Ratings based on 716 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Near shopping center and restaurants in old Town near blue mosque and Aya sofia
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Great Location, Highly Recommend!

Posted May 18, 2017
Pros: Daily breakfast, excellent reception service, excellent location, elevator, cleanliness, free shuttle from airport, universal electric plug/converter
Cons: The daily breakfast didn't always have eggs available throughout the 2 hours- so sometimes I didn't get eggs or had to wait. Bed was hard.
Location: Less than 5 min walk to main tourist attractions (blue mosque, basilica cistern...) Next door to a restaurant and close to a convenience store
We loved this hotel! I'll start off with all the pro's: If you stay over 3 nights, there is a free shuttle service from Ataturk airport to the hotel (rare), the location is AMAZING (less than 5-10 min walk to Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Sultanahmet Square, Basilica Cistern, Pudding Shop, Hafiz Mustafa, tram way, etc). The front desk staff were very attentive, polite, and very helpful when I asked for tips/questions about anything. In fact, on 3 occasions, the hotel staff booked an affordable taxi for us to use. More pro's- the room was very clean, there was even a beautiful elevator on site. When asked, they gave us the option to choose between 3 available rooms (since our stay would be so long), and we ended up even getting a free upgrade to a larger room (room 208- beautiful)! They also provided 2 free universal plug/converters upon request. Now, areas for improvement: Daily breakfast was good but there weren't always hot eggs available. I'd recommend adding some type of warm soup (corba) as well, if possible- that would've made the breakfast perfect, though it was still great! The bed was hard, not the usual soft American hotel standard- this led me to have a harder time sleeping as a traveler. The safe in the room was very small- our laptop could not fit in there. Other than that, I honestly highly, highly recommend the hotel. Knowing the staff, I know they will see my review and implement all changes, if possible. I would DEFINITELY visit this hotel again! Thank you!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from british columbia

What a delightful place to stay.

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Pros: Everything. THe staff were excellent, the room was large, clean and well arranged. The beds were exceptionally comfortable.
Cons: The breakfast could be a bit more varied, but it was off season
Location: The location is superb. Sultanamet square is right around the corner. Everything in Istanbul is within walking distance.
The Hotel Uyan is an older facility but well and lovingly cared for. THe room was large and comfortable. It offered every convenience. The service was excellent. THere was a problem with the electrical system when we arrived rendering the elevator unusable, and the staff just carried our very heavy and large luggage up the stairs to our room and ensured that we were all okay and that everything was as it should be. It was. They allowed us to leave our excess suitcases with them when we toured the rest of Turkey. They guided us wherever we needed or wanted to go. The hotel is well situated to getting anywhere in Istanbul. I would not only recommend this hotel, but I would return there.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Great location & comfortable hotel

Posted Nov 27, 2016 on Hotels
Staff were friendly - helped me with shuttles, etc. Room was a good size and comfortable to spend time in. Perfect location for old town sightseeing, and quieter than the rest of the city. I would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Nice rooms excellent location, but basic braekfast

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Location very near blue mosque and little supermarkets. Staff very helpful. Wifi fast but a pain to connect, I had to reconnect every time I turn of my devise and write the password. Breakfast very basic.
4 out of 5
by William from Dorset

Great small hotel with friendly staff

Posted May 11, 2016 on Hotels
Room was small and with no kettle but very charming, staff we super friendly and helpful and spoke pretty good English, breakfast was great with a nice roof terrace to eat it on and the location is unbeatable :)
5 out of 5
by Mete from Southampton, NY.

Posted Feb 19, 2016 on Hotels
Breakfast was little poor however thank you for friendly service.
5 out of 5
by Elsayed

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 18, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Waseem from New Jersey

Best location for visiting Istanbul

Posted Jan 5, 2016 on Hotels
Perfect location and nice room size. Courteous & helping staff. You will find everything at doorstep. Completely satisfied with my stay.
4 out of 5
by Robin from Newcastle, Australia

Instant Istanbul

Posted Jan 1, 2016 on Hotels
Room very small, but clean and comfortable to sleep, but not stay during the day as there was nowhere to sit and relax. Location is superb, from the terrace rooftop good views of both Haggia Sofia and Blue Mosque.A good breakfast.