Ratings based on 109 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
57% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from peru

Excellent experience

Posted Aug 27, 2015
My stay was very satisfactiry. The service was very good. The recepcionust was very helpfull. The ubication was excelent. Just 10 min walking from sultanhamed. Walking distance of a lot of places. The room was nice and the bathroom also. The neighberhood was ok day and night. Really vert good option.
4 out of 5
by Mohamed from Qatar

Nice Budget

Posted Jul 26, 2015 on Hotels
The front desk staff are very helpful. When we arrived at the hotel, we did not have the appropriate change to pay; the receptionist came to us, helped us to get the change from the nearby store and pay the cab person. He also gave us the necessary information to visit in Istanbul and also a few donts/tips to avoid being cheated. The machine to put the key in the room was broken, so we had to be very careful while placing the key for electric supply in the room. The TV channels provided have no english channels, so spending time watching TV is a no-go for all english speaking travellers.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Curitiba

During our stay, no electricity and no internet

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Pros: Location and wifi (when it was working)
Cons: Building age, overall structure at all, but this is not staff’s fault. I think a general improvement would be great
Location: Lots of things to do and see. Major touristic places of Istanbul are very close
We stayed for 3 nights and we made an extension of 2 more nights in this hotel, because the staff is good, the breakfast is also good and the wifi connection is reliable. At least, wifi was good until the 3rd day. During the afternoon, the power got off and so the wifi. In the block, only we stayed with no power and wifi. Most incredibly: some parts of the building had power; besides: in some bedrooms, we had electricity in the room and didn’t in the bathroom. But I think this was because of the building age and mostly in Europe. The building is old, but the staff is really good. They tried to help us always offering us anything we asked to. Maybe more proactive, but It’s worth the money you pay. Good location, but you have to go up to see the Blue Mosque and other touristic places in Istanbul.
5 out of 5
by Nooruddin from Pakistan

Good value, great service.

Posted Jun 18, 2015 on Hotels
Very nice experience, the place is close to Sultanahmet mosque, and is a good place to stay for visiting Istanbul. The receptionist Umar was very helpful throughout, and also arranged a Ground floor room for us since my wife was pregnant. The breakfast is standard, which they can improve with some fresh fruits and fresh juices. They also extended our checkout time on request and guided us to go around places in Istanbul during our stay. We would be happy to stay there again when we visit the city.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nightmares In Istanbul

Posted Jun 6, 2015 on Hotels
This hotel was in a brilliant location, but the standard was awful. As we walked into the room, it looked alright, however after closer inspection it was absolutely awful. I lifted my pillow to find a line of dust, as if the room hadn't been entered or cleaned for weeks. There were stains on the sheets, mold in the bathroom, the drains were filthy, general cleanliness was very poor. The bed was not a double, just two singles pushed together, very uncomfortable and there is dust everywhere. The hotel does not have a lift and you have to walk up very narrow steep stairs to get to your room. Breakfast is not worth even calling breakfast, a sad plate of food, pre-prepared, cold boiled egg, a few straggly pieces of cheese and stale bread. They served coca cola and fanta with breakfast. Definitely need to have breakfast elsewhere. The windows are not in the least bit sound proof, which is a must in this busy neighborhood, the road is very loud and we could hear people all through the night, we were not able to sleep for our whole stay. Although the hotel has some good points, the staff are lovely and the hotel has a roof terrace from which there is an amazing view. I would definitely not stay here again.m
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

NOT AS ADVERTISED

Posted Jun 5, 2015 on Hotels
The main reason my overall rating for this hotel is 1/5 is simply because it is not as advertised. We were in the basement room which was not soundproof, it was quite noisy and a lot of light still got in. There was no daily housekeeping which again it said there would be, breakfast hours were very short, and the beds were very uncomfortable. They weren't even actual mattresses but maybe sofa beds? Also one of the male reception workers was very quiet and didn't really speak to me or my boyfriend which made checking in a hassle. If it was advertised more accurately that would solve a lot of issues. The only real plus is that it is walking distance to everything we wanted to see!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Much better hotels cheaper in the area

Posted Jun 3, 2015 on Hotels
Room was clean. Bathroom tiny not big enough for 2 people to be staying in. Staff struggled with providing local information.
4 out of 5
by Gord from Canada

Overall good but not for breakfast

Posted May 31, 2015 on Hotels
A short walk to the major old city sites. Front desk staff were very friendly and overall the hotel is reasonably priced. The breakfast was only fair to poor, as was the service in the breakfast area.
4 out of 5
by Matthew from New York

Perfect for the location.

Posted Apr 9, 2015 on Hotels
Tiny room, but great service!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to many touristic places

Posted Apr 8, 2015
Hotel is in fantastic location and is a really charming and lovely place to stay with loads of character and access to to ancient parts of Istanbul. The front of desk staff and breakfast restaurant staff are welcoming, helpful and professional.