Ratings based on 250 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Noisy 24 hours

Posted Apr 29, 2016
Pros: location
Cons: it is at its best.
Location: nearby
Rooms on top of Rooms, Small, Tight, Noisy 24 hours a day due to being on the corner of two busy very noisy roads. Courteous staff, good breakfast and good location but the train system is very efficient for the old city.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Good location close the major sites

Posted Jul 25, 2015
The good location helped as it was an easy walk to several major sites. Staff were friendly and the evening meal we had was excellent! Room was small with little room to open two suitcases. Bathroom very small but adequate. We would stay there again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Close to everything

Posted Jul 23, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Bigger Breakfast area and variety.
Location: All the major attractions are close and transport to those a little further out was easy to get to.
Location is the big winner for this hotel The noise at night was a little annoying but it was Ramadan so I think outside this time it would be much quieter as it was still quite lively at 11 at night.Room was clean and large enough athough bathroom was quite small. Air conditioning in our room was annoying as the air blew directly on our heads in the queen bed so we slept the other end. The staff were helpful enough. The location of the hotel was handy to all the sights and transport. We were only given one key to room but when asked for another they gave us one no problem.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 14, 2015
Bathroom is so small, you have to close the door to be able to sit on the toilet. So is the room. Breakfast is so so. Very close to blue mosque and sofie museum, but everything else you have to walk a long distance or walk 10 mins to tcatch a tram.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Calling for tsxi

Posted Apr 30, 2015
Please note that the staff gets a kick back from taxi drivers when they call one for you. They are always eager to call one for you just for that reason. Taxis are always available outside the hotel day and night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Typical Turkish hospitality

Posted Apr 13, 2015
We stayed at this hotel for seven days (Sunday to Sunday) and it was simply amazing. Room- the room was some what small size if you compared to typical American hotels but the beds were amazing. After walking near four to five miles it was amazing to come back to a good night sleep on those beds.the Terrance up top gives amazing view of the hippodrome area and the sea. Staff- staff were very friendly. Onur checked us in and gave us help information about turkey and accommodated to some needs we requested later. Cleaning personnel were nice and made the bed at our request. Location- ideal location. Maybe 200 meters from sultan Ahmet mosque. But not on the busy side so at night it was really quiet. You are close to the cisterns, aya sofia, topkapi palace and a lot of dining options near by. Also, the tram is less than five minutes away to go to grand bazaar and taksim square. Only downside- the breakfast was not what many Americans would be used to. It was a lot of cheese and dried fruits. But a lot of variety. Added bonus- the restaurant that is downstairs which u have to walk through to get to the hotel is simply amazing! We had to force ourselves not to eat there because everything tasted great. Penne chicken and homemade lemonade are recommended. Also great teas!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

Excellent place.

Posted Jan 12, 2015
Pros: Location, staff, rooms.
Cons: Everything was great.
Location: Hagya Sophia, Sultanahmet Mosque, Basilica Cisterns, Topkape Palace, Grand Bazaar - all right there!
Wonderful rooms and wonderful staff. And you can't beat the location - the hotel is right in front of the beautiful Blue Mosque.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Outstanding hotel in the center of everything

Posted Jan 2, 2015
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Nothing really.
Location: Blue Mosque, Hagya Sofia, Topkape Palace and the Basilica Cisterns are within a 10 minute walk. The Grand Bazaar is about 15 minutes away. Perfect loc
We liked everything about the hotel: the room, the cleanliness, the staff, the breakfast, and most importantly, the location. The hotel is right outside the Blue Mosque. The view from the breakfast room on the 5th floor is outstanding. And the breakfast itself - extraordinary. You expect a really crappy American hotel breakfast with toast and jam, but there was so much stuff! Amazing! The staff were wonderful - the woman making the breakfast and the guys at the front desk were really helpful and friendly. I already booked my next stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

December 2014

Posted Dec 27, 2014
Pros: Location was spot on as everything is within walking distance.
Cons: Customer service
Location: St Sophia, Marmara sea, Bazaar, Blue Mosque
Great location, but one of the staff member was extremely rude who spoiled our trip. At the reception my family of 7 (including 4 children) were told to wait as check in time was 12 noon. When I asked to speak to the manager he said he is the owner and manager (which was a lie) and he has no room available for us, was very rude to my sister and asked me if I have ever stayed in a hotel. There was no electricity at the hotel, Luckily another member of the staff got us a room so we were able to rest in the room rather than sitting in the lobby. Complained to Expedia and true owners on the last day. Hotel Spectra needs to teach their staff customer service skills. Also breakfast needs to improve as it is cold and had no variety. They turn off hot water and heating at 9 pm.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Good location for Blue Mosque area.

Posted Nov 14, 2014
Convenient base for tourists. Lovely breakfast room on top floor with views while eating. Noise from party using breakfast room during evenings until midnight. Maybe we were just unlucky. Breakfast fine - help yourself...