Ratings based on 100 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean and Friendly

Posted May 27, 2017
Pros: Nice and close to major tourist attractions.
Location: A few minutes away from Hagia Sofia, Topkapi Palace and a tram stop.
Clean, clean, clean. Staff friendly without being obtrusive. Breakfast every morning was great (and a good way to meet other guests).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Excellent

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Simple, quite, clean with a beautiful terrace facing sea
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 31, 2016 by Yagmur, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind words. It was our pleasure to accommodate you and hope to see you again in our guesthouse :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ca

Clean, Comfortable and great location

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Pros: Amazing staff Great location
Cons: Having access to a microwave in the open kitchen area for guests to heat up meals etc would be very useful.
Location: Lots of shops and dining right outside plus very close (5-10 min walk) to Hagia Sofia and Blue Mosque, Topkapi and markets + plus tramway station
Very happy with our stay. The hotel was clean and comfortable. A small mini fridge was provided with reasonable rates for the contents (really reasonable), or to just cool your own water bottles. Breakfast was provided every morning with a ton of options such as lots of fruit, baked goods, crepes, jams and boiled eggs. The hotel is very conveniently located close to the Hagia Sofia and Blue Mosque and a tramway station is just a few minutes from there. The street right around the corner was also filled with restaurants, shops and markets. Last but not least the hotel staff is fantastic. They couldn't have been nicer or more accommodating with different requests. I would happily stay here again and recommend it to friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good room, great breakfast area

Posted Jul 14, 2016
Pros: Breakfast, concierge, bed.
Good location, very helpful concierge, great breakfast area and very good breakfast, comfortable bed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2016 by Yagmur Ghouri, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind review. We are happy to hear that our Guesthouse matched your expectations and it was our pleasure to accommodate you.
4 out of 5
by Regina

Great Location for Sightseeing

Posted Jun 9, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed for 6 nights and the owners could not have been more friendly or helpful. The complimentary breakfast on the roof terrace was excellent. Unfortunately, the room which we had was quite gloomy and difficult to keep cool, however, both it and the shower room were kept spotlessy clean. There were problems with the wifi as every evening it seemed to go down but this was the suppliers fault and will hopefully be rectified. The image is the view from the roof terrace, it overlooks the Bosphorus
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location in historic part of the city

Posted May 6, 2016
Friendly and helpful staff; a pleasant single room with ensuite; excellent breakfast on the rooftop terrace with great views of the Sea of Marmara
4 out of 5
by Fiona

Fantastic, value for money little guesthouse

Posted Apr 11, 2016 on Hotels
A lovely guesthouse, with clean, spacious rooms and good bathrooms. The bed itself was a standard double, which was a little small for us, but not problematic. The air conditioning system was fine (little need to use it though) and the bathroom was very good, with good water pressure which was also instantly hot. No TV in the room, but a good wardrobe, safe, and desk. The room we had did have a view of the Mamara Sea, and there is one from the rooftop. However there is no view of the Blue Mosque or Aya Sofya (but they are less than 5 minutes away). The breakfast was great, with savoury pastries, cheese, spiced eggs, vegetables, and a huge selection of spreads and jams to put on bread or crepes. Fresh juice as not included in the price, but wasn't too expensive and prepared just for you if you did want it. The best thing about the guesthouse was the service from all the staff who provided everything from a socket adapter (I had forgotten mine), to helpful advice on not only where to go, but how to get there. They booked a tour for us, and helped make dinner reservations (their English was fantastic, this is not always the case in Istanbul, so was very helpful). Overall we had a great experience at the Marmara Guesthouse and would recommend it for its value and friendliness and helpfulness of staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami

Great service, delicious breakfast

Posted Feb 22, 2016
The place is a great choice: location, price, service, size of rooms. But what really makes it outstanding is the breakfast!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St Albans, UK

Great hotel in Istanbul centre

Posted Feb 17, 2016
Pros: central location
Cons: Only insert a lift, but probably completely impossible.
Location: Within less than five minutes walk from the three most important historic buildings in Istanbul
A small, family run, hotel literally less than five minutes walk from Topkapi palace, Hagia Sophia etc. Friendly, helpful staff with great breakfast (50+ options!) on roof terrace. Only problem is there is no lift, so some 40 steps to climb to top floor!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Overall excellent

Posted Jan 31, 2016
Pros: Location, staff, breakfast
Cons: Couldn't fault it.
Location: Blue mosque, ayasophia, palace and tombs, many shops and restaurants. If you want to sight see it is a perfect location. Tram stop 5 mins walk away.
Great location, 2 mins from blue mosque and ayasophia, also a shopping bazaar at the end of the street and many restaurants right near the hotel. Staff were very friendly and helpful, room was lovely and clean and very comfortable. I would recommend and I would stay there again. Breakfast buffet had a huge choice and for us was included in the price and the food was great.