Ratings based on 384 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

mixed bag. No Internet

Posted Jun 1, 2017
I want to like being at this hotel, but lack of internet wifi prevents me from saying so. All my friends and family, unfortunately, are people who like staying in touch with others when they travel. Not having wifi has proven to have been a huge inconvenience; keeping in touch has not been possible as a result...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Wonderful Hotel

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: Loved the staff. They were so kind, helpful and understanding.
Location: Great location! Can visit Grand Baazar, Blue Mosque, Hagia Sofia, Topkapi Palace Museum etc all by foot.
Highly recommend travelers to stay at the Sultanhan Hotel. The staff is excellent, kind and helpful with everything. The facilities are very clean and classy. Breakfast is delicious. And best of all, the location is walking distance to the major sites to visit in the city. We visited the Grand Baazar, Blue Mosque, Hagia Sofia, Topkapi Palace Museum etc. all by foot.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from malaysia

Nice hotel near visitor area

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: The location and the staff
Cons: Everything is fine for me for a short business trip
Location: Near to Blue Mosque and famous area for visitor
I arrived late and the staff assist to find a good seafood restaurant which have own transport to take us from the hotel and send us back to the hotel. The staff is very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth. W.A.

Centrally located, most places of interest within

Posted May 18, 2017
Pros: Old world charm and décor. First class service.
Cons: Not a lot, just keep up the standard of rooms and service.
Location: Central location. Walking distance to good restaurants, Haga Sophia Museum, Grand Bazzar, Blue Mosque and other places of interest.
From the time our airport shuttle stopped outside the Sultanhan, Istanbul, until it arrived back to take us to the airport on departure, we were made feel welcome and "special". The staff could not do enough to make our stay enjoyable, nothing was too much trouble. Should we revisit Istanbul, at some time in the future, we know where we will be staying, the Sultanhan.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Great hotel right next to every where

Posted May 15, 2017
Fantastic location right in the middle of every attraction Great and helpful staff good breakfast Only down site no restaurant to dinner on site But overall highly recommended
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Come Back Again!

Posted May 11, 2017
Cons: Unfortunately, they don't have pool and their Jacuzzi did not work:( Also, they don't serve lunch and dinner at the Hotel.
Great location, peaceful and cosy neighborhood, and nice staff! You can use public transportation to reach out many touristic locations and save money instead of booking a tour, or calling Taxi! Some places, like: Grand Bazaar, Blue Mosque, Aya Suphia, are even in walking distance from the Hotel(10-15min). In addition, you can reach out Taksim Sq. for shopping, and Eminouno Sq. for Bosphorus Tour and Adalar Tour, via Sultanahmet train station (6-7 min walking distance). Also, there are many great reasonable restaurants around the Hotel, as they are not serving lunch and dinner. For exchange, there are few places in 4-5 min walking distance from the Hotel, but Grand Bazaar always offers better rate compared to the others! Enjoy your trip!;)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The best hotel in Istanbul

Posted May 11, 2017
Overall the hotel was excellent the staff were even better I would always come back to this hotel and recommend to everyone
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location

Posted May 9, 2017
The location is very close to The Blue Mosque and the Grand Bazzar as well as many Restaurants and shops
Comment from Hotel Management
May 11, 2017 by SULTANHAN HOTEL FAMILY, Hotel Management
Dear Aziz, We would like to thank you for your kind review and taking time to share your valuable opinions with us and expedia readers. Also glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to have you again in the near future. Yours sincerely,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from U.K

Good location

Posted May 8, 2017
Pros: Great location (close to Blue mosque, Topkapi museum and Hagia sophia approx 5 to 7 min walk & Grand bazaar was an aprrox 7 to10 min walk) Staff helpful - gave us an early check in and guided us with historic locations. Cons: Rooms were slightly outdated. Not much variety with breakfast, no room service. Overall not bad and not brilliant.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 11, 2017 by SULTANHAN HOTEL FAMILY, Hotel Management
Dear Zahid, We would like to thank you for your kind review and taking time to share your valuable opinions with us and expedia readers also we thank you very much for your lovely words about our staff and for the detailed information of our hotel's historic location. Our rooms are decorated with anatolian old style like ottoman mansion may be because of this reason it felt like an outdated.Room service is available 7/24.Our breakfast is fresh and as many variety of selection. Every comment which comes from our guest is a gift for us to improve ourselves and we are here for our guest satisfaction. We hope to have you again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great location and friendly staff

Posted May 8, 2017
The staff at this hotel are very friendly and helpful. The location was ideal - near so many historical sites. The rooms were clean but the lighting could be improved and unfortunately the wifi connection was bad. But apart from this the staff's attitude was very encouraging and I would definitely come back to this hotel.