Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tokyo, Japan

Nice Hotel Close to all Historical sites

Posted Feb 11, 2016
Pros: Location, Staffs and Room cleanness.
Location: 150 meters away from the historical blue Mosque, Hippodrome, and Turkish art & cultural museum. At least three days need to vsit all places near hotel
We visited almost all attractions in old Istanbul city with 5-10 minutes walks as the hotel location is perfect. One side is Marmara sea and other side is blue mosque. Front desk staffs were so helpful. Breakfast was good. We found the room is more than we expected.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 3, 2016 by Mohammad Walid, Hotel Management
Katsumi was a kind and nice person with a great communication skill. We have recieved him cordially and tried our best to co-operate with him while his stay with us. We hope that Katsumi is also please with our services and the hotel. Hope to se him again with us and wish him best of luck for his future. Regards, Mohammad Walid
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leeds, UK

Very Good and Recommended (location and staff)

Posted Jan 26, 2016
Pros: first and foremost their staff was amazing then comes the location and cleaniness of room. got a very good deal in limited budget (including breakfast
Cons: glass windows (of southside of the building) can be double glazed to make it sound proof
Location: location was superb, most of the touristic locations were nearby.
had an excellent experience with Sur hotel. Staff was extremely friendly, cordial and helpful. they even gave me a free upgrade of room. definitely recommended as its value for price in everyway (location, staff and room)
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 2, 2016 by Mohammad Walid, Hotel Management
Rusman was a kind and nice person with a great communication skill. We have recieved him cordially and tried our best to co-operate with him while his stay with us. We hope that Rusman is also please with our services and the hotel. Hope to se him again with us and wish him best of luck for his future. Regards, Mohammad Walid
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY, USA

Clean Room, Good Location

Posted Jan 25, 2016
Pros: Location.
Location: All historical places can be visited with in 2-5 minutes walk. If you are couple, drink a coffee in the terrace with night-view of the Marma sea.
We arrived at the hotel early in the morning, hours before the check-in time, but the staff gave us the room immediately and we have a good rest after long journey. The room was clean and well-equipped. We found the staff well. Breakfast also good. The morning view of the Marmara sea from the Terrace was amazing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Paris, France

Excellent Hotel Close to Blue Mosque

Posted Jan 24, 2016
Pros: Breakfast and location.
Location: Location is excellent. The hotel is very closed to Blue Mosque, Hippodrome, Hagia Sophia, Topkapı Palace, Basilica Sistern, Grand Bazar, Spice bazar.
We stayed at the Hotel during our first visit in Istanbul in late-January. The front desk staffs were really helpfull. They helped us to find good Istanbul tour as well as Bosphorus cruise tour. Our room has a balcony with city view. We found it clean and superbly equipped with all necessary amenities. Breakfast in Terrace of the hotel with amezing view of the Marmara Sea gave us extra test to the Treditioanl Turkish breakfast menues. The great location of the hotel give you a full advance to visit all historical attractions in old Sultanahmet neighborhood of Istanbul only in five minutes of walk. I highly recomend this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 3, 2016 by Mohammad Walid, Hotel Management
Thomas was a kind and nice person with a great communication skill. We have recieved him cordially and tried our best to co-operate with him while his stay with us. We hope that Thoma is also please with our services and the hotel. Hope to se him again with us and wish him best of luck for his future. Regards, Mohammad Walid
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing stay at Sur Hotel Sultanahmet

Posted Sep 16, 2015
Location: Very close to all the historical sights, only a 10 minute walk from the Hippodrome, Hagia Sofia, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace.
While the Sur Hotel Sultanahmet is not fancy, it's actually a lovely little hotel. I stayed here for 3 nights and loved it. The room with a double bed was quite comfortable, had a good sized bathroom, and had all the amenities that I needed: air conditioning, safe to store valuables, & even a hair dryer. The staff at the hotel were also very kind, welcoming and helpful, especially the front desk person, Mohammed from Bangladesh. He was always very helpful and gave great tips on what to see, where to go, etc. The hotel also provided a delicious Turkish breakfast on their top floor, in a little restaurant overlooking the sea. The hotel is quite close to all the main attractions and only a 10 minute walk from the Hippodrome, Hagia Sofia, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace, etc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Israel

Excellent location in Sultanahmet

Posted Aug 26, 2015
Pros: They provided 2 single beds and a double bed in our room. The location is very good and the price is reasonable.
Cons: The look of the bathroom door was completely destroyed.
Location: Excellent location in Sultanahmet. 5 minutes away from the Blue Mosque. There are many restaurants nearby. It is located in a very quiet street wit
We stayed here four days. The location is perfect. Very quiet street and close to the main historic sites in Sultanahmet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Nice, cosy hotel with great location and views!

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Pros: The staff are such lovely people. It almost felt like we were staying with and a part of a family. Also the room was quite comfortable with great view
Cons: The bathroom facilities could be improved.
Location: The location is terrific! Less than 10 minute walk to the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, the Hippodrome, Basillica Cistern and lot's of markets
We arrived at about 4am and were pleasantly surprised to see the receptionist waiting awake for us. The room had a beautiful view of the ocean. Although the bathroom was not working at first, the staff managed to fix it promptly. Breakfast was very tasty with great variety and choice. Overall highlight was the friendliness of the staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florianopolis, Brazil

Great location, great breakfast, renovated room

Posted Aug 16, 2015
Pros: Best location for walking Istanbul old town. Room and bathroom renovated, felt new and clean. Delicious breakfast. Friendly staff. 24h frontdesk.
Cons: Room a little bit small. Room fridge wasn't working. No lift, two flights of stairs to get to the room (no problem for us, but may be to someone else)
We arrived at the early hours, and frontdesk was open. Room was on second floor, and staff helped with our bags, since there is no lift. Room was spotless clean. Very good air conditioning helped in the hot Istanbul summer. Breakfast was delicious and on a terrace overseeing the sea. Hotel is within walking distance from all old city sights. Really enjoyed our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bratislava, Slovakia

Good, but in transition

Posted Aug 12, 2015
Location: close to most historical sights, easy to access.
SUR was good, but sin transition. They have two facilities, we were sent to the second. This one is still being completed, thus not everything was perfectly installed. However, it was still a great place to stay. Super helpful staff, super clean, nice breakfast. If you don't mind a few stairs its all good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ipswich Australia

Nice small hotel close to major attractions of old

Posted Aug 9, 2015
Pros: Closeness to sites and restaurants
Cons: Towel hooks in bathroom.
Location: Blue Mosque, Sophia Hagia, Hippodrome, Topaki Palace are all a few minutes walk away. Tramway close and will take you wherever you like 4 t/ lire ea.
Spent 3 nights there. Air conditioning very good considering the heat of Istanbul. Bathroom very small but bigger than average shower cubicle. No place to hang towels etc. Small room but adequate for our needs. Lovely breakfast although items cooked with eggs eg (french toast) really do need to be served hot. Not a nice view from room if you face the street. Would recommend as value hotel. Close to restaurants etc.