Ratings based on 84 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 15, 2016
It was a pleasant hotel, close to the Blue Mosque, Grand Bazaar etc The staff were friendly and helpful
4 out of 5
by Priscillia

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 31, 2015 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by Tara from New York City

This hotel is CLOSED - Do not book here!

Posted May 5, 2015 on Hotels
I made a booking via hotels.com, which was confirmed, and arrived at the hotel on May 1, 2015 to check in. Imagine my surprise to find a boarded up and locked building with nobody staffing it. The storekeeper across the street confirmed that the hotel has been closed, maybe for renovations, with no known date of reopening. Shame on you, hotels.com for listing available rooms at a facility that is not even open! Please remove this from your listings. Please also provide a viable option for your customers to contact your customer service team to report serious issues like this.
3 out of 5
by Brendan A from England

It was a building site (GREAT neighborhood)

Posted Apr 1, 2015 on Hotels
We arrived at the hotel only to find that it was a building site due to "emergency renovations". We were moved to a different hotel (across the road). The hotel we were placed in was nice, clean, comfortable and in a GREAT area. I can't really rate the Maritime hotel, as we didn't stay there and it seemed like the hotel had been under renovation for a while.
3 out of 5
by Frank from New York, USA

Great, moderately priced hotel, conveniently located

Posted Jan 6, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed 7 nights at Hotel Maritime in September. It proved to be a well run, moderately priced hotel. The hotel is situated on a quiet back street in the Sultanamet area. We had a pleasant view overlooking the street from our window. The room was small, but clean, and was a good value considering the price we paid. The staff was extremely courteous and helpful. The manager, (Marcel?) was really helpful and provided us with all the tourist information we could possibly use. Breakfast was fine. If we should return again to visit Istanbul, we would definitely consider this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Nice hotel with Excellent staff

Posted Dec 31, 2014
I stayed here from 23rd Dec 2014 to 30th Dec 2014. The hotel is very close to all the main attractions in Sultanahmet. It is down the road from the little Hagia Sophia, and about a five minute walk from the blue mosque, Hagia Sophia, Topkapi palace and the Tram stop. The Grand bazaar is about a 10 minute walk away or you can take the Tram and be there in a matter of minutes. The staff at the hotel are excellent especially Mr Pascal. He is very knowledgeable of the area and will give you ideas on planning your day and the best places to eat. He is also very helpful. The airlines lost our luggage and Mr Pascal was constantly on the phone with the airlines trying to find them. The rooms are clean and are tidied everyday with your basic amenities. Only downside to the room was not enough sockets to charge two phones at the same time and the walls are quite thin so you can hear noise and music from outside. But other than that it's excellent! The breakfast provided was a traditional Turkish breakfast. The cook was nice, she would cook custom made omelettes if you requested her too. Overall a very pleasant stay at Mari Time hotel, the staff were a pleasure and made our stay even more welcome :).
4 out of 5
by mozhgan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 16, 2014 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Helpful staff. Grimy hotel

Posted Nov 8, 2014
Staff was friendly and helpful. Hotel needs to be renovated. Peeling and patched wallpaper. Accumulated grime. Room had considerable water damage from leaking roof.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leeds,UK

Friendly staff and great location

Posted Sep 24, 2014
We stayed for four nights in September and enjoyed every minute. The staff were excellent and they made us feel very welcome. Rooms are not large but they have everything you need including tea and coffee, free WiFi and a hairdryer. Breakfast is continental with the usual bread, cheese, cold meats etc. A toaster would have been nice but it's a minor complaint. The location is excellent. It's 5 minutes walk to the Blue Mosque and in a quiet street so you don't get traffic noise. There are plenty of places to eat but I would recommend Cheers Lighthouse which is opposite the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent!

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Cons: Breakfast could be improved a little, more selection.
Lovely little hotel close to all main attractions of Sultanahmet. Staff friendly, rooms great, bathrooms clean - what more could you ask for the price. Best of all they have family suites consisting of 2 rooms that we stayed in so everyone got their own space.