Ratings based on 61 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

Terrible neighborhood

Posted Jan 25, 2017
Did not feel safe. Heard machine gun fire one night and lots of yelling in the alley outside. Whole place reeked of cifarette smoke. There was rarely ever anyone at the front desk. No food or water provided. Ended up moving to the Santa Ottoman hotel on the other side of the road, closer to the Istaklal. Stay safe and book elsewhere!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami

Nice hotel located close to Taskim

Posted Dec 13, 2015
Nice hotel located close to Taskim square. Great valive for your money.
3 out of 5
by Jack O.

Istanbul Weekend - Lemon Residence

Posted Oct 14, 2015 on Ebookers
The hotel was in a good location and staff were friendly and helpful. The Cleanliness was satisfactory but the best and the rugs did need to be deep cleaned as one could see the dirt. Sleep wise wasn't great because of the loud noises the fridge made throughout the night. The TV did not work either, but as I was barely there it didn't bother me and I'm sure if I had asked the staff would have been attentive in getting this fixed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

overall good hotel near Taksim Square

Posted Sep 24, 2015
Pros: Staff and location
Cons: sound and noises of people talking exactly at the room windows
Location: Walk Istiklal street at nights down to Galat. and eat icecream and drink Ayran wherever it is offered ;)
I wouldn't call it a hotel, it consisted of about 10 small rooms, but it has all the amenities you could get for that price. The staff was very nice people, they would address our concerns immediately. I couldn't find safety box in my room and I told them this was what I read over the internet. So they installed one in my room! They speak English fluently. I was shocked at first by seeing the quality of the hotel, but the nice and kind staff changed my attitude after two days. Plus, I heard many bad experiences with hotel in the same price range in Istanbul, that I felt I was lucky that everything went smoothly in Lemon Residence. The hotel is overall clean, comparing to city. The hotel was close to taksim square. If you don't have luggage, walk to the hotel from metro and avoid taxi drivers. Or, simply arrange a tax with hotel for pick up and drop off the airport. The service is really safe and cheap, comparing to taxi drivers. and payment is through hotel. The hotel is located near tourism attractions of Istkilal street. and you can hear the noises all the night. If you need a quiet place to sleep, don't count on this hotel, or decide not to bother yourself to go to bed. Next to the hotel, in a very narrow street, there are ALWAYS a group of men drinking tea and playing cards. They make noises, but make you feel safe when you pass that narrow alley at nights. what else? you can find grocery stores and liquor store close by. and free drinking water and coffee in hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from toronto

Hotel close to Taksim Square

Posted Sep 23, 2015
Pros: Location is great, close to attractions, restaurants and shopping.
Cons: Hotel is dated
Very convenient location, only stay one night after my cruise and I was able to see a lot in the old city of Istanbul. Took the big red bus for city tour, took the cruise tour to get a closer look on all buildings along the Golden Horn.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Miko

Great for solo traveler

Posted Aug 20, 2015 on Orbitz
Hats off to Mehmet. Very supportive and responsive. Experienced power outage twice but got fixed on same day to go to lively Istiklal Street nightly, you'd have to walk/run across a dangerous highway leading to/from the tunnel. Otherwise, walk uphill and get across the top of the tunnel.
3 out of 5
by Tick

Awesome staff

Posted Jul 28, 2015 on Orbitz
The staff were very nice and helpful. Great kudos to them. The hotel is simple and clean and just off the beaten path. Unfortunately, it is located on a darkened street that feels a bit unsafe for traveling women.
5 out of 5
by Firas from Montreal,

Amazing for low budget! definitely recommend it

Posted Jul 13, 2015 on Hotels
I am very happy to have chosen this hotel, Mehmet made my stay very enjoyable. the location is great, its less than 2 mins walk from Istiklal street. it was a bit difficult to find the hotel at first, but then, its very simple. Room was very clean, service amazing, Mehmet was great help in terms of recommending places to go, and how to get around the city. I gave this hotel a total 5 stars rating, and will defenitely stay there again upon my return to Istanbul.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

...it is just a 'cheap pension" sold expensive !!

Posted Jun 3, 2015 on Hotels
This is just a 10 rooms "pension" in the very old neighbourhood of Taksim. I have paid 70 Euro/night, while after due evaluation it should be priced 40-45 max. The room was cleaned but the type of furniture and appliances are on the "cheap' side. Free Internet worked fine. A great Tks to the day shift manager who is very kind and cooperative. A plus point is about Istiklala Caddesi, the shopping street and and the typycal fish market, where plenty of small restaurants serving delicious food is there. If I would book same 'Pension' again? Well...I dont think so ! Cheers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lemon hotel

Posted May 12, 2015
Hotel is nice clean though the surrounding area is a little hostile to strangers. In general all was good I'm satisfied .