Ratings based on 71 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best location

Posted Dec 21, 2016
10mins to blue mosque and all the shops are nearby. Friendly and nice people.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire, England.

A great little find!

Posted Nov 30, 2015
Having previously stayed in Istanbul, we knew just how close this hotel was to the local attractions. It was however our first stay at the Senatus Hotel, and to say we were impressed is an understatement. We could see the pride that the staff had in the hotel, always smiling, nothing was too much trouble. The room we had was fantastic, spacious, comfortable big bed and big windows. Overall a brilliant stay, we will be back! Keep up the good work.........
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 18, 2016 by Alper Ozturk, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you very much for taking your time to write such wonderful review about your recent stay with us. We love to make our guest’s special occasions that little bit more special here so I am delighted that we could make a difference in terms of making stay a memorable experience. I am thrilled to hear that you found our service impeccable and all my staff kind and helpful. Everyone in my team is very passionate about providing only the very best personalized service at all times to make all guests feel valued and special, so I am thrilled to hear that they did everything possible to make your stay. We pride our hotel on being a ‘home away from home’ for all of our guests, so to read that you regard us as your Istanbul home and that you will continue to return is the best feedback the team and I could wish for. We very much look forward to your return Best wishes Alper Ozturk
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Connecticut, USA

Nice hotel, great staff.

Posted Aug 23, 2015
Pros: Location and the friendly staff
Cons: More furniture in the rooms to sit and relax since the room only had one desk chair. The WiFi although offered free but was very slow not very reliabl
Location: Walking distance from the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, and Grand Bazzar.
Convenient location in the old part of Istanbul, within walking distance to all the historic areas. Small rooms but clean with comfortable beds. The breakfast buffet is basic but very fresh including a lot of fresh fruits, cheese and bread. They have coffee/ hot cocoa / tea and cookies all day long.Very friendly environment! The staff is very helpful, respectful, very hard working and pleasant. Ismael, the hotel receptionist, gave us a lot of great advice on how to deal with tourists' traps and he booked all our tours for us and also told us about the best places to eat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Excellent location next to blue mosque/sofia hagia

Posted Aug 9, 2015
The hotel managers Ugur, Ismail, Gozde were the best and most friendly managers we have ever met. They helped us with directions, calling taxis, special requests, info on attractions. The hotel is very close to Blue mosque/Sofia Hagia. Excellent location. It's on a very lively street full of restaurants and a short walk to Arasta bazaar. The restaurants are a good choice for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The room was a bit smaller than we expected but given its convenient location and well kept cleanliness, we adjusted to it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 5, 2015
Great hotel and location and amazing staff. Awesome sauna!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Small, but nice compared to other hotels in area.

Posted Jul 30, 2015
Pros: The location, the friendly staff, the cleanliness, and the generous breakfast.
Cons: The beds are very hard and uncomfortable. New mattresses would be better.
Location: It is close to all the main tourist attractions. A 5 minute walk to the blue mosque.
The hotel is very clean and the staff is friendly. The location is great, it is close to all the main tourist attractions. The breakfast is good with much variety, however sometimes the fruit is old. The bed was very hard and uncomfortable. Other than that, the stay at Senatus was enjoyable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

definitely not a 3 star hotel ..... :)

Posted Jun 3, 2015
wonderful experience staying at the senatus hotel for my husbands birthday. hotel very clean, comfortable and close to all the main attractions. I would definitely not class this as a 3star hotel...definitely a 4 star. I have visited many 3 star hotels and this is above and beyond. will visit again :) pros: close to min attractions clean friendly monsoon shower (fantastic even in the economy rooms) cons: no roof top terrace limited breakfast variety
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place, great location

Posted May 24, 2015
Great staff, nice modern room, located close to all the tourist sites. Only minor complaint was that breakfast could have been better. I've stayed at other Istanbul hotels and the breakfasts were a real feast. Breakfast at the Senatus was good but not great. Staff were friendly and accommodating . I recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Character and comfort

Posted May 20, 2015
Pros: Location is excellent. Clean, comfortable and friendly.
Cons: The rooms are compact, and the outlook from our ground floor room was not great. Ask for a room with a view if you plan to be inside during the day.
Location: Location is slap in the middle of the major tourist attractions in old Istanbul. Plenty of sightseeing, great Turkish food, bars and shopping.
Perfectly located in the heart of Sultanahmet. The staff were friendly and helpful, and the room was clean comfortable and compact. Breakfast was generous, fresh and with plenty of choice. Our room on the ground floor had a view of an ancient wall just a few feet away, not great, but the real action was just a short walk to away to see the Blue Mosque, the Basilica Cistern, the Hippodrome and the Hagia Sophia Mosque, and a couple of tram stops to the Grand Bazaar and the Spice Market. We'd be happy to stay there again and recommend it to other travellers.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montréal, Québec, Canada

Nice hotel in perfect location

Posted May 4, 2015
Pros: As listed above. Especially the location. And I was alone for the 1st 24 hours, until my husband joined me, and I felt safe. ( I am a woman)
Cons: Maybe better windows to cut the noise.
Location: Perfect location to most important tourist sites and to tram station to take you to most other places.
We stayed twice: at the beginning of our trip and at the end, with a few days in Cappadokia in between. It is nice and clean with fun and different decors in each room. Large enough compare to what you have usually in large European cities. Nice to have big towels, robes and slippers. It is only minutes (3 short blocks to walk) from Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Topkapi palace and the Sultanahmet tram station, that we took a few times. The staff was very helpful. Breakfast is OK. There is a mini mart near by to buy water. Just a little noisy, even worse on the last week-end as we had a room street side and it was a long week-end. The restaurant around are quite touristy (but still OK) so if you can eat elsewhere and come back with the tram.