Ratings based on 55 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by Farooq from Pakistan

Very good hotel

Posted Nov 7, 2015 on Hotels
Very close to main attractions. Very good view of the sea from the room. Though a small room but worth more than the money you pay due to its cleanliness and being close to the main attractions. Would definitely like to stay again here.
2 out of 5
by Muhammad from pakistan

Posted Aug 23, 2015 on Hotels
Very Old & small building no elevator small n narrow stairs to go up. however the owner of guest house is very curtious n helpful
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada.

Awful! The owner treated me like garbage.

Posted Aug 5, 2015
Pros: The room was pretty.
Cons: Customer service, and cleanliness.
Location: It's a good location. Hagia Sophia and the Blue Mosque are 6min away on foot.
I've never had a worst experience staying at a hotel. We stayed at the Chora Guesthouse for only one night, after 3 weeks of travelling around Turkey. When we checked in, I asked the proprietor for advice on getting to the airport, and he kept trying to get us to book his friend's shuttle service. His friend's shuttle service started at 9am, and would get us to the airport for around 10am. I really wanted to be at the airport for 9am, and so I told him that this would not work and asked if there was another company that left at 8am. He kept insisting that we book through his friend, and after awhile of me, insisting that I wanted to leave earlier, he finally snapped. He yelled at me, at the top of his lungs, and waved his hands in my face. He accused me of not trusting him, and that I was just a tourist and I should listen to him. After he yelled at me, he muttered under his breath in Turkish throughout the rest of the transaction ( we still needed to pay for the room, and he still needed to show us to our room). I was furious at how he treated me. I wanted to leave, but had already payed, and I didn't want to spend my last night in Istanbul running around looking for hotels. I was so upset, that I went to another hotel and asked their front desk for advice on getting to the airport. Otherwise, the location is good, but the bathroom was dirty--especially the shower. The room itself was pretty. For the same price though, you could stay somewhere nicer. AVOID THIS PLACE!!!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 16, 2015 on Hotels
Chora Guesthouse served us well for a brief respite in our travels. We stayed but one night and therefore are unable to review any potential breakfast options. The room, however, was adequate. We had enough space and were comfortable. The toilet needed to be shut off by a valve or it would run without stopping, which was somewhat of a perturbation, but nothing of any serious weight was askew. The hallway up to the room was quite steep. Otherwise the management was nice and we enjoyed our single evening.
3 out of 5
by Nicole from Sacramento

24-hour Stay in Chora Guesthouse

Posted Jul 5, 2015 on Hotels
Very clean and efficient. A little odd that the "check-in" was actually the convenience store below the guesthouse, but overall a nice stay.
4 out of 5
by Raymond from Kerala India

Value for Money

Posted Jun 17, 2015 on Hotels
It was a nice trip, me and my wife stayed there for 4 nights, great value for money,good sea view, excellent proximity to historic places,and nice breakfast.The steps towards top is very steep and there is no lift.Rooms are tiny, but neat and clean. Anyway I like this hotel
4 out of 5
by kazi n from Dhaka, Bangladesh

Posted Jun 16, 2015 on Hotels
I was there for 2 nights, Mr. Metin Miren is a very nice person, he helped me all the time with the questions, I have, with a smile. I would recommend it to anyone with a short stay.
2 out of 5
by Karine from Quebec

Nothing to be impressed of.

Posted Jun 1, 2015 on Hotels
We chose this hotel after reading the good comments online. What a disappointment! We arrived a little after 8 am to drop our bags at the hotel so we could walk around and come back to check in later. The guesthouse's door was locked. There was a note saying to ring the bell to get answered. So we rang the bell. After 5-7 minutes standing in front of the door knocking and ringing the bell, the owner opened the door. He was very rude with us saying that we should not come that early and that we woke him up. He then told us we should have sent an email or called him to warned him we should be arriving that early. He told us that the room was not ready at this time anyway and that we should come back at check in time. At least he kept our backpacks. When we came back later, the bags were already in the room and he apologized to us for being rude in the morning. Other than that it is ok. The beds are very comfortable. The breakfast is served from 8h30 to 10 am which is a little late for me. The dining room is very small and meals are on the table at 8h30 and they are plastic wrapped. Nothing to be impressed of. We changed hotel in the morning after having breakfast.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely stay

Posted May 23, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel owner was wonderful , the room was very clean and nice decor
3 out of 5
by Benjinho from UK

Pros and Cons

Posted Sep 22, 2014 on Hotels
Mixed feelings: Pros: Great location, Clean, Authentic Turkish decor, comfortable beds, good bathroom facilities, Tasty breakfast( Not fresh), Great value. Cons: "Deluxe room" is small, one wall is actually a window with curtain to cover which faces the dining room; potentially very intrusive! Arrived after a 13 hour journey wishing to have a snooze, however struggled initially due to owners ( a couple) having a row, despite them knowing we were on the other side of the window. All in all a decent price, clean, comfortable. Would suit most, however if looking for luxury, relaxation and to be waited on id look elsewhere. The location however could not be better.