Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia, USA

Gran Durmaz Hotel

Posted May 5, 2015
Pros: Clean and up-to-date. all facilities are working and in good condition.
Location: Close to shops and restaurants within walking distance. very convenient to transportation and historical sites.
Clean and Comfortable hotel. very close to tramway. located in a very busy area of Lalalli. staff very responsive and nice. Good selection of foods for breakfast. Clean and orderly.
4 out of 5
by LA from Toronto, Ontario

Nice hotel, good complimentary breakfast.

Posted Jun 11, 2014
The room was nice, bathroom was modern & clean, good access to public transportation. Close to shops & restaurants. Do not use laundry service, they washed all the whites with darks & ruined my white clothes without apology & still made me pay for the service!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel, but awful area.

Posted Aug 19, 2013
Location: The location was awful. Too far away from anything. The streets outside were filthy, with excrement and trash everywhere.
I read a lot of reviews about the hotel's 'great condition,' and I am left incredibly confused. The hotel was 2 miles from the main tourist hotspot of Sultanahmet, roughly a 45 minute walk or a 30 minute ride in a cab (the traffic is so bad, a 2 mile journey takes this long). The hotel was decent enough and the room was modern enough, but the area that it was in was so incredibly sketchy and I did not feel safe. I was the only non-turk in the area. I would receive glares every time I walked outside the hotel, it wasn't good! The room was ok, with modern enough fixtures, but the bed was like a wooden plank and the A/C didn't work. This led to me waking up at several times throughout the night, literally dripping with sweat and having to change the bed sheets. The bed did not come with any kind of top sheet/duvet/comforter, purely because it was so hot that one wasn't needed. The purpose of my visit was business and tourism, and this hotel would be recommended for neither.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kevin from USA

Great hotel if you get a good price

Posted Apr 26, 2013
Pros: Slightly away from the tourist crammed Blue Mosque area. Nice breakfast.
Great location near tram and nice restaurants. Away from the tourists but close enough to the Grand Bazaar and Blue Mosque.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Beautiful hotel in wonderful location.

Posted Mar 19, 2013
Location: Location could not be more convenient. We were able to walk to most attractions.
Hotel is centrally located and beautifully appointed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Itzik from Tel Aviv

Very comfortable and clean hotel

Posted Nov 13, 2012
Pros: Room was comfortable and clean. Stuff at reception was very helpful
Cons: Location
Location: About 15 minutes by taxi from taksim area
Very nice and helpful stuff. Location is not the best in Istanbul, but within 20 minutes you can get anywhere.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by daz from uk

Good location, but would expect more for the money

Posted Oct 19, 2012
Pros: New, nice design, access to tram station, clean
Cons: Breakfast was disapointing, noisy at night.
Location: The hotel surrondings were abit shabby, but its right next to a tram station, which is good for sightseeing
I would recommend this hotel only due to its location otherwise i was not particulary impressed with the hotel or its service compared to price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Majed from Jordan

comfortable for couples

Posted Sep 16, 2012
Pros: Cleaness
Cons: Staff are very helpfull
Location: in down town area where we did a lot of shopping
Very friendly staff,if you want shopping you are their ,our flight was late front desk manager offered free turkish bath.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essen

Mitten In Aksaray

Posted Nov 11, 2016
Pros: Sehr zentral, Leckeres Frühstücksbüffe, optimale verkersverbindung ca 50-100 mtr zu metro station.
Cons: Soweit Alles ok , Können uns nicht Beklagen, ............
Location: Das Hotel ist Mitten im Herzen von Istanbul, und mann kommt sehr Gut überall hin wohin mann möchte....Also sehr zentral
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Bra läge nära spårvagn dålig frukost

Posted Apr 24, 2015
Pros: OK Bra med hamman på hotellet och den var helt ok
Cons: Frukosten
Location: Bra läge nära spårvagn. Inte långt att promenera till Grand Basar och annat.
Istanbul trevlig och intressant stad med vänliga människor Fina sevärdheter( dock var blå moskeen överreklamerad) och trevlig shopping. God mat! Frukosten på hotellet kunde varit bättre. Endast ett slags bröd och en del konstigheter som inte uppskattades av oss.