Ratings based on 345 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 5, 2016 on Hotels
EXELLENT HOTEL
3 out of 5
by Abdulatef from Libya

Good place

Posted Aug 25, 2015 on Hotels
My room was very noisy from air conditioner and generator .good place
4 out of 5
by Oluwagbemisola from Nigeria

i will Always stay in Buyuk Keban

Posted Jul 16, 2015 on Hotels
I don't think I can stay in any hotel in Istanbul than Buyuk Keban, the metainance of the hotel when I was there in 2014 is still the same. The Receptionist and Concierge are always ready to help you. Neighbourhood is safe you can walk anytime at Night. The main reason why I liked Buyuk Keban is because of the Neatness and the Environment no odour like most hotel in Istanbul if is not 4 or 5 Star.
5 out of 5
by Robin from San Francisco

Perfect for a family

Posted Jul 4, 2015 on Hotels
I loved everything about this hotel. If you are traveling with 2 kids like us, it was perfect. One bedroom with twin beds for the kids and a separate bedroom with a queen bed for a couple. Quite street in a safe area.
4 out of 5
by Ian from Cape Town

Happy with hotel

Posted May 28, 2015 on Hotels
Staff service was always friendly and helpful. We arrived on an early morning flight, and although we were 6 hours earlier than check-in time they gave us the room we wanted and invited us to have breakfast. Rooms are small but adequate. The daily mopping of the room floor (uncarpeted) could have been better, otherwise the room was cleaned and towels changed daily. We enjoyed the salads and breads breakfast. Location is only 15 min walk from an easy Metro ride from the airport, and virtually on the tram route through the old town. We have used this hotel before, and would stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from United Kingdom

Average hotel close to the old city

Posted Apr 3, 2015
Cons: The staff
Location: Good location
It is a small hotel , good value for money. Some rooms are very noisy but i changed mine to a much quieter one. Breakfast is average. Staff are far away from the best .
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 10, 2015 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for choosing Buyuk Keban during your visit to Istanbul and sharing your opinions here on expedia.com. We want you to know that we really appreciate the feedback. We are so glad to hear that you you find our hotel "Good Value For the Money!". Having said that, you concerns about the hotel are kindly noted and will be discussed on our next board meeting. We would like to thank you once again and hope to see you in our hotel in the near future. Kindest Regards,
4 out of 5
by Tamara

Posted Dec 23, 2014 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 4, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Tamara, Thank you very much for your 4**** review. Regards, Hotel Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean, large room, hot breakfast, near the sites

Posted Nov 2, 2014 on Hotels
Hotel Buyuk Keban was a very clean and modern hotel. The rooms were decent sized. The breakfast was decent offering an assortment of items including scrambled eggs and pancakes which is rare in Europe. The hotel is located within a 10-15 min walk to the bazaar and Metro that will bring you to/from the IST airport. The major mosques/palace are within a 30 min walk or 4 tram stops away (which is located at the bottom of the hill, maybe 5 mins). Overall the stay was enjoyable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 4, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel during your stay in Istanbul as well as taking the time to share your great opinions about our hotel with fellow travellers. We would also like to let you know that guest feebacks are really important for us we really appreciate them. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed "location and the breakfast" of our hotel. It makes us so happy to see our guests to leave with positive opinions about Buyuk Keban. Dear Guest, we hope to see you in our hotel next time your in Istanbul so that we can serve you even better and receive 5-stars... Thank you very much for everything, Kindest Regards from Istanbul, Hotel Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from U.K.

Good location for a hotel, very near Sultanamet.

Posted Oct 17, 2014
Pros: Location.. Clean room, small but well kept..
Cons: I just wish they would offer training to the employees, how to be courteous at least. Learn how to interact with their clients.
Location: Near the tram/ metro, easy access to tourist attraction areas. E.g Grand Bazaar & Sultanamet.
Small rooms but well cleaned everyday. Some guests were a bit noisy during our stay and doors were keep shutting and opening every now and again till past midnight. I just wish people should observe silence after at least 10:30 pm. Most of occupants go out during the day to see many attractions so a bit courtesy is appreciated. Breakfast is also very well served, but I wish the staff would smile a bit and greet their customers. It Would be really nice if someone says "good morning" and will be replied back. It would be nice if the "No Smoking" policy will be respected, our room was near the exit stairs and it seems some occupants or staff goes to smoke there, the smell of the smoke comes to our room thru the door gap. I really like the location of the hotel,thou not really near the main tourist attractions but a walking distance to the tram, metro stations..many surrounding restaurants. Traffic, a bit chaotic thou, It seems there is no respect given to traffic lights, no enough parking. Noticed drivers just reversing anywhere and everywhere. Too much cigarette butts on the streets,would have been nice if trash can be used and well provided.. And if staff or customers smokes by the door, the main door should be closed to ensure that other people who are in the lobby specially the children will at least be protected. Overall, our stay was good..Istanbul is a very beautiful and vibrant city we hope to see it again sometime..
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Zen, First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel during your stay in Istanbul and also sharing your kindest reviews about it here on expedia.com. We want you to know that we really appreciate it. As Buyuk Keban Hotel, we always care both negative and positive feedback. We want you to know that your review has been discussed on our monthly meeting and necessary actions will be taken based on your review. Based on your review, we started training for our waiters, took extreme measures towards smoking, also started changing the locks on the doors in order to reduce the noise plus, we removed the chairs located at the hallways in order to avoid other guests to sit, and talk there, which was the primary reason of the noise occurred at night. We would like to thank you once again for choosing Buyuk Keban Hotel and hope to see you here in the near future. Kindest Regards, Hotel Manager, Huseyin Aksoyer
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from peru

Awfull hotel

Posted Oct 16, 2014
Pros: Near to tram station
Cons: Service, language, photos in exoedia are not as real in hotel
Location: Near to tram station
Not recommend this hotel due to low service, low food quality and not as the photos appearance
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Romina, We would like to thank you for choosing our hotel during your stay in Istanbul, having said that, we are deeply sorry that your stay did not met your expectation. Guest satisfaction is our top priority and we try our best in order to provide it at affordable prices. We are hoping to see you at our hotel in the near future so that we can serve you better. Kindest Regards, Hotel Manager, Huseyin Aksoyer