Ratings based on 188 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Nice hotel close to Blue Mosque,Hagia Sofia.

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Pros: Closeness to main sights,attractions and Istanbul Airport.
Cons: Picture were a bit misleading but rooms were fairly clean and reasonably sized.
Location: 5 minutes walk from Blue Mosque,Hagia Sophia. 10 minutes from Bosporus Boat trips. 20 min from Grand Bazaar and 20 mins from Istaklal Ave. Great trip.
Lovely City and great people of Turkey. Weather was not great but all the sights made up for it. Great trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Malaysia

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Pros: Location, staff service and attentiveness
Cons: The beds
Location: Excellent, minutes from Haris Sofia and surrounding tourist attractions
We've had an exciting and memorable experience staying in this hotel. The staff, location and accessibility is great. Can't wait to return in the future.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from k

person Ramzan was very nice.

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Breakfast not included. They didn't let Me add that options later. Ramzan the guy at reception was very polite and welcoming. Also Fluent in English.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Nice 'home' style hotel

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: Close to blue Mosque (5min walk) and tram (7 min walk)
Cons: No coffee/tea facilities in room, bathroom smelt mouldy, because there was no extractor fan the ceiling was mouldy.
Location: Close to SultanAhmet mosque and other tourist sites, restaurants and public tram.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oldham UK

Overrated hotel best avoided

Posted Apr 17, 2016
This hotel had rave reviews which is why we booked it via Expedia. However for us it was a major disappointment. I have stayed in quite a few different hotels in Turkey but this must be the worst. We stayed in the annexe building of the hotel. It has no lift but has steep winding stairs which are dangerous and an ordeal to use especially for the elderly, young or disabled. The rooms are tired looking and in need of decoration. Curtains did not close properly which meant light entring the rooms first thing in the morning. Rooms are also noisy due to a busy road on the side. There is no phone in the rooms and you feel disconnected from the main hotel which is a street away. Every time you need anything you have to go down those terrible stairs and walk to another street. Breakfast was not included for those staying in the annexe building. On the last day we were due to leave at 2pm but were asked to vacate our room at 12pm ie the checkout time. I have stayed in many hotels where the management were kind enough to let you remain for an extra 2 hours considering you have been staying in the hotel for last 7 days but not this place. I really cannot recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Excellent location

Posted Apr 11, 2016
Hotel is in a great location within a few minutes walking distance from shops and the grand Blue Mosque. The sea front us about 10 mins walking distance. Staff are very helpful and always on standby, likewise the hotel has all the adequate facilities required for a comfortable stay. I would definitely recommend Sultan House as we had a great time staying g there. Thanks to all the staff fit being so helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Mohammed A.

Istanbul Trip

Posted Apr 5, 2016 on Ebookers
The staff were really friendly and helpful. Breakfast could have been better. They gave advise on everything and spoke good English.
1 out of 5
by Hiba from Las Vegas

Terrible experience

Posted Mar 20, 2016 on Hotels
Terrible place. No elevator, so climbing 4 flights of stairs every day with a baby and a stroller was quite the challenge. The pictures on hotels.com we're not accurate representation of what the actual room looked like and the worst part was that nasty public bathroom smell that we had to endure the entire stay. I wanted to check out the moment I saw the room but unfortunately the reservation was not changeable. I stayed another day in a different hotel that was pleasantly clean with great location and service and paid the same amount for that hotel that I did for the sorry excuse of a hotel that is Sultan house. And I don't know who reviewed this hotel befor me but it must have been hotel employees cos the reviews were too good for this place and not accurate at all
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by EDUARDO D.

Friendly staff, excellent location

Posted Mar 20, 2016 on Ebookers
My wife, daughter and I spent a wonderful 3-night stay at Sultan House Hotel with its very friendly staff. The location is excellent for exploring old Istanbul since the hotel is just off the hippodrome square and a short walk to the Sultanahmet tram station. We also enjoyed the free breakfast and love the hot chocolate. Highly recommended.
1 out of 5
by sameer Q.

Over all it was a good family trip

Posted Feb 16, 2016 on Ebookers
The hotel was small, breakfast was poor, some of the staff were pushy, and the bathroom was tiny, but location was excellent.