Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Great deal for your money!

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Rooms were small but clean and nicely decorated. Room was quite, has a window but no view. Staff didn't know a lot of English but enough to understand and they were very nice. Location is awesome!!! There are several hotels with similar names so make sure you have a map or something to show the taxi driver otherwise it will take a while to find.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada calgary

Perfect location with very helpfull staff

Posted Sep 23, 2014
It was wonderfull experience staying there. Very close to every thing, 2 mins walk to taksim and 8 mins walk to train station. Every thing was very close by. Love the hotel staff very very professional Help full and very kind Break was ok not much choices for hot food only 2 :( but hotel was supper clean and huge room " junior suite"
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kenya

Good hotel close to main tourist attractions

Posted Jul 7, 2014
The hotel is very conveniently located close to Istiklal street, Galata bridge and metro access to just about anywhere (old town, etc). The hotel room was perfect for a single, very clean and well maintained. The bathroom was clean and modern. Breakfast was basic but nutritious, tasty and more than adequate. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful. I would very much recommend this hotel to others.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sandy

Great location, small rooms

Posted Jan 29, 2013
Pros: Location, Cleanliness
Cons: size of the rooms/beds, view
Location: great location, very central: walking distance from vibrant bars and restaurants, 2-3 minutes walk to Istiklal street
Traveled to Istanbul in January, were liked the location, at a walking distance from bars and restaurants and 2-3 minutes walk from Istiklal street. You could hear some of the beats on Saturday night, but nothing unbearable. The room is very small, it is a bit bigger than the bed, we had to put our luggage on the table and in the closet. the bathroom was of good size and very well equipped. The room had no view, it looked on a wall. Staff was friendly.
1 out of 5
by Rafie from Irvine, CA, USA

I won't recommend this hotel to my friends

Posted Sep 17, 2012
Pros: Breakfast, and as some say security
Cons: Everything else
Location: Convienient, but no place to park if you have a car
It is only a one star motel with minimum expectation. Double express rooms are only good for one person, and no space to keep your luggage. Stuff are not trained to welcome you and they speak Turkish. In an incident I came back to hotel tired and thirsty and asked for a cup of water and I got NO respond. I found the front desk clerck speaking in Turkish to the other stuff that send them to their room and force them to buy bottled water. After al, the only two things I like was breakfast and area which was close to Taksim square.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good staff, disappointing view and room size

Posted Sep 4, 2012
The location, staff and cleanliness of the hotel was great. A few issues include the size of the room, which was tiny and not fit for two people, the view, which was non-existent (we faced a wall) and the breakfast, which was pretty limited. The staff make up for these issues and make the stay worthwhile. Good for someone who is staying alone and does not plan to stay at the hotel too long.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Party Central

Posted Jul 5, 2012
Older hotel with Charm. Nicely remodeled, good location, Tiny elevator. Very noisey with parties on other rooftops around until 4AM.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Tucson

Istanbul

Posted Jul 27, 2011
Very nice hotel, very good location. The people from the hotel were extremely kind and helpful. The hotel is clean and modern. I recommend 100%
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Alistair from London

A very comfortable and convenient hotel.

Posted May 15, 2011
Hotel Au Pera is a very comfortable and pleasant hotel which offers a standard of accommodation above its 3 stars. We had a deluxe room, which was comfortable, spacious and clean and had a bit of a view over the Golden Horn. The staff were very helpful and friendly. It is very conveniently located close to the commercial district. and within a good walking distance of the major historical sights. Istanbul is very hilly, and the hotel is also very convenient for public transport links to other districts to ease the wear on the legs and feet. On the downside the breakfasts, although adequate, were a bit lacklustre; and on weekend nights the area is a bit noisy, but this wasn't a problem as long as the windows were closed. Generally a very pleasant hotel which I can recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Sydney

great location!

Posted Mar 31, 2011
Hotel Au Pera has an excellent location! Taksim's Istiklal Cadessi is a 5 mins walk from the hotel and so is the Shishhane Metro. Pera Palace which is where Agatha Christie wrote 'Murdrer on the Orient' is 2 mins walk and Pera Mueseum is 3 mins walk. There is also a supermarket next to Au Pera so was very convenient. Stayed in the Delux Suite at Au Pera which was very comfortable and clean. Free wireless access was an added bonus. Staff were very helpful. Stayed for a week in Istanbul and Au Pera was like a home away from home.