Ratings based on 75 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from melbourne

Start of cruise

Posted Oct 14, 2015
Pros: The staff were obliging & helpful
Cons: Unfortunately the rooms & eating areas are permitted for people to smoke the rooms & hall ways smelt of stale cigarettes, provide smoke free rooms.
Location: The mosques were close
Hotel not up to standard as advertised & the cooking area left a lot to be desired as a gas bottle was in use in the cramped area not what you would call a safe enviroment
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Initially underwhelmed, but grew to like it a lot

Posted Oct 12, 2015
Location: Galata Tower, Galata Bridge, Boat tours, Grand Bazaar, Spice Bazaar
I have to admit that when I first arrived at the hotel, I was disheartened by a) the difficulty of finding the hotel on an unmarked side street and b) the underwhelming exterior and receptionist check-in once you enter the hotel. However, over the course of our 3.5 days here, I stand resoundingly behind my 4-star rating for the hotel. I can’t vouch for room service or the hotel restaurant, but fret not, just venture out for a 10-minute walk and eat at any of the restaurants along the Galata Bridge or on either ends of the bridge (Hamdi Restaurant and Karakoy Ozsut (the kaymak was delicious) are worth a visit.) Also, Galata La Bella is a stone’s throw from the cable car which took us into the heart of Sultanahmet and surrounding areas. The hotel staff also was kind enough to book a boat/bus tour for us, which was worth every Turkish Lira. The nice thing about this hotel is that it’s a convenient middle ground between the Taksim Square/retail shopping area and the mosques and bazaars on the other side of the Bosphorus River. If you are expecting the Four Seasons, then move along; this is not the hotel for you. But, if you want a great location, proximity to good restaurants, solid continental breakfast selection (the borek and pastries – yum!) helpful staff (Unal, the Galveston, TX enthusiast stands out), an amazing rooftop view, and clean rooms and showers, then look no further.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Pros: Great location
The room was clean and newly updated. Location was central and convenient. The restaurant staff was not accommodating not friendly. The only hotel in the world I have ever stayed at that was not willing to make a second plastic key so each of us could have a key. The staff at breakfast was not accommodate simple requests.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 23, 2015
The triple room is spacious, while the double room is a little bit compact. The hotel staff are very friendly and attentive. We called a taxi at midnight and one staff carried the luggage to the taxi for us and even waved us goodbye until we left.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

More like a 3 star hotel, not 4

Posted Oct 16, 2014
Room was fine and acceptable. Though no duvets provided, just a very thin blanket. Breakfast wasn't amazing. Lack of fresh fruit and choice of beverages. It is a small hotel and quite under-staffed, meaning that when requests flood in at the same time they are very abrupt and less attentive, almost to the point of being rude and bad-mannered. The staff's level of English isn't amazing either, so sometimes had difficulty getting and understanding directions/recommendations. Also found one staff member at the rooftop bar to be inappropriately racist. We were on the sixth floor so had a good view of the city, but couldn't sleep at all on the Saturday night due to the banging music and cheering from a private party on the rooftop terrace. When we complained to reception they replied, "But it is a Saturday night" - your point being? Was unimpressed, to say the very least. Good location, conveniently situated by the tram and tunel, but don't think we'll be returning here anytime soon. Would rather not recommend to friends.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Beirut

Location is the best thing about this hotel

Posted Sep 16, 2014
The hotel location ia close to the main tram line, exchange offices, main attractions... staff was great and helpful. Great experience all in all.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South America

Excellent location. Hotel itself just ok (staff)!

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: Location, Breakfast, roof top terrace
Cons: Staff (more professional, polite, amicable)
Location: Galatta Tower, Taksim Square, Sultanahmet, Spice Market, Grand Bazaar
It was a 5 night stay, which makes it a long stay in a hotel giving the situations explained below: I came with a group of friends (all girls), and we were very shocked to find that some of the staff were not nice,helpful, even rude, and on the other hand, some other staff were very unrespectful, trying to "hit on us", asked us out,etc to the point it was very uncomfortable and we felt somehow intimidated by them. In Istambul we learned it happens commonly with women to be "stalked" but you would never expect it to happen at your hotel, and specially a hotel like this one. Once these guys realized we were not ok with this they became rude to us. The rooms are ok. We stayed in 3 different rooms, 2 of them were VERY SMALL, no space to walk!!!! The one where I was styaing was a good size room, however the AC never worked well and even if I complained about it every single day and asked it to be fixed the response was always it was working well. Compared to the other rooms of my friends, I knew it wasn´t but they never did anything. We were there in August and it was 35°Celsius everyday! Too hot for a broken AC. The location is very good, the breakfast and the terrace on the last floor are really nice. Beautiful view from the roof top terrace to Downtonw and the mosques, a good option for food and drinks at night. I am not sure if I would recommend this hotel to somebody else. At least if it is only women, for sure not!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wellington

Highly recommend

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: It was close to all forms of transport and major attractions. The staff were extremely helpful and the hotel itself was clean and comfortable
Cons: Nothing
Location: Close to the tram and tunnel. Galata tower, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sophie, Grand Bazar and many other wonder places.
Fantastic hotel, clean and comfortable. Wonderful staff, very helpful, close to all forms of transport and within walking distance of all major attractions of Istanbul city.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Nice hotel in convenient location

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: Clean and comfortable. Quiet. Location.
Cons: Not much - TV reception in the evenings could be better with more international channels
Location: T1 tram route allows access to Sultanahmet for the tourist attractions - highlights for me were Aya Sofia, Blue Mosque, Grand Bazar and Topkapi Harem.
Hotel can be reached by Metro and Tram (T1) from the airport and is located midway between the old city and the new. The hotel is situated in a quiet side street and the area feels safe. Shops are nearby and there are many restaurants in this area. Clean and comfortable room, fairly recently refurbished and in good condition. Tap water is clean and clear but like all Istanbul water is heavily chlorinated - chilled bottled water is cheap and widely available. Nice breakfast area - not surprisingly, food is bit 'Turkish' but if you can handle this, you will be OK. Pleasant and helpful staff who all spoke English.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Amanda from near Melbourne Australia

Close to tourist spots, galata la belle

Posted May 5, 2014
Comfortable room, friendly staff, good breakfast. Access to hotel difficult becsuse of nearby building renovation.