Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sydney

Nice hotel close to all main tourist attractions.

Posted Jul 22, 2015
Pros: Sitting on the roof top having breakfast.
Cons: Cleaning
Location: Great location to city centre and all tourist attractions. Street restaurants just outside the door.
Hakan the manager during the day really went out of his way to help. He organized a tour which proved to be worth it and organized taxi pick-up which did not try to charge tourist rates! The room we had the first night was not the best location so he organized a move to a room with a pleasant outlook for the rest of our stay. The breakfast is good and you have a very pleasant outlook over the harbour.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable stay at a great location

Posted Jun 28, 2015
Comfortable stay at a great location with excellent service! Would recommend
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from indiana

Fabulous breakfast

Posted May 27, 2015
The breakfast was buffet, and had so much wonderful food, we stuffed ourselves. And, the view from terrace was absolutely stunning! Staff was very nice and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from uk

History culture and style on your doorstep

Posted May 14, 2015
Pros: Small, quiet, discreet, someone on the desk 24 hrs, nice breakfast buffet nothing too fancy and lovely view of the Bosphorous in the morning.
Stayed on in Istanbul after a business trip transferring from the busy modern Taksim area over to the quieter Sultanhamet old quarter which was just charming. Broken Column hotel is only few minutes easy walk to all the central sights and you can either walk a bit further (15 minutes) to the Grand Bazar or hop on a tram. Lots of local restaurants to choose from catering for all tastes and budgets. As a single female traveller I had been a bit concerned (never visited Turkey before) but was pleasantly surprised at how friendly and helpful everyone was. I didn't get hassled at all and felt safer in the city than I do in London. All information is in many languages the tourist stuff is geared up for international visitors.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary,Alberta Canada

Back in Istanbul

Posted Apr 28, 2015
Pros: The staff and location
Cons: Bathroom cleanliness specifically the mold. The décor could be updated.
Location: Within minutes walk to Blue mosque, Hagia Sophia, Topaki Palace, Archeology Museum, Basilica Cistern, Grand Bazaar, museums,shops and restaurants.
We stayed at Hotel Broken Column for 4 days when we first arrived Istanbul April 1, and returned for 2 days at the end of our trip April 16. The hotel was exactly what we expected. During our first stay we were in the Paris room at the front of the hotel. The room was clean and functional with a nice sitting area in front of the Juliette balcony. The bathroom was small and awkward which made it difficult for my husband to shave or put in his contacts. The lack of vanity lights made the room dark and not ideal for putting on makeup. We slept with the window open so we did hear the early morning traffic and the call to prayer, but coming from a city this did not bother us. Our second stay was at the back of the hotel in the Roma room. This room had an extra bed and no sitting area. The room did not have the traffic noise but you could hear the breakfast being set up in the terrace room. The bathroom was small but not awkward, allowing us to stand directly in front of the mirror. On the downside the shower was full of mold. The staff and location could not be beat! Haken and team were always friendly and helpful, booking transport and giving suggestions for dinner and not to be missed sights. The street is lined with boutique hotels and restaurants The hotel is in easy walking distance to many of the sights, restaurants and shops. We would certainly recommend Hotel Broken Column to friends and family and would stay there again if we returned to Istanbul.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from KOLKATA, INDIA

EXCELLENT HOTEL AND OUTSTANDING LOCATION.

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Pros: Excellent location and superb staff as well as the breakfast terrace and breakfast selections.
Cons: Nothing to mention now.
Location: Location is excellent , just behind the Blue Mosque and Sultanahmet Square .Sightseeing on foot and saviour the deliciousTurkish street food .
Hotel Broken Column represents the best of Turkish hospitality.Located on a quite street just behind the famous Blue Mosque, every place of tourist atraction,e.g the Blue Mosque, Aya Sophia, Topkapi Palace , German Fountain etc are not more than 10 minutes easy walk from the hotel.The tram stop of route T-1 is also very close and one can reach SIrkeci, the heart of old town in 10 minutes.The boat tour ferry jetties are also very close to Sirkeci station. one of the best feature of hotel is the excellent breakfast spread, consisting of cold meats, juice ,, cereals, many kinds of bread, eggs,fruits as well as several Turkish delicacies like Borek[cheese pastry], and various kinds of delicious Turkish cheese.The break fast is served on a sunny terrace on the top floor with a great view of Bosphorus strait and the sea of Marmara. The rooms are clean and well maintained. I will particlarly recommend Lissabon,a triple room for the view from the window and comfort and Moscow a cosy double room for its view of Marmara sea from the large french window.The hotel staff is superb.Always helpful and smiling. and offer steaming glasses of nice Turkish tea..Special credit for excellence should go to Mr. Hakan who is on duty from 9am to 5 pm and always a great friend in need. I really loved this hotel and would like to stay here again on my next trip to Istanbul.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Winter Break

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Nice little hotel. Excellent location. Friendly staff. Breakfast was good but a bit more variety over the week would have made it that much nicer!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay!

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Cute hotel. Great location. Staff was friendly and helpful. Doesn't look like much from the outside or lobby but the rooms are well-appointed and the bath is very nice. Only downside was that the water went out for a few hours.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great Location close to all attractions

Posted Nov 12, 2014
The great thing about this hotel is that it is only a few minutes walk away from all attractions and great restaurants nearby. Hotel staff were very helpful and friendly, room was clean and comfortable, we also liked the traditional Turkish breakfast choices.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth

Close to Blue Mosque & Arasta Bazaar & good view

Posted Oct 5, 2014
Convenient location to restaurants and shops; good view from rooftop restaurant & service could be better.London room had a balcony we had lovely sea breeze.