Ratings based on 129 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Clean, cool hotel close to all amenities

Posted Sep 2, 2015
Pros: Friendly Staff Location Water Pressure Cleanliness and Aircon
Location: Close walk to the Blue Mosque Hagi Sophia Topkapi Palace Grand Bazaar Bosphorus
We arrived about 4 hours too early for check in and the friendly staff accommodated us and made a room available for us...This fabulous attitude and great service continued for the duration of our stay and made us feel very at home. The breakfast offered a great variety of fresh delicious food in a lovely environment. The hotel was clean, well maintained, tastefully decorated and had a great aircon. It is also ideally located as it is no more than a 10 min walk from all the attractions. I visit Istanbul at least once a year and have now found 'my home' in Istanbul... I will not stay anywhere else in Istanbul, the Aruna hotel is fantastic
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton

Close to local attractions

Posted Aug 27, 2015
Pros: Local to the Old City
Cons: Update furnishing and make it a bit more luxurious
Location: Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sophia and Bascila Crstern
The Hotel is clean and close to the Blue Mosque, and the other attractions, 15 minutes walk. We got a Room downstairs and this was next to the road and thus was noisy. The hotel is very basic and needs an update. The breakfast has a variety of things and there is plenty to eat, staff are extremely friendly and very helpful. If you are ok with basic facilities and want to be close to the Old city then worth a stay. Don't expect luxury.
5 out of 5
by Radiyyah from Michigan, USA

Aruna Hotel, a great choice

Posted Jul 16, 2015 on Hotels
Aruna Hotel was a great choice for my family and me. The room was clean, the staff was very nice and accommodating, and the hotel was in a great location. I highly recommend this hotel to other visitors.
5 out of 5
by benjamin from sarreguemines, France

a wonderful staying

Posted Jun 24, 2015 on Hotels
Everything was truly wonderful and the staff devoted to make you have a great experience. The location couldn't be better as it is just above Hagia Sofia and historic Istanbul.
3 out of 5
by Ann-Marie from Bahrain

Istanbul Hotel

Posted May 5, 2015 on Hotels
It was a pleasant stay in the hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful and the rooms were very clean.
4 out of 5
by Rabaa

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 17, 2015 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Beware

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Pros: only Fatima (the cook) and Joseph ( front counter) who were nice and smiley
Cons: tear it down and start again
Location: location is very good
Light fixtures did not work-had to ask for towels three times in 7 days- old beds that had odour- had to ask for toilet paper twice- the sauna/hamman is dark and dingy- TV did not work- Safe did not work- on Friday there is no room clean up service- if you get rooms at the back, you get a view of another wall Overall crap place! Never stay here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

Not 4 stars

Posted Aug 25, 2014 on Hotels
This hotel is definitely not a 4 star hotel by any measures. Rooms and especially bathrooms need updating. The breakfast is reasonable, but the roof area got so hot and humid even as early as 9 am. Could have used fans to make the breakfast now enjoyable. Location is OK, but neighborhood is questionable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 18, 2014 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by Visiters from USA

Good Location But !!

Posted Aug 3, 2014 on Hotels
Other than it's very safe and excellent location, this actually not a hotel with starts, honestly it is just a Motel, i am not here to complain, very nice and friendly staff, specially Mr. Yusuf but this not good enough to keep the truth away from other visitors; i am here to advice, we stayed 7 nights, next morning we complained about "BED BUGS" we requested our bed sheets to be changed, but they did not, at night Mr. Yusuf handed over 2 bed sheets to us, and never being replaced for the 7 nights, we rented a 2 connecting rooms, but believe me it's very tiny rooms, if you are staying for a longer days, note that "no microwave" & "no irons" and good lucks.