Ratings based on 205 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

Really nice hotel close to the Blue Mosque

Posted Dec 24, 2016
Really nice hotel close to the Blue Mosque and other attractions in SultanAhmet area. Very friendly staff and room was comfortable. We had a problem with the A/C of our room and they immediately offered us a better room even though the A/C was fixed immediately.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Nice hotel

Posted May 30, 2016
Nice hotel and helpful staff. Close to all attractions in the old city.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice people. Good location

Posted Apr 27, 2016
Pros: Answered above
Cons: Breakfast
Location: Right in old Istanbul. Easy access to everything.
All good except that we paid more for a room with a view and when we arrived we were told that no rooms had views. This pissed me off.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very well positioned for walking to the sites!

Posted Jan 7, 2016
Staff were amazing. Extremely friendly and the hotel's position was ideal for walking to most of the historical sites, Hagia Sofia, Blue Mosque, Hippodrome etc. If you want a small boutique hotel with old world charm, then this is the place to stay. A special thanks to the reception staff!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Stay!

Posted Dec 30, 2015
Cons: it's bit hard to operate the TV (can't figure out how to switch the channels)
We had an awesome stay at the Arena Hotel while visiting the old town of Istanbul. Their staff was very extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel was in a perfect location, just steps away from the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia, as well the main tram stop. The food at the hotel was very excellent (though a little pricy). We also had a jacuzzi in our room (which our son loves, along with the X-Box, and the hotel cat). Would stay there again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Brighton

Traditional hotel in great location

Posted Oct 9, 2015
Pros: the location, staff and the breakfasts
Cons: better light in basement rooms, less use of Euro prices which are confusing.
Location: The hotel is literally a few minutes from the Hippodrome, a long plaza with all the main sites at the end of it. Use a travel pass to roam more widely
The Arena Hotel is very well located, a few minutes' walk from Hagia Sophia and the Blue Mosque. It is quiet, a traditional building in part of the old town - walking around requires negotiating cobbled or non-existent pavements and hills, but the location is incredibly convenient. Not all the rooms are as big or light as those featured on the website, but it is clean and comfortable. The hotel staff are extremely helpful, going the extra mile to assist with choosing restaurants or dealing with any problems. The breakfasts are plentiful and varied. The hotel also serves evening meals, which was helpful when we arrived late, although relatively expensive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Washington, D.C. USA

Hotel is nice and close to point of interest

Posted Oct 7, 2015
Staff are very friendly. The room they gave us does not have a view and the ceiling is low. The room is not great for tall people. It's a walking distance to the point of interest.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Superb hospitality excellent location

Posted Oct 4, 2015
Pros: Was warm, friendly and interment. Staff were very helpful and accommodating.
Location: Location is great. Very close - walking distance - to most main attractions.
Our experience was positive and faultless. Live music on Thursday surpassed expectations and enhanced the stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Nice and convenient hotel. Closer to attractions

Posted Sep 17, 2015
Pros: Proximity to attractions and very nice and English speaking front desk staff who are available 24/7.
Cons: If they could charge for their services in local currency it will be a good addition.
Location: Everything in Sultanahmet (Blue mosque, Ayasofya, Monuments, Churches, Topkapi Place, Grand Bazaar.
Arena hotel is a nice, clean and safer hotel to stay. Everything (in Sultanahmet) is in walking distance. You can walk to Metro station which was easy to ride and go to airport. Hotel front desk and other staff were very nice and accommadative. They took extra efforts to take care of our requests and needs. The only thing that was surprising was that they do not charge in Turkish Lira but charge in Euros for Laundry service, etc. That sounded high. Other than that I would encourage visitors to consider and stay in this hotel. You will not regret your choice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very close to Sultan Ahmet

Posted Aug 23, 2015
Very close to Sultan Ahmet, a quiet area and we had a very good triple room. Would come back again.