Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Zainab from San Francisco, CA

One of the best places to stay in Istanbul!

Posted Apr 4, 2016 on Hotels
I had a wonderful stay at this hotel. The location was perfect, literally five minutes walk away from Sultanahmet mosque, and thats where literally all the places are nearby which are Hagia Sophia and Topkapi palace. Also the grand bazaar was about 15-20 minutes walk as well from this hotel. That's one of the best things about this place, the location is ideal. Even the markets and shops around the hotel were great too, and were reasonably priced in comparison to the more popular tourist places like the grand bazaar where it was way more expensive. The staff, especially the receptionist (from the morning shift especially) were extremely friendly and cooperative. Also the breakfast buffet in the mornings were great too, and had a large variety of food to eat from. Especially the turkish chai and su boregi (turkish cheese pastry) that they made were so good! The room was perfect too, and was of good size and very comfortable and clean. The only issue I had of the place was there are no elevators, only stairs. So think twice about bringing heavy luggage. Other than that, I had a wonderful stay!
1 out of 5
by Milton from Honolulu

Buyer beware!!!

Posted Nov 23, 2015 on Hotels
Buyer beware. Rooms is not accurate. On the fifth night, there was No water for shower, flushing a toilet, brushing your teeth, and we checked out two days early. I rate this hotel poorly because of their dishonesty. The room safe did not work, and there was one station on the TV. Booked the Jr. Suite, our room was not available, they overbooked, so got a standard room on the fifth floor. the Jr. Suite is in the basement of the hotel. We paid 89 euros a night. Checked out two nights early. The final straw was when there was no water.I even got Hotels.com involved. All of a sudden the woman who runs the place and spoke english when we arrived fine, now acted confused and her english disappeared. Dont us airport shuttle service. The dishonesty and "hustle" attitude of the hotel is why I gave them a poor rating. The whole foot print of the hotel is likely 15 - 16 feet across and maybe 30 feet deep. So there is no rooms that come close to 450 sq. st. To be fair,The 3 deluxe rooms, are maybe 250 sq. ft and would be very nice. The standard rooms less than 200 sq.The location good, room clean, bed firm. Assuming you have water service. Management said "It is a water problem in the area", then Later they said no water problem.The dishonesty, hustle and facade of warmth that disappears when issues come up, gives it a poor rating. Lots of other hotels in the area, try another and dont risk lack of water.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from South Carolina, USA

perfect location

Posted Oct 26, 2015
Pros: Helpful staff. Traditional, less Westernized establishment. Felt closer to local culture. Quiet, safe.
Cons: Very, very little could be improved upon, maybe fully functioning room lighting. Wished we'd had a room w/ a view, but not available for upgrade
Location: In Sultanahmet, within walking distance to historic mosques, palace, bizarre. Arrangements to see Whirling Dervishes were made by hotel - memorable!
1ST AND FOREMOST, because of confusing autumn time change in Turkey, we would have missed our departing flight had it not been for the persistent staff. Many thanks. Concierge-like staff did very well in helping us plan our outings as well. Always felt safe! Room itself very pleasant.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 27, 2015 by Erdem Barut, Hotel Management
Thanks a lot dear MJ.We really enjoyed your stay at Divalis Hotel.If we had a chance we would upgrade your room.But the moment you visited our hotel,all of our rooms were reserved.Perhaps next time if you decide to come here we will make sure to give you upper floor room.Many thanks again for your lovely review.Hope to see you again.Say hello to your husband and your family.Greetings from İstanbul
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cute boutique hotel

Posted Sep 13, 2015 on Hotels
It's a cute boutique hotel in the heart of Istanbul. The location is outstanding. Everything that you want to see/do/try is in the walking distance. We had the cave room. It is very unique but has a cave-like smell. But we got used to the smell and liked the option of being able to sit outside. The owners are extremely nice and will always go out of their way to make you feel comfortable. They got us a transit pass, a free pashmina, and lots of hospitality and care. The breakfast is amazing. Highly recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 8, 2016 by All Divalis Staff, Hotel Management
Thanks a lot for your lovely review. You made us proud. We hope to see you again. King regards and greetings from İstanbul.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Great location - wonderful staff

Posted May 31, 2015
Pros: Location, Room, Staff and breakfast.
Cons: TV satellite was not working
Location: Everything in Sultanahmet was very close. Within an easy walk.
We were made welcome and comfortable during our stay. The staff was friendly, informative and helpful, Two blocks to the Haia Sophia and a 10 minute walk to the Grand Bazaar.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 7, 2016 by Erdem Barut, Hotel Management
Thanks a lot for your lovely review. You made us proud. We hope to see you again. King regards and greetings from İstanbul.
4 out of 5
by Ronald from Fort Lauderdale

Four nights in Istanbul

Posted May 30, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel is in a great location, only a couple of blocks from the Blue Mosque. I stayed in the room on the lobby level. It was very loud, and a little smaller than advertised. I'd be curious to know what the other rooms were like. The room was clean and in good working order. The hotel staff was very accommodating.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 7, 2016 by All Divalis Staff, Hotel Management
Thanks a lot for your lovely review. You made us proud. We hope to see you again. King regards and greetings from İstanbul.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Amazing first visit to Istanbul

Posted May 2, 2015
Cons: Nothing
Location: Central in the old part of the city
Read had read all the reviews, we were not let down, excellent staff, location and facilities. Service was with a smile, wiliness to assist whenever asked, great breakfast and a great place to relax for a coffee. On two occasion we arrived back to the hotel after midnight, they were waiting up for us. We went on an overnight side trip and they were happy to store our main bags over night free of charge, allowing us to travel light, plus had the bag in the room when we arrived back from the trip. The staff provided us with some shopping pointers, where to go and how to get the best prices. Totally recommended this Hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2015 by All Divalis Staff, Hotel Management
Thanks a lot.Hope to see you again at Divalis.Best wishes and greeting from İstanbul
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by liane from canada

Perfect location, pleasant and accommodating staff

Posted Jun 12, 2014
Pros: Friendly and accommodating staff, cleanliness of rooms, location
Location: Blue mosque, Hagia Sophia, spice market, boat tours
We stayed at the Divalis hotel for 3 nights. The staff was extremely helpful. Breakfast was good and the terrace outside as well as the rooftop terrace a nice feature. The location is a block away from the Blue Mosque. You can practically visit all important sights by walking. The beds were comfortable and the room was very clean. I can highly recommend the hotel and would definitely stay there again. Turkey is a country we intend to explore more in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bruce from Las Vegas, Nevada

Great hotel in the heart of the old city

Posted May 23, 2014
Pros: Location is perfect, 3 minute walk to Blue Mosque area. Very clean with beautiful upgraded bath room. Nice water view from my room.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Blue Mosque, Hagia Sofia, Hippodrome, Topkapi Palace, Museum of Archaeology. Lots of great restaurants just down the street.
What a wonderful little hotel in a great area. The place was well designed, spotless and the staff was awesome. Arzu, the manager, was always smiling and very helpful. Altan was very professional and spoke great English. Very elaborate breakfast every morning. Kezban and Yasmin cooked up the best french toast and spicy scrambled eggs, what a pleasure to wake up to.
4 out of 5
by Marlén from Göteborg

Weekendhotell

Posted May 31, 2016 on Hotels
Ett mycket bra läge, nära till de stora sevärdheterna.