Ratings based on 57 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by Katherine C.

Thoroughly recommended

Posted Feb 19, 2016 on Ebookers
I was very pleased with my stay at this hotel. My expectations were exceeded. The hotel's décor was very trendy, in good condition and extremely clean. My room was lovely, although it was a little bit cold despite two duvets. I was thrilled to receive free branded slippers bottled water and Turkish delights in my room on arrival. The main member of staff was extremely welcoming and friendly which was very important to me because I was travelling solo. The hotel was in an excellent location close to the Karakoy ferry terminal and not far from Galata Tower and had a convenience store directly opposite. The breakfast that I received was beautiful and really set me up for the day. The breakfast room could be used at any time of the day and had a television fridge and kettle facilities. There was also free wifi in this area – I couldn’t manage to get this to work in my room. I have no complaints whatsoever and would definitely recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
by Katie

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 10, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Ayesha A.

Great time in Instanbul

Posted Sep 6, 2015 on Orbitz
My friends and I stayed here for 5 days while visiting Instanbul. We were looking for somewhere nice, good location, and affordable. Portus House met all our expectations! The staff was super helpful in helping with planning our activities and answering all the questions we had. We got the family connecting room which slept 5. There was 4 of us so it was perfect. We had a private bathroom and shower. There was free breakfast and tea everyday no matter what time you rolled downstairs. The location was very central to trams and the sites. The area is also in a very trendy area with bars and restaurants. I would stay here again! Great for groups!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from perth, Australia

Great location. Great place.

Posted Sep 1, 2015
Loved the place from the start. Great friendly staff. Able to provide useful info about istanbul. Great kitchen. Everything was small but it all worked for us. Great eating places close. Fantastic.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Muhammad Ali.

Good and enjoyable stay

Posted Aug 14, 2015 on Ebookers
Portus House is a small hotel that provides a good value for money. Staff is friendly and location is good. We enjoyed the stay.
3 out of 5
by Jukka

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 27, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by Nesrin U.

I really felt like I'm at home :)

Posted May 1, 2015 on Orbitz
The service was great like in a real hotel and half the price in fact there was no difference from a hotel. The staff is very polite and will answer any question about the city. Rooms are cozy and bathroom/toilet really clean. There is free wi-fi and the breakfast was awesome. The location is in the hip area of Karaköy full with bars, shops and nice restaurants. Galata bridge is only 5 min walking and Hagia Sophia another 10min or 3 stops with the fast tram. If you want to try something different the ferry for the asian side of Istanbul departs basically in front of Portus House. If I go to Istanbul again I'd go to Portus I really felt like I'm at home.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

short stay for wedding anniversary

Posted Apr 5, 2015 on Hotels
Everything was perfect. We knew the location in Karakoy beforehand, it's perfect for our needs in Istanbul, close to everywhere (old town, taksim, ferry, tram, etc.), and with a reasonable parking garage closeby as well. The hotel is very small, staff is very friendly. I had sent a brief message beforehand telling that our stay was for our anniversary and they put a rose in our room and did some nice heart arrangements with the towels. Also upon arrival staff was very helpful and friendly. The room was really spacious, nicely set up, very clean, bed comfortable, bathroom fine - so all in all, the stay was perfect. Also price is very reasonable. Thanks again, specifically to Lutfi and Ali! Best wishes
3 out of 5
by Rachel from london

A decent hotel, nothing special

Posted Nov 12, 2014 on Hotels
The hotel was perfectly fine, but nothing special. When we arrived they couldn't find the booking for a while which was slightly disconcerting, but got it in the end. Our room had quite a lot of mosquitos buzzing around that kept us up, netting would've been helpful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Small but clean and friendly.

Posted Nov 4, 2014 on Hotels
Portus House seems to be somewhere between a hostel and a hotel. The staff was friendly and multilingual Our en-suite room was small for the price but clean. The neighborhood is in transition with good services, restaurants, markets and entertainment, and very handy to everything. For the money I expected the typical breakfast spread available at most hotels in Turkey, this one was modest but good. There is no laundry on site for guest use as the website says. Hot water was interrupted twice during our stay. Portus house might be a better value for families that need the extra beds and can share services.