget & comfortable small hotel with a decent location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK and NZ

Small hotel, very central with very friendly staff

Posted Aug 18, 2015
Pros: The staff were lovely
Cons: The carpets in the bedroom could be cleaner
Location: It was very central within walking distance of most sights. We bought a metro ticket which you could top up, absolutely perfect for getting around.
My sister and I stayed for a short city break, we chose the cheapest room, which was adequate. The manager was very helpful with maps and ideas of what to do and how to do it. Breakfast was included, but fairly basic, nice bread, with cold meats and cheeses, also fruits and cereal. Good coffee, no Indian tea!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Aug 17, 2015
We had Room 212 in the new section, and it was huge. The bathroom was very big. The air-conditioning excellent. There was plenty of variety for breakfast, and the staff helped with tours and taxis. The location is very close to the Hippodrome and the Blue Mosque.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 11, 2015 on Hotels
Comfortable... great breakfast. Power went out and had an issue with internet, but the hotel handled it quickly