Ratings based on 223 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Friendly and helpful staff

Posted Aug 12, 2015
Great location and very comfortable. Breakfast was incredible with lots of traditional food! If you sleep lightly then take earplugs for early morning prayers as tower is nearby.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lancaster,pa

Nice hotel close to most historical sites.

Posted Aug 7, 2015
Pros: everything.
Cons: Need some detail cleaning in and around the bath tub.
Location: excellent.
Excellent owners and staff could not ask for more, excellent breakfast, clean rooms and what ever you need it was done in very professional way.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne Australia

Good location in "Old Town"

Posted Aug 2, 2015
Pros: Comfortable and clean
A nice boutique hotel close to all the main attractions. This was our first visit to Istanbul. Our 3 day stay was enhanced by the extremely helpful owner/managers who were quick to offer advise on trips and directions to the main attractions. The included buffet breakfast offered a good variety and the made to order omelettes delicious. All in all a memorable experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Overbooked One of Two Nights

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Pros: Basileus staff was very friendly and willing to help and make right unpleasant situations. My fellow traveler and I felt very safe at the Basileus.
Cons: The booking system! Nobody likes to hear that they cannot stay at the hotel they've had reserved for over two months.
Location: Great location for walking to all of the big tourist destinations in Istanbul. The mosques are close. The Bosphorus is near.
Prior to booking the Basileus I had read reviews about them overbooking rooms and/or simply not recognizing reservations made on Expedia. Because the hotel looked nice and had other great reviews, I wanted to give it a try anyway. So, after booking on Expedia two months out from my trip date, I called the hotel to confirm they had received my reservation for two people, two nights, in one double bed room. They had. Upon arriving to the hotel (after being the target of a terribly corrupt taxi driver), we were told that.... drumroll.... they were overbooked! We were told that they had arranged for us to stay at a hotel just down the street for the first night of our two night reservation. Who doesn't love moving hotels in the middle of a trip?! The "other" hotel was, in my opinion, not nearly as nice. While the staff was equally as friendly and eager to help, the hotel itself seemed much more dated and rickety. (Though looking at the room prices on the web, was more expensive.) The porter/bellhop from the Basileus moved our bags to and from the "other" hotel for us so at least we only had to move our bodies and minds. Breakfast at the Basileus was fine. I think a traditional Turkish morning fare. I give it four stars in most categories because we were safe there and the staff was truly helpful (except for the overbooking habit.) Note: PLEASE contact the Basileus if taking a cab for transfer. Drivers can and will take advantage of you, charging you much more.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Best hotel we stayed at for 5 weeks in Europe!

Posted Jun 24, 2015
Pros: Great price, clean,spacious rooms, great showers, unbelievably friendly and helpful staff, close to tourist attractions, good restaurant across street
Cons: Not a thing!
Location: Good restaurant across street, a couple of shops a block away with better prices than the Bazaar, 5-15 minute walk to Blue Mosque and others
From the moment we stepped in the door, Ekrem and Safir were polite and couldn't do enough for us. Maps, business cards, airport shuttle, taxi, printing tickets - anything at all we needed. Great rooms - we were right by the lobby and street level but didn't hear a sound once we closed the door. Would return there in a second!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Abuja

The hospitality of the team there is great

Posted Jun 6, 2015
had a good time there. There is always a very personal support for any question you will have
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Kleines Stadthotel in Toplage

Posted Jun 4, 2015
Wir waren 4 Nächte im The Basileus Hotel. Insgesamt waren wir sehr zufrieden. Wir hatten ein relativ geräumiges 4-Bett-Zimmer im dritten Stock am Eck mit 3 großen Fenstern. Das Hotel ist wohl vor einigen Jahren renoviert worden, zeigt aber im Zimmer z.T. Risse etc. daran sollte man sich aber nicht stören. Die Betten sind klasse, zum Empfang und wann immer man will, gibt es Kekse und Tee. Das Frühstücksbuffet hat annähernd türkische Badehotelausmaße und ist äußerst wohlschmeckend. Die Frischen Omelettes sind klasse und sogar der Filterkaffee richtig trinkbar (wenn auch der türkische Mokka natürlich besser ist, der einem auf Nachfrage selbstverständlich gemacht wird. Vor allem besticht das Hotel aber durch seine Lage 10 Gehminuten von Hagia Sophia, Blauer Moschee und Topkapipalast. Und Selim, der sich in netter Weise um die Gäste kümmert, hat immer einen Tipp bereit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pickering, Canada

Lovely, friendly hotel in convenient location

Posted May 30, 2015
Pros: We liked the location, the very helpful staff, and the lovely rooms.
Cons: Some bathroom grout needed cleaning or replacing.
Location: The Basileus is very well located for walking to the main points of interest in Istanbul; the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sofiya, Topkapi Palace, etc.
We were delighted with our stay in this charming, family-run hotel in the heart of the old city of Istanbul. The rooms are lovely, and the family who own it could not have been more helpful and friendly. After busy days of exploring the city, we very much enjoyed coming "home" to the lovely surroundings as well as the tea/coffee/pastry bar that was always available. We highly recommend the Basileus Hotel experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Houston, Texas

Great location for walking to sights

Posted May 27, 2015
My husband and I had a great experience. Everyone in the hotel was friendly and helpful with suggestions and directions. Breakfast was fantastic and included. We were on the third floor with only stairs, however, the hotel staff insisted on carrying up our baggage and then refused tips. I would definitely recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Chamiram from Florida, USA

Value for money

Posted May 25, 2015 on Hotels
Nice hotel, very friendly & helpful staff, delicious breakfast, excellent wifi. Will definitely recommend it & stay in it again.