Ratings based on 282 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from United Kingdom

Perfect

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Everything about this hotel is near perfect. It's close to most of the major attractions such as Sultan Ahmet mosque and Ayasofya Museum, yet its location is quiet and away from the inner city chaos. Perfect for tourists.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dubai, UAE

A home-away-from-home hotel

Posted Jan 30, 2016
Pros: I really loved the homely environment of the hotel. Its simple decor, rooms, a small garden all evoke pleasant memories.
We stayed with my wife at this lovely place for a week. Both of us really enjoyed our stay as the room was really nice. But what is really good about this hotel is that you would feel at home when you talk to hotel staff. They are really amazing and helpful. Always there to assist. Breakfast is simple and very nice. I had stayed in a variety of hotels before in different countries but I really loved this hotel for the sense of homeliness it gives. The location deserves a particular mention too. It is within easy walking distance of most of the attractions in Istanbul. So when we go to Istanbul next time, I won't have a second thought about finding a place to stay. I would simply book with this hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel

Posted Nov 7, 2015
Pros: Staff, breakfast, location, rooms -everything was wonderful!-
Cons: Broadband could be better. More variety of English language television channels.
We spent our 10th Wedding Anniversary and the birthday of one of us in this little gem in Istanbul. The hotel offers a generous breakfast provided by helpful staff. We had a wonderful reception. It has a reasonably priced restaurant that serves lovely food. The rooms are wide and tidy. The hotel is located near all the best historic attractions in the Sultanhamed district. The "blue mosque", Haga Sofia and Topkapi Palace are all nearby at walking distance. So the Grand Bazaar. Would recommend the Museum of Islamic Culture too. Could not thank enough all the staff in this lovely hotel. The people that serve the breakfast, front-desk staff, cleaning personnel, waiters, etc. Everybody is so attentive and caring. We had a fantastic time. Thank you so much for everything! We will be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

lovely place to stay

Posted Sep 14, 2015
Pros: The friendly staff, the clean,unless and comfort of the room and the lovely atmosphere. Everyone was very helpful and knowledgable.
Location: 10 min walk to the Blue Mosque, Aya Sofya, Cistern Basilica & the museum of Turkish & Islamic Arts. everything else easily reached by metro. Perfect!
Really nice, fairly small, friendly hotel. The staff were always pleasant, the room was always clean and was very comfortable. The restaurant did good food and the place generally had a very welcoming and enjoyable atmosphere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from or

Great value

Posted Sep 12, 2015
Very Helpful staff, nice garden very happy with overall value and quality for a good price
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Felt like being guests at a very nice family home,

Posted Aug 16, 2015
From the moment we arrived, we felt in great hands! All went smooth, the location, the nicely decorated rooms, upgraded bathrooms. We were tired and eat at the hotel. Nice dinner and great service. All the tour and taxi arrangements were on time. Thank you Garden house for making this family vacation a special one!!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from washington DC

Great little hotel...easy walk to wonderful places

Posted Aug 14, 2015
Pros: - easy walk to key sites - nice clean rooms - breakfast - garden
Cons: - staff's english was good but not great....a little patience and it all worked out.
Location: topkapi palace sophia mosque grand bazaar
this is a nice little hotel within easy walking distance to all the key sites in Sultanmhet. we stayed 11 nights in turkey with 8 in Istanbul at this hotel and a side trip for 3 nights. we had three rooms -- one for my wife and i, one for my teenage son and another room for a pair of teenage daughters. rooms at the garden were nice and clean and the bathroom with its shower and sitting area was wonderful to come home to after a long day walking around Istanbul. staff was friendly and helped us organize tours, transportation. the breakfast every morning was delicious. nice garden in the backyard....a nice place to relax. no its not a large luxury hotel built exclusively for westerners looking for luxury. but for the price point and what we were looking to do....this was a great little find. have already recommended to friends.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Very nice hotel in a great location!

Posted Jul 10, 2015
We stayed for six nights and had a nice room overlooking the garden area - a very quiet and clean, comfortable room with a little Juliet balcony that was lovely to sit on in the late evening and listen to the calls to prayer and watch the seagulls flying overhead. Had dinner TWICE at the hotel because the food is excellent. Breakfast was a very nice and extensive selection. The staff couldn't have been nicer or more helpful - we particularly enjoyed chatting with Denyse at breakfast every morning. A good hotel at a very reasonable price. Location is great for seeing the sights. Adjoining properties are not as picturesque but because the location in Sultanahmet was so good, that small detail is easy to overlook.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great location and staff

Posted May 25, 2015
Pros: The staff and the garden terrace which allowed you to sit outside and was fairly quiet and restful in a very busy city.
Cons: The menu for lunch and dinner was a bit limited.
Location: Five to ten minutes walk (uphill) to Blue Mosque, Hagia Sofya, Basilica Cistern and the Sultanahmet tramstop. Twenty minute walk to the Topkapi palace
Walking distance from many of the main tourist sites or take the tram across the water or to the ferry piers. We found all of the staff friendly and helpful and the superior rooms were well equipped with minibar, kettle, hairdrier and a safe (no charge). It's quite hilly around the hotel and there are a lot of steps within the various parts of the hotel so may not be suitable for those with walking difficulties. There is a nice garden terrace area where you can eat and get drinks and a very good choice at breakfast (buffet). There are numerous restaurants and shops within walking distance and all in all we thought it was an excellent choice at a reasonable price.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 30, 2015 by Sales & Marketing Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Robert, Thank you so much for taking time to review our property. We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please note that hilly areas and narrows are so characteristic for Istanbul and especially for our area. Also most of the buildings like our property does not have permission from the municipality, even for the smallest changes like lifts because of their historical structures. Thank you for your understanding. Hope to welcome you again soon... Best wishes,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dublin

Perfectly situated for all the old town attraction

Posted May 21, 2015
Pros: The breakfast here are great but only if you are an early riser. On the few occasions that we denied ourselves a lie in we found the food to fantastic
Cons: The breakfast could do with replenishing for diners who arrive after 9.30am.
Location: Lots to do, if you don't want to do anything then sitting and watching the sunset is rather pleasant also.
We spent 8 nights at the Garden House and it was the perfect base for the old town Istanbul. The hotel staff were charming and helpful - couldn't do enough for you. Our room was big and comfy there was no view but this was fine. Breakfast was tasty and fresh. We didn't get to try the afternoon tea and cakes as the time didn't suit (between 3 and 5). This was not a problem as tea and cake is plentiful through the city. The walk to the Blue Mosque, Palace etc was about 15- 20 mins but be prepared for some hill climbs and daring traffic. The Grand Bazaar is about the same distance.The tram is about 15 mins from hotel and this will take you to the ferry ports, Gelata, Taskim ect. If you are looking for a bit of night life then the area around Navizade is a must esp. at the weekend. The dining and night-life in the old town is more family orientated and there is a great atmosphere Kumkapı square.