Ratings based on 49 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location and cleanness

Posted Nov 19, 2016
Close to many attractions.. Friendly staff. Small but clean room #503
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 27, 2016 by Express Star Hotel Taksim, Hotel Management
Thank You
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Istanbul, Turkey

Right on Taksim

Posted Jun 28, 2016
Pros: The folks working there are great. A maid turns the room every day and there's a free (included in the price I paid, anyway) breakfast.
Cons: I suppose that, if you want luxury in your life, this one might not be your best bet. Great for a place to stay and go see the city, though.
Location: European Istanbul. Istiklal Caddesi. Cihangir. Short tram/cable car ride down to Karakoy. It's touristy Istanbul in a relatively cheap package.
Rooms are clean and cheap, given the area. The staff is fantastic. Everyone is very friendly and most know some English. That being said, they're really very willing to help you practice speaking Turkish. I had some great nights sitting on the porch smoking a cigarette and practising with them. The staff make this place. Rooms are a bit small, by American standards, but they're clean and comfortable and the internet connection is (barring one day I was there) totally reliable and secured by an off-site provider. In any case, the location is great and I would highly reccomend it to a solo traveler or a couple on a budget.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2016 by Guest Service Management, Hotel Management
Our esteemed guest. Our hotel rooms are being renewed day by day. We strive to make our guests comfortable accommodation. Our hotel is not experienced problems with the internet. staff goes to foreign language courses. Thank you
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice

Posted Sep 22, 2015
Very good location and good staff during the day evening staff speaks a little English
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 26, 2015 by ali INCE, Hotel Management
Our staff are sent to foreign language courses. Our entire staff is receiving training accommodation. thank you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from beirut

excelent location and price

Posted Jun 24, 2015
overall this hotel is great for tourists since everywhere is reachable from taksim square its 2 min walk from taksim however the first floor rooms are not comfortable because u can hear ppl talking and walking early the higher floors are better everything else was cosy so yeah ill visitnthe place again but not the first floor
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 26, 2015 by ali INCE, Hotel Management
All room doors have changed, and soundproof insulation is made. Thank you
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Very Small & condition was very poor

Posted Nov 27, 2014
Pros: it was in the center of the city,,
Location: in the center & close to food & metro
it was not the way that was in internet , was very small room , bathroom was small & it need's to be up date it ,
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2015 by ali ince, Hotel Management
We know that our internet speed was pretty good. Our hotel room square meters is indicated in All sales channels on internet. We ask that you take into consideration it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Argentina

Close to Taksin.

Posted Oct 19, 2014
The best of the hotel is the location. Staff is not very friendly. They charge everything as additional such as maps.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2015 by ali ince, Hotel Management
our hotel has everything needed an extra charge. Our hotel is also paid on the map. staff may have to help you with that wanted to charge them.Our staff can help you with your accommodation and a warm and friendly service for all your questions.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 17, 2013
1 out of 5
by AbuJamal from San Francisco

Worst Hotel Ever

Posted Oct 27, 2013
Worst hotel experience I ever had!
2 out of 5
by Juan from Ecuador

Extremely Small

Posted Sep 27, 2013
Cons: Bigger rooms and changing the staff
Location: Close to Taksim square, but in a very dark street, kind of scary if you are coming back at night.
Where to start? First the room! Very small! 3.2x3.2 meters with a double bed and a tiny bathroom. If you are travelling with more than one bag, not a good ideaa. Second the noise! Very noisy, you can here the guests from two rooms talking even when they are not yelling. Also you can hear everything that happens on the street, even when you are at the third floor. Third, the staff! Not even the intention of delivering s good service. Is asked for a direction, they dont know and wont care finding it out for you. If you want a shuttle service to the airport they would say there is only one (Vip shuttle) that costs USD 170, when I got one 3 block away for USD 7. When i asked for a taxi at 5 am, they said there was no one willing to take us for only a few blocks to the shuttle station... I had to carry my bags outside and walk 20 meters to get a taxi on the street. No intention on helping at all. Im sorry I took Expedias suggestion for this hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Marianne from Egypt

goodlocation,didn't hve to take a taxi frm airport

Posted Jul 2, 2013
I was terrified from the hotel reading the reviews, but what it's true; 1. excellent location, 2 min from Taksim sq. I just took the Havatas bus from Ataturk airport (10 TL) and didn't need to take a taxi. 2. Typical 3 stars hotel as in Egypt (not european standard), but so small, only 4 rooms in a floor, very small rooms (i didn't care i just wanted a clean n comfortable place to stay for the nights) would be fine for those who don't seek a great luxury. 3. only the receptionist who knows english, a bit poor english. I overcame this problem with other staff, downloading google translate offline languages( turkish & english) on my tablet, i wrote what i needed in english , it was translated n the turkish staff could read it, and did what i wanted. 4. yes, the street where the hotel is located is narrow and steep, but that's the way most of streets of Istanbul, the city is already eslablished on a hill. 5. to reach the hotel - make the marmara hotel on your right - turn right just after marmara - at the end of this street you'll find Taksim star express hotel 6. the air condition worked properly the hot water was there all day n night the room was clean the wifi worked the sheets didn't have holes as what it was said in other reviews. Finally, a good value for the rate paid, and yes i would come again.