Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
56% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from israel

Nice hotel very close to tramway

Posted Sep 15, 2015
Pros: the tramway is in front of the hotel , very easy to go to all attraction places. Cons: there is no swimming pool in the hotel, sauna is with extra payment.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Tabriz/Iran

It's a nice hotel near Findikzadeh tram station

Posted Aug 5, 2015
Pros: Good staffs and nice breakfest
Cons: It is beter to have mineral water in rooms
Location: Good location. Near tram station. 10 min to Aksaray Metro station.
We stayed 7 night. At first night there was a problem with the AC. They changed our room the next day.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Ok for Istanbul

Posted Sep 18, 2014
Very old fashioned hotel, needs quiet a renovation. Comparing to other hotels in the city, this hotel is accommodating.
2 out of 5
by Frank from Virginia, USA

Mediocre at best

Posted Oct 28, 2012
Pros: It is 100 m from Findkzadeh Tram Station. Very convenient to go anywhere in Istanbul.
Cons: A/C not working.
Location: very convenient to Aksary and Sultanahmet. Many shops and resturnats are within walking distance.
This is the second time I stay at this hotel. The first time I stayed overnight in August 2012 and this time 7 days in october 2012. 1- The airconditioning system did not work in the room for all that period and both time I stayed at that hotel. The noise of the A/C is loud enough but it does not throw cold air out. When I asked the manager to fix it. He told me "We have switched the A/C off because every one wants different temprature"!!!!. His dismissive attitude indicates that there was no way he was interested in hearing anymore about it. 2- The resturant is too crowded in the morning and the room is too small for the number of guests. You dare not leave your chair to get a second cup of coffee or your plates will be removed and you find someone else is sitting at your table by the time you return back. The staff in the resturant do not seem to be trained well to notice who is refilling and who is leaving. 3- Ceaning the room does not happen until after 1pm. The cleaner does not remove anything outside the rubbish bin so I had to throw the rubbish bags outside the room to be picked up. Overall the only redeeming thing about the hotel is that it is close to the Tram station.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Santa Monica, CA

Pathetic Service. Not a 4 star hotel.

Posted Jun 16, 2011
Very bad customer service. First of all the description said that free hotel shuttle would be provided which was not the case as told to me by the hotel. So Expedia and the hotel are both to be blamed. For a four star hotel pathetic rooms, pathetic condition, could not even provide a plug adapter and I had to buy one. Very rude people and it seemed like I was in a one star hotel in some random destination.
3 out of 5
by Dana from Cleveland, TN

AC is poor

Posted Oct 25, 2008
The room and hotel were o.k. but the AC in the room never got the room to a comfortable temp.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Not impressed

Posted Jan 6, 2008
Hotel was tired-should not have 4 Star Rating.Hotel Facilities description states two Bars but in fact this Hotel does not serve acohol.Breakfast very mediocre-service indifferent.Room adequate but sparce-Bathroom not up to standard requires refurbishment. Situation very convienient for Sights and Transport but as we went over New Year the Hotel was a major disappointment.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely stay in Grand anka Hotel

Posted May 27, 2007
It was such a wonderful first time family holiday in Istanbul.The hotel was beautiful and the service was excellent,I honestly recommend people should visit Turkey becauuse its a lovely country with great attractions and places to visit.The food is wonderful,sights are amazing and shopping is affordable.The hotel was 20 minutes away from blue mosque,grand bazar and other sites.There are several burger king and Mcdonalds restaurant in Istanbul.I hope my comments will be a good help to the viwers.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Birmingham

Reasonable Hotel but very poor service

Posted Apr 16, 2007
The main problem with this hotel was the rude and unhelpful service from the reception staff. They never managed to smile or greet guests and were unfriendly and unhelpful. They created a very poor impression every time we dealt with them. The room itself was reasonable. Not quite of four star standard, but clean and comfortable. There was good transport via the tram into the main city centre where all the sights are (the hotel is slightly away from the sights, but in a reasonable area with lots of shops and places to eat nonetheless). The included buffet breakfast was fairly pleasant. In summary, this hotel can probably be recommended, but don't expect even basic courtesy from the front desk staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London

I would recommend this hotel.

Posted Apr 13, 2007
I am a fourth year medical student currently studying in London. I went to Istanbul with two fellow medical students during our Easter vacation for a 3 night break. We found the Grand Anka Hotel to be absolutely ideal for us. However, it should be noted that by staying at this hotel you will have to use the tram service. The tram station (Findikzade) is a 2 minute walk from the hotel and we used the tram service throughout our stay. You have to pay 1.30Lira for a token to get on the tram and you need a token for every time that you use a tram. The trams are modern and extremely reliable, with one arriving at the station every 5,10 minutes. From Findikzade to Sultanahmet the journey time was approximately 10 minutes. From Findikzade to Taksim Square the journey time was approximately 25 minutes (you have to take the tram to the end of the line at Kabatas and changeover to the funicular). I cannot say too much on the hotel or the surrounding area as we spent most of our time in Sultanahmet and Taksim Square). The hotel room and bathroom were both clean and comfortable and we were able to get a good nights sleep. The inclusive breakfast buffet was decent. I would recommend this hotel to fellow students, young couples and people on a budget and who are all happy with the prospect of using the tram. If you have young children then you may want to look at hotels in Sultanahmet or Taksim square as using the tram service with them maybe difficult.