Ratings based on 317 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England, London

Nice hotel close to the centre

Posted Apr 4, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: No
Location: It is near the centre
Good hotel, I like it very much. Clean easy to get to it.
4 out of 5
by Donna

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 1, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel staff

Posted Dec 23, 2015
It wa just good for the amount I paid for the room. It is located in nice access to everything!
5 out of 5
by Donna from California

Hidden Gem in Istanbul

Posted Nov 20, 2015 on Hotels
Comfortable, pleasant rooms close to main tourist attractions and on the tram line. Reasonably priced. Staff was great and very accommodating. This was my second stay here and I will continue to stay here each time I visit Istanbul.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Nov 1, 2015 on Hotels
Wonderful stay
5 out of 5
by Laura J from Tempe, Arizona

Perfect Stay in the Old Town of Istanbul

Posted Oct 19, 2015 on Hotels
I did not stay at the Ilkay hotel but in the hotel next door, which is owned by the same company called the Lalahan Hotel. The Lalahan had just opened in August of 2015 so everything was totally new and in pristine condition. My room was in the rear of the building and was very quiet. The bed was very comfortable, the linens were high quality. The air-conditioning was great. The window did open and provided adequate ventilation. There was complimentary water as well as a kettle for making tea or coffee. Also a small refrigerator was in the room. The Wifi was free and fast. Also the hotel had an elevator. The included breakfast had many choices at the buffet. But it was also possible to get freshly made items from the kitchen. The staff brought out a menu with a checklist where you could make your selections and in a few minutes your breakfast was brought out to you. This breakfast was excellent. The staff at the front desk were very helpful. I was searching for some particular items in Istanbul and the front desk was able to get me pointed in the right direction armed with maps and addresses for finding where I was trying to go. The location is very convenient to the tram T1 line and many of the sights in Istanbul. I was able to easily take the public transportation from the hotel to Ataturk airport for my flight. The cost was $2 US or the hotel would arrange a private transfer for $30 US.
3 out of 5
by Jnk Acme

Ok, just ok

Posted Sep 16, 2015 on Ebookers
The location is amazing, and the staff very helpful and friendly, unfortunately this hotel is very old and pretty dirty. It is also very noisy (that is actually the main problem.) I had to change room because of the noise but I had the same problem in the other room also as the main noise wouyld come from the water pipes mainly from the toilet. Very bothering, loud and you could hear it mainly in the early mornings. A bit pricey for what you get.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lebanon

Good enough

Posted Sep 9, 2015
Pros: location
Cons: decoration
Location: hafiz mustafa, going to the sea, near marmara station and historical like aya sofia...
This hotel is very nice. the location is near to everything, the historical sites, the marmara station, eminönü(the sea) and of course the famous Hafiz Mustafa (the best sweets shop in Istanbul) Moreover, the staff are very friendly and helpful, they are ready yo help you whatever you ask for a location or a restaurant or how to get to a place... The price is also acceptable... Dont expect to get a super hotel, it's a 3 stars hotel... and you will get exactly what you paid. Haiss
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by haiq l.

Excellent Family Holiday

Posted Sep 8, 2015 on Ebookers
Location of hotel was brillant it was amazing on your right side you had the ferry port and the station which was a 5 min walk to the station and 10 min to the ferry port. On the left side you have the Hagia Sophia Museum, Topkapi Palace and Museum and the blue mosque. Also a short distance you have the Grand Bazaar. Hotel was clean and tidy and the staff spoke English and were friendly.
3 out of 5
by gigi

Visit to monuments

Posted Aug 28, 2015 on Ebookers
Return trip with my son to visit historical monuments in Istanbul. Situated in the old center of the town, near Aya Sofia and Sultanahmed, it is a good place for visits. However the access to the hotel is difficult. The space in the room is minimal. If, instead of three beds, we had only two, some place for a table and chairs wood have been welcome.