Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by Kristoph from Cape Town

Below average hotel

Posted May 5, 2014 on Hotels
The Sembol Hotel is in a small, yet surprisingly noisy side street 10 minutes walk away from the Grand Bazaar. This proximity is where my appraisals end! The rooms are tiny and not very clean. No proper bedding is provided, the towels are old and there is no coffee in the room. Breakfast is better had in a cafe on the streets. I recommend: Find a different place.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice location, clean. Not luxurious.

Posted Jul 9, 2013
The rooms are pretty small. Nice location, 5 min away from Grand bazar, 20 min away from Haga Sophia and the blue mosque. However, don't expect anything luxurious, which is fine if you only plan on using the hotel to spend the night. One thing, don't use their planning or tour services. They will charge a huge commission on everything they book for you (without telling you obviously). As an example, once, they told us that a shuttle costs 15 euros and when we checked directly with the shuttle company, it was only 10 Euros. They convinced us to take a private shuttle since there were 5 of us. Then, we realized that the shuttle they booked for us wasn't private, as another group of people was there. Did they get the entire trip cost from 2 groups who each thought the shuttle was private? I don't know.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad experience

Posted May 12, 2013
Pros: Nothing
Location: It is near by grand Bazar the walking in this area is not safe and hotel is down hill so the walk is not comfortable at all and taxis don't come
The room is very small you can't move in it, the quality of clients are below average the Internet connection is terrible, the staff don't speak English the breakfast is poor the safe box is broken I will never use it again I don't think it is a 3 stars hotel
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very Unsatisfied

Posted Oct 13, 2012 on Hotels
One of the worst places I have stayed in, from the description provided on your site to what was the reality is totally incorrect. I would never recommend this to my enemy.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John from Phoenix, AZ, USA

Hotel location was good once you know it.

Posted Sep 17, 2012
Pros: Location
Cons: Breakfast
Location: Good
It was difficult to find on the map. Rooms were very small. The staff were not making the unless you would bring to manages attention. The service for airport was very expensive.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Sembol Hotel review - comfy but noisy.

Posted May 25, 2011
Sembol is very comfortable and the staff are friendly and knowledgable. The room rate was very good value and the location is just right - close to the main historical parts of Istanbul, and also close to the Tram. The Breakfast Room is great - with views of the Golden Horn from the top floor as you take your coffee. The only problem was noise - not from the area around the hotel, which was quiet, but from inside the hotel. There is a problem with the internal acoustics which means I could hear other guests closing doors, walking up and down the marble steps and even people having conversations on other floors.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from 日本

トラム駅から坂の下のホテル

Posted Sep 13, 2015
Pros: 立地。
Cons: ゴミ箱を置いて下さい・・・。
Location: トラムを使えば便利な場所です。
トラムの駅から坂を5分ぐらい下ります。暑い夏はツライと思います。観光地へのアクセスはトラムを使うととても便利です。またトラム駅前のお菓子屋さんは安く、お土産を買いました。部屋が狭く、ゴミ箱がなく、窓の外、横1メートルぐらいに現地の方が暮らしている模様でした。。。朝食は種類がありましたが、朝一番にいくと、おかずのタッパーにサランラップがかかったままでした。
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

War ganz ok

Posted Jan 1, 2015
Pros: Alles war ok bis auf das fernseh programm
Cons: Sat fernsehen
Location: Basar nähe
Alle Sehenswürdigkeiten in der nähe hatte viel spass
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from 日本

隠れています

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Pros: 朝食ではいろいろな種類があって満足です.
Cons: ホテルの場所が分かりにくかったので,曲がるところに看板があればいいのです.
Location: GrandBazaarに近いのでよかったのです.しかし,買い物したいなら,SpiceBazaarに行った方がいいのです.トラムで行けます.
トラムで空港からホテルまで行きました.スマホの地図(MapsWithMe)を見ながらホテルを探しましたが,入口が隠れているところにあったので,見つかりにくかったのです.一泊一万円ぐらい払ったのに,部屋は意外と小さかったのです.ドアのロックの仕方が独特で,少し困りました.中からロックしてからドアを締めないとロックできません. ※私は日本人ではないから,多少の日本語のミスがあると思うのでご了承ください.
2 out of 5
by jorunn from nær Grand Bazaar

bra beliggenhet, styr unna frokosten

Posted Jun 12, 2013 on Hotels
imøtekommende personale, små rom, ufattelig dårlig frokost, ikke betjent frokostsal, manglet brød..